IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
foo_input_gsf, Game Boy Advance Music player
kode54
post Jan 23 2013, 04:15
Post #1





Group: Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



I spent about 8 hours modifying the viogsf source code to use a self-contained state structure, so it can be fully reentrant without requiring DLL loading hacks. The result is a foobar2000 component based on my existing PSF player and psflib code base, containing the emulator core in-process.

Component repository page

Component Github page - change log

viogsf library Github page - change log


Note that there are still some minor issues. Due to the psflib loader using repeated decompression attempts until it finds the correct buffer size, it takes a brief bit longer to unpack some PSF libraries, I think. That, or it's the ARM emulator speed.

There's also the issue of sound glitching on the Mother 3 GSF rip. I can't do anything about that. Songs from the rip, when extracted from the GSFLIB/MINIGSF set into stand-alone GBA ROM images, play back with glitches in the latest VBA-M emulator. The actual game's jukebox does not glitch like that. I am calling it as improper initialization in the rip code, ie. overzealous ripping or bypassing of initialization routines. Or possibly overzealous trimming. Would anyone care to test this GBA ROM image assembled from a track from the rip on actual hardware? It would add validity to my claims.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Jan 24 2013, 02:22
Post #2





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 811
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



GPLed code in foobar, oh noez! D:
then again, VBA-M people don't seem like asshats.

This post has been edited by mudlord: Jan 24 2013, 02:25
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jan 24 2013, 02:50
Post #3





Group: Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



But wait, we're both among the VBA-M people.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Rollin
post Jan 27 2013, 12:30
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 192
Joined: 5-March 08
Member No.: 51815



Using old foo_input_viogsf 0.08 ( http://foobar2000.xrea.jp/up/files/up1134.zip ) this rip of Mother 3 is playing with no glitches...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jan 29 2013, 04:40
Post #5





Group: Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



I know. And the author of that component "fixed" it by toying with the optimization settings. That can't be a real fix.

The same bug occurs with a complete emulator. And it doesn't occur with the original game running in the same emulator. The rip is missing something. Likely some piece of initialization code which was deemed as unnecessary for music playback.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
stAtrill
post Apr 1 2013, 05:28
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 1-April 13
Member No.: 107471



I can't seem to find any GCF's at all that work with this plugin, the plugin reports all that I have tried with errors similar to:

Unable to open item for playback (Invalid GSF):
"C:\somefile\33 Victory (VS Gym Leader).minigsf"

Great work my friend, I like the idea of make foobar the one-stop everything player ^^
-Statrill
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Apr 2 2013, 01:12
Post #7





Group: Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Works for me. You'll need to link to the set you're trying to play. I just downloaded a fresh set from Zophar's Domain and it works just fine. All 86 .minigsf tracks decode correctly.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Oct 21 2013, 23:57
Post #8





Group: Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Fixed Mother 3. Seems the new timing needs to allow the PCM FIFO buffers to underrun a bit more than halfway before we start plugging the gaps with silence. Or maybe the real way to do it is to LPC forward from the last samples written? Dunno. It works now.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ghf_50
post Mar 28 2014, 05:41
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 24-July 09
Member No.: 71729



in version 2.0.4 and 2.0.5, play <Metroid Fusion>, I can only hear music less than half a second at start in each tracks, then just "kakakakkakakaka..." until track reach it end.
<Metroid Zero Mission> decode correctly.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Mar 28 2014, 12:05
Post #10





Group: Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Crud, a stray Git update I never pulled into my Windows VM. Fixed.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ghf_50
post Mar 31 2014, 06:55
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 24-July 09
Member No.: 71729



QUOTE (kode54 @ Mar 28 2014, 19:05) *
Crud, a stray Git update I never pulled into my Windows VM. Fixed.


Great thanks to you, kode54!

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Missingno_force
post Apr 1 2014, 15:05
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 26-October 12
Member No.: 104106



Alright, now here. smile.gif I tried playing tracks from a few games and the PSGs noise channel is really quiet, compared to Highly Advanced in winamp. (Really audible in Pokemon Firered battle themes, as they use noise for hihats and such).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Apr 2 2014, 03:55
Post #13





Group: Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Compare to Castlevania: Harmony of Dissonance, you'll find it's already quite loud. Can you compare to actual hardware?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Missingno_force
post Apr 2 2014, 15:55
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 26-October 12
Member No.: 104106



Yep, and on real hardware its louder than with foobar (winamp with HA is almost spot on), I cant think of a reason why its behaving differently on winamp, but it looks like its only affecting Pokemon games (my ruby and emerald rips have the same issue).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Apr 3 2014, 03:30
Post #15





Group: Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



You could try reporting the issue to VBA-M on SourceForge, as they use the same sound code now. Not there's likely to ever be a fix, they don't do much of anything any more.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Apr 3 2014, 08:58
Post #16





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 811
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



Yes, I do my own thing these days, which are completely unrelated to emulator coding.
I don't work on VBA-M anymore.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th September 2014 - 12:11