IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

157 Pages V  « < 149 150 151 152 153 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
[seemingly abandonware] iPod manager, also known as foo_dop
Derif750
post Jun 9 2012, 09:27
Post #3751





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 9-June 12
Member No.: 100544



QUOTE (Color Green @ May 4 2012, 04:23) *
When I try to put songs on my iPod Nano 6G I get a "DB Version 5 requires iPhoneCalc.dll. Write operations are disabled" error. I have foobar2000 v1.1.10 and I am using foo_dop-0.6.9.7 on windows 7 64 bit and I have iPhoneCalc.dll as well.

Try to copy iphone calc.dll in the main directory not in component
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
compoopers
post Jun 13 2012, 08:48
Post #3752





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 22-January 12
Member No.: 96607



So with the release of iOS6, is this plugin officially discontinued or what?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mzso
post Jun 13 2012, 10:37
Post #3753





Group: Members
Posts: 177
Joined: 2-May 07
Member No.: 43131



QUOTE (compoopers @ Jun 13 2012, 08:48) *
So with the release of iOS6, is this plugin officially discontinued or what?

Official would be if the dev said something about that. So far it seems abandoned though.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sixth Street
post Jun 13 2012, 18:39
Post #3754





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 17-September 09
Member No.: 73255



At this point, it's unlikely we'll see an update. But I do think it was pretty amazing that musicmusic was able to keep up with iOS up to 4.X, as a one man shop. Moreso than seeing an update to foo_dop, I'd like to actually get some acknowledgement that musicmusic is okay. It's like he fell off the face of the earth.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Der Internet
post Jun 13 2012, 18:49
Post #3755





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 27-December 09
Member No.: 76387



Maybe this happened to him: http://www.zeller.de/img/2421-24.JPG wink.gif

foo_dop was perfect, im really missing it. There are plenty of tools to fill your nasty apple hardware, but nothing is as good as foo_dop. AND WILL NEVER BE! crying.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
trelain
post Jun 14 2012, 02:15
Post #3756





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 2-January 09
From: Omaha, NE USA
Member No.: 65081



Not only foo_dop, but Columns UI also, probably the most popular component of all. It's a blow to the whole FB2K community to see them fade. I now curse every moment I have to sit through iTunes's agony. It sucks if everyone eventually ends up deleting those musicmusic components because he disappeared and cannot continue to support them. Too bad developers don't check their source in with a moderator that could store it away on a server in the event that they abandon their work, which after some long period of time (like a year) it could be posted for someone else to sign up to carry on, or something.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sonvolt
post Jun 15 2012, 15:07
Post #3757





Group: Members
Posts: 132
Joined: 14-August 09
From: Edinburgh
Member No.: 72310



I'm with sixth , would be happy just to know that musicmusic if fine and if he's finished developing foo_dop thats ok, it was great while it was working at it's best , I'm still using it (can live without art) and starting Itumes to play a song so it synchs touch is not the end of the world.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bulletproof2k
post Jun 15 2012, 17:37
Post #3758





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 15-January 11
From: Russia
Member No.: 87344



Has anyone encountered this problem? mellow.gif
http://help.foobar2000.org/problem/6f297b1...d0e96d6d09fbe0f crying.gif

This post has been edited by bulletproof2k: Jun 15 2012, 17:38


--------------------
♪ ♪ ♪ (((d[^_^]b))) ♪ ♪ ♪
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ZEN_268
post Jun 18 2012, 15:46
Post #3759





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 18-June 12
Member No.: 100809



Hello to all! I have problem with the artworks in iPod Manager. Each FLAC file that I convert in m4a, doesn't get artwork. But if I send lossy tracks without any convert they get artwork as well. Could anyone help me please ? Thanks in advance!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jun 18 2012, 15:53
Post #3760





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Presuming youíre converting using foobar2000ís own Converter, it does not transfer embedded artwork. This is a known omission and a frequently requested feature; you may want to read the past threads about it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bryter
post Jun 19 2012, 11:30
Post #3761





Group: Members
Posts: 104
Joined: 28-March 10
Member No.: 79397



I have started using Wi-Fi sync with foobar. Few times, i was able to sucesfully send music with it to my iPhone 3gs (Jailbroken, 4.3.3) , while most of the time i am having problems. The problem is like this: i open wi-fi sync on iphone, then i open foobar on my pc. Foobar tries to connect with iphone but is not able to and as a result, wi-fi sync exits on the iphone. I checked the console on foobar and this is what i get:
CODE
iPod manager: Apple Mobile Device: error: AMDeviceStartService (AFC) returned E8000065
iPod manager: Error: AMDeviceStopSession returned E8000013


Any idea on how can i fix this?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
stev-io
post Jun 27 2012, 15:28
Post #3762





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 15-June 11
Member No.: 91528



ok FWIW i have an iphone 4S running iOS5.1. i also just upgraded my kids ipods to 5.1.1 (latest just 5 days ago). I have been using foobar2000 and the ipod manager for quite a while now and everything has been super sweet until the latest ver of iOS. anyway here's what i've found... if you have iOS 4 and want to use Foobar2000, don't upgrade. if you have upgraded, then to use foobar2000 and this plugin then the following steps worked for me.

when you upgrade, all the music is 'lost' on the ipod/iphone. but its not really lost, its still there but inaccessible. so forget it. just get the experimental version of this plugin and look at what music is on there using the manage contents dialog. once you know whats on there, take a snapshot because this is what you are going to have to re-create.

how to remove current items?? not really sure but i think if you do a load library and delete everything and then sync, the files will be deleted??

so now that you know what you have to do, duplicate the playlists in foobar and using the experimental plugin, synchronize the playlists you want. it will write the new stuff to your ipod/iphone. next step is to open itunes with yr device plugged in. it will show the media on the device. play a song from the device and if all things are aligned in the universe, the music should now be available in 'music' on yr device. its almost like itunes needs to rewrite the database and this can only be done via iTunes.

worked for me using iPod iOS 5.1.1, iPh 5.1 and iTunes 10.5.1.42.
not a happy camper but a camper...... at least i don't need to use iTunes to put stuff on there. Geez that program is a nightmare!!

if you have a NAS with uPNP or DLNA support and wifi then get media:connect. download what you want to yr device and play from there. no itunes or any other crap. can play away from home!

if you really want to kick ass while yr at home then get 8player. well worth the money.....

Stev-IO
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eahm
post Jun 27 2012, 18:00
Post #3763





Group: Members
Posts: 1033
Joined: 11-February 12
Member No.: 97076



QUOTE (Der Internet @ Jun 13 2012, 10:49) *
There are plenty of tools to fill your nasty apple hardware, but nothing is as good as foo_dop. AND WILL NEVER BE! crying.gif

CopyTrans Manager (bad name) is really good (the best IMO) and it's free and portable.
http://www.copytrans.net/copytransmanager.php

This post has been edited by eahm: Jun 27 2012, 18:02
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Moduul
post Jun 27 2012, 21:04
Post #3764





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 25-March 06
Member No.: 28835



stev-io, that sounds quite nice but I'm not quite sure what steps you take. Especially the part "so now that you know what you have to do, duplicate the playlists in foobar" is rather vague to me.

Could you be a bit more specific and/or include screenshots please? Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Chris Norman
post Jun 27 2012, 23:44
Post #3765





Group: Members
Posts: 133
Joined: 3-June 05
From: Cluj-Napoca
Member No.: 22498



I agree to the things said before. It is very sad to see that musicmusic has ceased the development. To me it always seemed a danger that foobar never really ancouraged an open source policy. The project is dead and even if someone wants to continue no one can.

The donations are still working smile.gif If everyone donates what he can afford musicmusic might reappear!


--------------------
http://www.vonpell.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NullString
post Jun 28 2012, 03:59
Post #3766





Group: Members
Posts: 137
Joined: 23-May 06
From: Chile!
Member No.: 31067



The new beta version of Media Monkey supports iOS 5 natively almost flawlessly. I drag the tracks frm fb2k to MM, and from MM to the ipod.
I just hope that musicmusic is ok, not for development's sake but because he has earned so much damn respect
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sixth Street
post Jun 28 2012, 08:43
Post #3767





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 17-September 09
Member No.: 73255



This is pure speculation on my part, as I am not a developer, but the solution is probably fairly straightforward if you leverage the mediamonkey beta dll. Their version of the iphonecalc (in the newest beta) is a lot newer than the one required for foo_dop so that dll probably is updated to work with iOS5. Alas, we will probably never find out.

I gave it a go with the new mediamonkey iphonecall dll and it didn't work, so some changes must have to be made in foo_dop as well.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
stev-io
post Jun 28 2012, 12:19
Post #3768





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 15-June 11
Member No.: 91528



QUOTE (Moduul @ Jun 28 2012, 06:04) *
stev-io, that sounds quite nice but I'm not quite sure what steps you take. Especially the part "so now that you know what you have to do, duplicate the playlists in foobar" is rather vague to me.

Could you be a bit more specific and/or include screenshots please? Thanks!


Moduul
The idea here is to see what music you had on yr iDevice (playlists and tracks) and then duplicating the playlists in foobar (if you already have the playlists in foobar then you won't need to do this). If you use the Manage Contents option of the iPod Manager you can see all of these details (playlists and songs). the 'so now you know what to do...' refers to recreating these playlists (if you don't already have them) in foobar.
Its most likely that the playlists are already exist in your foobar2000 installation.

If you then sync these playlists using iPod manager in foobar it should rewrite the database (and tracks if they are not there).

The next step i took was to close down foobar, open iTunes, plug in your device. Find your device in iTunes and make sure the playlists you sent using Foobar are visible in iTunes. Click on one of the playlists and the tracks will be listed in iTunes. Double click on a song in the playlist and play it in iTunes. then if you open up Music on your iDevice, the playlist should now appear along with all of the music! worked for me!!

on the flipside of this, i D/L'd MediaMonkey free version and it was seamless to sync. just created a playlist, added songs and sent them to the iPhone. it just worked, but i really, really, really don't like the MM interface. i'd rather my simple easy to understand theme i have in FB. i installed MM for the kids so they could easily sync their devices without iTunes, but i will stick with my fb 'hack'

I hope this explains my vagueness.....
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Der Internet
post Jun 28 2012, 13:19
Post #3769





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 27-December 09
Member No.: 76387



also, the MM transfe ris reaaaaallllllyy slow
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zarggg
post Jun 28 2012, 16:01
Post #3770





Group: Members
Posts: 547
Joined: 18-January 04
From: bethlehem.pa.us
Member No.: 11318



QUOTE (eahm @ Jun 27 2012, 13:00) *
QUOTE (Der Internet @ Jun 13 2012, 10:49) *
There are plenty of tools to fill your nasty apple hardware, but nothing is as good as foo_dop. AND WILL NEVER BE! crying.gif

CopyTrans Manager (bad name) is really good (the best IMO) and it's free and portable.
http://www.copytrans.net/copytransmanager.php

I just want to insert a quick caveat that CopyTrans Manager has/had (at least as of a couple years ago) a limit on the free version's ability to transfer songs off of an iPod/iPhone. Back when my old 5.5G iPod was failing with unreadable drive sectors and I got a 6G to replace it, I tried using CTM to copy the songs off of it to reload to my new one, but it stopped at some arbitrary number. I forget what it is offhand, but, again, this was between a year-and-half to two years ago.

This post has been edited by Zarggg: Jun 28 2012, 16:02
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Der Internet
post Jun 28 2012, 16:07
Post #3771





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 27-December 09
Member No.: 76387



QUOTE (Zarggg @ Jun 28 2012, 16:01) *
QUOTE (eahm @ Jun 27 2012, 13:00) *
QUOTE (Der Internet @ Jun 13 2012, 10:49) *
There are plenty of tools to fill your nasty apple hardware, but nothing is as good as foo_dop. AND WILL NEVER BE! crying.gif

CopyTrans Manager (bad name) is really good (the best IMO) and it's free and portable.
http://www.copytrans.net/copytransmanager.php

I just want to insert a quick caveat that CopyTrans Manager has/had (at least as of a couple years ago) a limit on the free version's ability to transfer songs off of an iPod/iPhone. Back when my old 5.5G iPod was failing with unreadable drive sectors and I got a 6G to replace it, I tried using CTM to copy the songs off of it to reload to my new one, but it stopped at some arbitrary number. I forget what it is offhand, but, again, this was between a year-and-half to two years ago.


Cool story, bro. Times - they are changin'

as you can read from many posts, CTM works fine with no limitations.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zarggg
post Jun 28 2012, 16:11
Post #3772





Group: Members
Posts: 547
Joined: 18-January 04
From: bethlehem.pa.us
Member No.: 11318



Thanks for correcting me, but I don't think that warrants a "cool story bro." I was attempting to be genuine in my post.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Moduul
post Jun 29 2012, 08:55
Post #3773





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 25-March 06
Member No.: 28835



QUOTE (stev-io @ Jun 28 2012, 13:19) *
QUOTE (Moduul @ Jun 28 2012, 06:04) *
stev-io, that sounds quite nice but I'm not quite sure what steps you take. Especially the part "so now that you know what you have to do, duplicate the playlists in foobar" is rather vague to me.

Could you be a bit more specific and/or include screenshots please? Thanks!


Moduul
The idea here is to see what music you had on yr iDevice (playlists and tracks) and then duplicating the playlists in foobar (if you already have the playlists in foobar then you won't need to do this). If you use the Manage Contents option of the iPod Manager you can see all of these details (playlists and songs). the 'so now you know what to do...' refers to recreating these playlists (if you don't already have them) in foobar.
Its most likely that the playlists are already exist in your foobar2000 installation.

If you then sync these playlists using iPod manager in foobar it should rewrite the database (and tracks if they are not there).

The next step i took was to close down foobar, open iTunes, plug in your device. Find your device in iTunes and make sure the playlists you sent using Foobar are visible in iTunes. Click on one of the playlists and the tracks will be listed in iTunes. Double click on a song in the playlist and play it in iTunes. then if you open up Music on your iDevice, the playlist should now appear along with all of the music! worked for me!!

on the flipside of this, i D/L'd MediaMonkey free version and it was seamless to sync. just created a playlist, added songs and sent them to the iPhone. it just worked, but i really, really, really don't like the MM interface. i'd rather my simple easy to understand theme i have in FB. i installed MM for the kids so they could easily sync their devices without iTunes, but i will stick with my fb 'hack'

I hope this explains my vagueness.....



Thanks for the extra details stev-io - I was able to pull it off now. I think it comes down to the timing of switching between fb2k and iTunes - you really need to close fb2k before you open iTunes and vice versa, at least that's what worked for me. I was a bit sceptical, but your workaround really does work. Thanks again for sharing! smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ainz
post Jun 30 2012, 03:53
Post #3774





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 28-October 11
Member No.: 94757



This is just a heads up to anyone that misses this fb2k plugin as much as I do, presumably because you hate iTunes as much as I do... give Spotify a go (a 30-day free trial of the premium edition is available).

It ain't fb2k and it ain't perfect... BUT it lets you to sync to your iDevice without iTunes. It's playlist-centric which takes some getting used to, and doesn't handle FLAC never mind the more exotic formats (though that's hardly surprising). I work around that with an fb2k converter setup that lets me temporarily transcode to MP3 for sync purposes with minimal effort. Not as elegant as foo_dop, but workable. Spotify seems to happily coexist with fb2k and work off the same library folders. One point of note is that you use the Spotify app on your iDevice as a player instead of the built-in iPod app... but it really isn't so bad when you get used to it.

I never thought I'd find anything to replace foo_dop... and I stayed on iOS4.x and an ancient version of iTunes for ages just to keep on using this plugin... but I'm managing quite well with Spotify now and I'm reasonably happy with it. In fact I like it so much I've become a premium subscriber (for the streaming content and other features).

Good luck!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Der Internet
post Jul 4 2012, 13:53
Post #3775





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 27-December 09
Member No.: 76387



How does Spotify handles Artwork (i guess, only embedded is supported)?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

157 Pages V  « < 149 150 151 152 153 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th July 2014 - 16:35