IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
my EAC currently rips very fast
Bobjua
post Aug 9 2005, 18:30
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 7-August 05
From: Ontario, Canada
Member No.: 23761



my eac rips whole 50 minute albums in 2 minutes. I know its not supposed to be that fast, and the last rip i did had lots of clicking. it could be the drive im using.

im going to try my other drive, but in case i cant figure it out, can anyone help me with configuring EAC to suit my computer.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cartoon
post Aug 9 2005, 18:53
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 6-May 05
From: Norway
Member No.: 21907



Check that you're not ripping in burst mode, EAC->Drive Options->Extraction Options
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bobjua
post Aug 9 2005, 21:00
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 7-August 05
From: Ontario, Canada
Member No.: 23761



no im in secure mode. is there a fast way to show everything about my computer. and then someone can help me to set EAC up to run as good as it can.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
teleguise
post Aug 9 2005, 22:54
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 103
Joined: 4-May 04
Member No.: 13870



Here is the EAC & LAME quickstart quide.. http://users.pandora.be/satcp/cd2mp3-en.htm

There is lots of information on EAC setup.. Search the forums if need more

'Typically' the following will be checked..

Secure Mode, Drive has Accurate Stream feature, Drive Caches Audio Data

Under Gap Detection Tab

'Typically' you will have 'Detection Method A' and 'Secure Mode' set...

NOTE: These are GENERAL guidelines for many drives...

Your drive may differ but this should set you in the right direction, the guide explains
how to set EAC up for your individual drive.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bobjua
post Aug 9 2005, 23:56
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 7-August 05
From: Ontario, Canada
Member No.: 23761



Okay thanks. I'll check it out.

i just want to clarify one thing. i have 2 drives but only one audio cable. does the cable matter at all?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mp3chan
post Aug 10 2005, 00:00
Post #6





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 164
Joined: 19-June 02
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 2343



QUOTE (Bobjua @ Aug 9 2005, 10:56 PM)
i just want to clarify one thing. i have 2 drives but only one audio cable. does the cable matter at all?

Then you can only use one of them to play CD-Audio or is there any soundcard with 2 CD inputs? Anyway you can always play CD audio with DAE mode so that u won't need to worry about the cable.

And audio cable doesn't affect audio extraction at all.

This post has been edited by mp3chan: Aug 10 2005, 00:02
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bobjua
post Aug 10 2005, 01:29
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 7-August 05
From: Ontario, Canada
Member No.: 23761



Well if it has nothing to do with extraction then i dont care about it. I dont listen to cds with my computer.

UPDATE !!

okay i followed that guide. and it still goes really fast. im listening to what i extracted and there is a lot of clicks... sooo.... here is the logfile.

QUOTE
EAC extraction logfile from 10. August 2005, 0:10 for CD
Sanctuary / Magna Canta

Used drive  : HL-DT-STDVDRAM GSA-4163B  Adapter: 1  ID: 1
Read mode  : Secure with NO C2, accurate stream, NO disable cache
Combined read/write offset correction : 0
Overread into Lead-In and Lead-Out : No

Used output format : Internal WAV Routines
                    44.100 Hz; 16 Bit; Stereo

Other options      :
    Fill up missing offset samples with silence : Yes
    Delete leading and trailing silent blocks : No
    Native Win32 interface for Win NT & 2000


Track  1
    Filename D:\Magna Canta\Sanctuary - Magna Canta - 01 - Russia.wav

    Peak level 96.3 %
    Track quality 100.0 %
    Copy CRC F4487DF9
    Copy OK

Track  2
    Filename D:\Magna Canta\Sanctuary - Magna Canta - 02 - Kyrie.wav

    Peak level 97.9 %
    Track quality 99.9 %
    Copy CRC A51F6441
    Copy OK

Track  3
    Filename D:\Magna Canta\Sanctuary - Magna Canta - 03 - Pater Noster.wav

    Missing samples
    Peak level 0.0 %
    Track quality 100.0 %
    Copy finished

Track  4
    Copy aborted

Track  5
    Copy aborted

Track  6
    Copy aborted

Track  7
    Copy aborted

Track  8
    Copy aborted

Track  9
    Copy aborted

Track 10
    Copy aborted

Track 11
    Copy aborted

There were errors


End of status report


i just cancelled it on the 3rd track.

This post has been edited by Bobjua: Aug 10 2005, 05:14
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
teleguise
post Aug 10 2005, 09:26
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 103
Joined: 4-May 04
Member No.: 13870



Well I'm guessing your problem is that you have 'NO' disable cache..

Most likely your drive did not report correctly to EAC. I would recommend setting
(checking) the "Drive Caches Audio Data Box" so that the log reads :

Read mode : Secure with NO C2, accurate stream, disable cache
(assuming of course I hope your drive DOES accurate stream)


It appears your drive -DOES- cache audio data and when EAC tries to re-read the data
to detect any discrepancies it is pulling the drives cached data which of course is going
to be identical. Therefore EAC cannot detect any errors and thinks the stream was
good (duplicate reads) and continues on quickly giving you the end result of
(Lots of clicks and pops)

I'm guessing track 2 was 99.9% and not a 100% (in this case) because of a Gap re-read.

This post has been edited by teleguise: Aug 10 2005, 09:35
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bobjua
post Aug 10 2005, 21:16
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 7-August 05
From: Ontario, Canada
Member No.: 23761



Very fast again EDIT: and very clicky still. im going to try my other drive.
QUOTE
EAC extraction logfile from 10. August 2005, 16:14 for CD
Magna Canta / Sanctuary

Used drive  : HL-DT-STDVDRAM GSA-4163B   Adapter: 1  ID: 1
Read mode   : Secure with C2, accurate stream, disable cache
Combined read/write offset correction : 0
Overread into Lead-In and Lead-Out : No

Used output format : Internal WAV Routines
                     44.100 Hz; 16 Bit; Stereo

Other options      :
    Fill up missing offset samples with silence : Yes
    Delete leading and trailing silent blocks : No
    Native Win32 interface for Win NT & 2000


Track  1
     Filename D:\Magna Canta\Magna Canta - Sanctuary - 01 - Russia.wav

     Peak level 96.3 %
     Track quality 100.0 %
     Copy CRC F4487DF9
     Copy OK

No errors occured


End of status report


This post has been edited by Bobjua: Aug 10 2005, 21:17
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
teleguise
post Aug 10 2005, 21:31
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 103
Joined: 4-May 04
Member No.: 13870



QUOTE (Bobjua @ Aug 10 2005, 12:16 PM)
Very fast again EDIT: and very clicky still. im going to try my other drive.



You did -NOT- set your settings like I suggested...

NO C2 (Uncheck) drive is capable of retreiving C2 error information

"Read mode : Secure with NO C2, accurate stream, disable cache"

Again of course all this depends on the condition of the disc as well and the
possibility of copy protection. Trying another drive and disc will determine if
its hardware or your software (your disc).

This post has been edited by teleguise: Aug 10 2005, 21:34
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rohangc
post Aug 10 2005, 22:37
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 569
Joined: 1-December 02
From: India
Member No.: 3948



QUOTE (teleguise @ Aug 10 2005, 02:26 AM)
Well I'm guessing your problem is that you have 'NO' disable cache..

Most likely your drive did not report correctly to EAC. I would recommend setting
(checking) the "Drive Caches Audio Data Box" so that the log reads :

Read mode  : Secure with NO C2, accurate stream, disable cache
(assuming of course I hope your drive DOES accurate stream)


It appears your drive -DOES- cache audio data and when EAC tries to re-read the data
to detect any discrepancies it is pulling the drives cached data which of course is going
to be identical. Therefore EAC cannot detect any errors and thinks the stream was
good (duplicate reads) and continues on quickly giving you the end result of
(Lots of clicks and pops)

I'm guessing track 2 was 99.9% and not a 100% (in this case) because of a Gap re-read.
*


This is the same thing as the HA.org wiki. Please configure your drive according to the KnowledgeBase and then let us know if it solved your problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bobjua
post Aug 13 2005, 18:54
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 7-August 05
From: Ontario, Canada
Member No.: 23761



i give up
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
heavymetalwiseon...
post Aug 13 2005, 19:02
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 124
Joined: 25-April 05
From: Greece
Member No.: 21690



I would recommend sth else. Try to rip cds using another prog such as CDex. If the extracture is still very fast (but uncheck on the fly), then it must be your drive. If not, I don't know stick with CDex.


--------------------
Heavy Metal Is the Law!!!
---Let 'Em Eat Metal---
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
teleguise
post Aug 13 2005, 20:12
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 103
Joined: 4-May 04
Member No.: 13870



QUOTE
  i give up


Well you never did say if you configured it like rohangc & myself told you to follow.


It's literally impossible for it to go that fast with those settings and every post showed one of your settings -WRONG- .
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bobjua
post Aug 14 2005, 03:00
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 7-August 05
From: Ontario, Canada
Member No.: 23761



fine ill show you with the settings the way you said.

edit: ps, i never said how fast it goes. it rips at about 4-6x, which is fast for EAC isnt it?

here is the options you suggested.

QUOTE
EAC extraction logfile from 13. August 2005, 22:03 for CD
Magna Canta / Sanctuary

Used drive  : HL-DT-STDVDRAM GSA-4163B  Adapter: 1  ID: 1
Read mode  : Secure with NO C2, accurate stream, disable cache
Combined read/write offset correction : 0
Overread into Lead-In and Lead-Out : No

Used output format : Internal WAV Routines
                    44.100 Hz; 16 Bit; Stereo

Other options      :
    Fill up missing offset samples with silence : Yes
    Delete leading and trailing silent blocks : No
    Installed external ASPI interface


Track  1
    Filename C:\Documents and Settings\Shane\My Documents\Magna Canta - Sanctuary - 01 - Russia.wav

    Peak level 96.3 %
    Track quality 100.0 %
    Copy CRC AA134C13
    Copy OK

No errors occured


End of status report


still has a lot of clicking. and i know its not the cd, because i keep ripping the same track and the clicks are always at different points.

This post has been edited by Bobjua: Aug 14 2005, 03:07
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
A_Man_Eating_Duc...
post Aug 14 2005, 03:29
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 932
Joined: 21-December 01
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 705



Have you ripped the same song twice and compare them to see if there is any differences?

What are you using to play the ripped file?

What soundcard are you using?

Are you using the latest drivers for your board and soundcard?

Have you checked that DMA is enabled?

Whats the specs of your system ?

Is your soundcard sharing an IRQ with anything ?

This post has been edited by A_Man_Eating_Duck: Aug 14 2005, 03:31


--------------------
Who are you and how did you get in here ?
I'm a locksmith, I'm a locksmith.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bobjua
post Aug 14 2005, 05:13
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 7-August 05
From: Ontario, Canada
Member No.: 23761



Yes, i just said that didnt i?

foobar

i dont know

i dont know

i dont know

all of them?

i dont know

PS. im listening to some scene releases and they have clicking sometimes too. damn its annoying. i never really cared that much, but now i notice it so easily.

edit: so what im saying is maybe i should be happy enough with the quality im getting.

This post has been edited by Bobjua: Aug 14 2005, 05:16
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
A_Man_Eating_Duc...
post Aug 14 2005, 05:26
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 932
Joined: 21-December 01
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 705



QUOTE (Bobjua @ Aug 14 2005, 04:13 AM)
Yes, i just said that didnt i?

foobar

i dont know

i dont know

i dont know

all of them?

i dont know

PS. im listening to some scene releases and they have clicking sometimes too. damn its annoying. i never really cared that much, but now i notice it so easily.

edit: so what im saying is maybe i should be happy enough with the quality im getting.
*
well that was helpfull tongue.gif

by comparing the files i mean use the EAC compare wav's function in the tools menu

maybe it's a good time to turn your machine off and poke you head inside it and find out what you have.
Or
download SANDRA and use that

This post has been edited by A_Man_Eating_Duck: Aug 14 2005, 05:31


--------------------
Who are you and how did you get in here ?
I'm a locksmith, I'm a locksmith.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
teleguise
post Aug 14 2005, 06:26
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 103
Joined: 4-May 04
Member No.: 13870



QUOTE
Track  1
    Filename C:\Documents and Settings\Shane\My Documents\Magna Canta - Sanctuary - 01 - Russia.wav

    Peak level 96.3 %
    Track quality 100.0 %
    Copy CRC AA134C13
    Copy OK

still has a lot of clicking. and i know its not the cd, because i keep ripping the same track and the clicks are always at different points.

Will that track if extracted again report the identical results? If so though then it
sounds definitely like a sound/mboard issue. If not clicks could appear in different
places if it were an issue with your drive/cd.

I gather you don't have the convenience of another computer handy, do you?

I don't recall you ever saying if when playing back the cd in foobar or EAC does it
click?
QUOTE
edit: so what im saying is maybe i should be happy enough with the quality im getting.

No... cause then you wouldn't be here wink.gif .. It's seems like its leaning towards a sound
card/board issue.
You could check for conflicts & specs with "msinfo32" however Sisoft Sandra, Aida32
report more -detailed- specs of your system.
QUOTE
edit: ps, i never said how fast it goes. it rips at about 4-6x, which is fast for EAC isnt it?

And no that's average.... 10x is about the upper end with those settings.

This post has been edited by teleguise: Aug 14 2005, 06:30
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
landy
post Aug 14 2005, 09:48
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 143
Joined: 3-January 05
Member No.: 18805



for a properly set up lg drive i would say 10x speed atleast should be expected in secure mode i often get closer to 15x sometimes with my 4120b, test and copy is even faster (the few times i have used it) but as everything is done twice the end result is rips take just as long.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dreamliner77
post Aug 14 2005, 10:04
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 2150
Joined: 29-June 02
From: Boston
Member No.: 2427



I think it's either

1) Poor cd mastering

or

2) Soundcard settings.

What are your volume sliders at? (wave and master)


--------------------
"You can fight without ever winning, but never win without a fight." Neil Peart 'Resist'
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
user
post Aug 14 2005, 13:51
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 873
Joined: 12-October 01
From: the great wide open
Member No.: 277



EAC could do the testing for him.

Please rip again some tracks, but now in EACs secure no c2, disable cashe, TEST & Copy mode.

Then u will see, if u get 2 times the same waves by extraction.

Maybe follow this guide High Quality Audio EAC Tutorial


--------------------
www.High-Quality.ch.vu -- High Quality Audio Archiving Tutorials
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bobjua
post Aug 15 2005, 17:21
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 7-August 05
From: Ontario, Canada
Member No.: 23761



okay i got that Aida32 program. what exactly am i looking for on it?

i wouldnt be surprised if all this has something to do with my soundcard, because i dont remember ever updating its drivers haha.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
heavymetalwiseon...
post Aug 15 2005, 22:18
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 124
Joined: 25-April 05
From: Greece
Member No.: 21690



What about my recommendation? I don't think you got sth to lose.

Besides, you will see whether your drive is the matter or not.


--------------------
Heavy Metal Is the Law!!!
---Let 'Em Eat Metal---
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bobjua
post Aug 16 2005, 04:56
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 7-August 05
From: Ontario, Canada
Member No.: 23761



okay heavymetalwiseone, i did what you said too. i ripped the same track with CDex and it clicks still.

PS. im going to try to find out how to update my audio drivers now.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th September 2014 - 10:58