IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Hydrogenaudio Forum Rules

- No Warez. This includes warez links, cracks and/or requests for help in getting illegal software or copyrighted music tracks!
- No Spamming or Trolling on the boards, this includes useless posts, trying to only increase post count or trying to deliberately create a flame war.
- No Hateful or Disrespectful posts. This includes: bashing, name-calling or insults directed at a board member.
- Click here for complete Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
HTML Help
JEN
post Nov 4 2003, 17:31
Post #1





Group: Banned
Posts: 1131
Joined: 19-September 02
Member No.: 3407



Does anyone know how to create a webpage which can link to googles search.

For example, I want a small text box with a button which allows the user to type in something which will link and search in google.

Any ideas on how to do this?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jan S.
post Nov 4 2003, 17:41
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 2549
Joined: 26-September 01
From: Denmark
Member No.: 21



http://www.google.com/intl/en/searchcode.html
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Chun-Yu
post Nov 4 2003, 17:41
Post #3





Group: Developer
Posts: 359
Joined: 29-October 02
Member No.: 3652



Take a look at http://shoko.calarts.edu/~glmrboy/musicdsp...sparchives.html?

EDIT: Oh, nos! I've been beaten by seconds with better information!

This post has been edited by Chun-Yu: Nov 4 2003, 17:42
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JEN
post Nov 4 2003, 17:57
Post #4





Group: Banned
Posts: 1131
Joined: 19-September 02
Member No.: 3407



Thanks, that exactly it. Do you know how to do the same thing with Yahoo ???
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
meatus
post Nov 9 2003, 21:46
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 40
Joined: 17-June 03
Member No.: 7227



Jen,

I'll try to explain the basic concepts of HTML forms. In a URL string, the ? represents the start of varibles you are passing to the website. These variables take the form of: NAME = VALUE, and are strung together by ampersands.

Say I do a search on Yahoo for "expectoration." I find the location of the search results is:
http://search.yahoo.com/search?fr=fp-pull-web-t&p=expectoration
And notice there are two values being passed through the URL string:
CODE
Name                           Value
fr                               fp-pull-web-t
p                               expectoration


The variable named 'p' was my search query. So now, on my webpage, if I wanted to include a search form to yahoo, I would just have to pass these values. the variable 'FR' is probably not even needed, but I'll include it just for explainations sake.

CODE
<FORM ACTION="http://search.yahoo.com/search" METHOD="GET">
   <INPUT TYPE="hidden" NAME="fr" VALUE="fp-pull-web-t">
   <INPUT TYPE="text" NAME="p" SIZE="20">
   <INPUT TYPE="submit" NAME="submit" VALUE="Search Yahoo">
</FORM>


When the form's method is specified as a GET value, the INPUTs are passed in the URL string (after the question mark). When METHOD is "POST", the variables are hidden to the string, but handled by the browser.

If you want me to explain anymore of this, just ask. I'll try to make it more clear.


--------------------
Dustin Smith
www.ogghelp.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th August 2014 - 20:49