IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
AudioShell 1.3.5 Half installs?
alice_f
post Jun 30 2007, 00:59
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 30-June 07
Member No.: 44869



Hi,
I have tried to install Audioshell.
It appears to go smoothly.
When I hover my mouse pointer over a sound file it shows all the extra info.
However when I right click on files and click n properties no audioshell tabs show up.
I have installed uninstalled and installed again.
I downloaded it from the official site.

I'm wondering if there is just something really obvious that I am failing to do.
I'm running win xp professional

Any help very much appreciated as there are no help pages on the official site.
I have read the short readme that comes with it and googled (and done a search here before signing up)

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Antonski
post Jul 2 2007, 09:42
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 204
Joined: 8-October 01
Member No.: 250



I suppose you've installed it with Administartor account/rights, correct?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
new flesh
post Jul 2 2007, 20:26
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 2-July 07
Member No.: 44947



I have the exact same problem, with Windows XP Pro as well. And I am installing it as administrator.

I've been looking for an older version of AudioShell in case it worked, but I can't find any sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Antonski
post Jul 2 2007, 21:54
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 204
Joined: 8-October 01
Member No.: 250



Well, I'm also with XP Pro and I don't have this problem.
You guys maybe have to write to the contact person from Softpointer.
Meanwhile you can check whether your Windows installation is fine by trying another, similar program - mp3infp.
It should add also additional tabs to the Properties dialog.
If it fails as well, probably there is some mess with OS settings, firewall, something else?
~
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cheerful
post Sep 1 2007, 14:31
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 121
Joined: 12-February 06
Member No.: 27719



I have the same problem. Have you found a solution?

Thanks!

QUOTE (alice_f @ Jun 29 2007, 19:59) *
Hi,
I have tried to install Audioshell.
It appears to go smoothly.
When I hover my mouse pointer over a sound file it shows all the extra info.
However when I right click on files and click n properties no audioshell tabs show up.
I have installed uninstalled and installed again.
I downloaded it from the official site.

I'm wondering if there is just something really obvious that I am failing to do.
I'm running win xp professional

Any help very much appreciated as there are no help pages on the official site.
I have read the short readme that comes with it and googled (and done a search here before signing up)

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hödyr
post Sep 1 2007, 16:00
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 135
Joined: 26-January 02
Member No.: 1171



All the installer does is registering the file audioshellext.dll. You can do this yourself by running regsvr32 audioshellext.dll.


--------------------
Blubb
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cheerful
post Sep 1 2007, 16:26
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 121
Joined: 12-February 06
Member No.: 27719



I've find solution myself. The ColumnHandler and PropertyHandler are not installed properly. You would need to add them to registry yourself.

QUOTE (alice_f @ Jun 29 2007, 19:59) *
Hi,
I have tried to install Audioshell.
It appears to go smoothly.
When I hover my mouse pointer over a sound file it shows all the extra info.
However when I right click on files and click n properties no audioshell tabs show up.
I have installed uninstalled and installed again.
I downloaded it from the official site.

I'm wondering if there is just something really obvious that I am failing to do.
I'm running win xp professional

Any help very much appreciated as there are no help pages on the official site.
I have read the short readme that comes with it and googled (and done a search here before signing up)

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
am78
post Sep 14 2007, 06:59
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 28-August 07
Member No.: 46572



i have the same issue... help anyone?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Antonski
post Sep 14 2007, 08:30
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 204
Joined: 8-October 01
Member No.: 250



QUOTE (am78 @ Sep 14 2007, 08:59) *
i have the same issue... help anyone?


Maybe cheerful can export the mentioned registry keys and post them here? Then the only think you should do is just to import them to your registry.

~
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cheerful
post Sep 14 2007, 23:35
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 121
Joined: 12-February 06
Member No.: 27719



Here are the exported REG file. In my case, the CLASS ID are installed properly but the handlers are registered. I used ShellExView to compare machines where AudioShell works. If you don't even have the CLASS ID, then you would need more registry editing.

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\ShellEx\ColumnHandlers\{9D4E3F43-DB97-40D6-BDCB-7C9CFC69E222}]
@="{9D4E3F43-DB97-40D6-BDCB-7C9CFC69E222}"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\*\ShellEx\PropertySheetHandlers\EasyNSE Handler [{281CBB00-E8AE-4B03-A7C7-221446698C0A}]]
@="{281CBB00-E8AE-4B03-A7C7-221446698C0A}"
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
am78
post Sep 15 2007, 04:43
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 28-August 07
Member No.: 46572



thanks for the reply cheerful.

i tried to input the 2 registry entires you gave. but audioshell still won't work.

troublesome i know, but would it be possible for you to export out all the registry entries left by audioshell to a .reg? i would do it manually myself if i knew which directories to write to, but i really dont. many thanks!

This post has been edited by am78: Sep 15 2007, 04:45
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cheerful
post Sep 15 2007, 15:34
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 121
Joined: 12-February 06
Member No.: 27719



I guess the class id are missing. I don't know all the registry entries AS installs. I imported more entries but thought these 2 are the one that made it work. I will try to find the others.

What's your OS? Do AS at least work when your mouse hoover over a mp3 file?


QUOTE (am78 @ Sep 14 2007, 23:43) *
thanks for the reply cheerful.

i tried to input the 2 registry entires you gave. but audioshell still won't work.

troublesome i know, but would it be possible for you to export out all the registry entries left by audioshell to a .reg? i would do it manually myself if i knew which directories to write to, but i really dont. many thanks!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
am78
post Sep 15 2007, 15:45
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 28-August 07
Member No.: 46572



i'm running xp pro sp2. no, AS is not working at all at the moment. sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cheerful
post Sep 15 2007, 15:51
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 121
Joined: 12-February 06
Member No.: 27719



Here are all the entries with these 2 class ID's. Make sure you change the directory to where you AS is installed. Let me know if this works.

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\ShellEx\ColumnHandlers\{9D4E3F43-DB97-40D6-BDCB-7C9CFC69E222}]
@="{9D4E3F43-DB97-40D6-BDCB-7C9CFC69E222}"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{9D4E3F43-DB97-40D6-BDCB-7C9CFC69E222}]
@="Softpointer Column Handler"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{9D4E3F43-DB97-40D6-BDCB-7C9CFC69E222}\InProcServer32]
@="C:\\apps\\media\\AUDIOS~1\\AUDIOS~1.DLL"
"ThreadingModel"="Apartment"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{9D4E3F43-DB97-40D6-BDCB-7C9CFC69E222}]
@="Softpointer Column Handler"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{9D4E3F43-DB97-40D6-BDCB-7C9CFC69E222}\InProcServer32]
@="C:\\apps\\media\\AUDIOS~1\\AUDIOS~1.DLL"
"ThreadingModel"="Apartment"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\Folder\shellex\ColumnHandlers\{9D4E3F43-DB97-40D6-BDCB-7C9CFC69E222}]
@="{9D4E3F43-DB97-40D6-BDCB-7C9CFC69E222}"

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Classes\CLSID\{9D4E3F43-DB97-40D6-BDCB-7C9CFC69E222}]
@="Softpointer Column Handler"

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Classes\CLSID\{9D4E3F43-DB97-40D6-BDCB-7C9CFC69E222}\InProcServer32]
@="C:\\apps\\media\\AUDIOS~1\\AUDIOS~1.DLL"
"ThreadingModel"="Apartment"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\*\ShellEx\PropertySheetHandlers\EasyNSE Handler [{281CBB00-E8AE-4B03-A7C7-221446698C0A}]]
@="{281CBB00-E8AE-4B03-A7C7-221446698C0A}"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{281CBB00-E8AE-4B03-A7C7-221446698C0A}]
@="SoftpointerPropetryHandler"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{281CBB00-E8AE-4B03-A7C7-221446698C0A}\InProcServer32]
@="C:\\apps\\media\\AUDIOS~1\\AUDIOS~1.DLL"
"ThreadingModel"="Apartment"

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Classes\CLSID\{281CBB00-E8AE-4B03-A7C7-221446698C0A}]
@="SoftpointerPropetryHandler"

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Classes\CLSID\{281CBB00-E8AE-4B03-A7C7-221446698C0A}\InProcServer32]
@="C:\\apps\\media\\AUDIOS~1\\AUDIOS~1.DLL"
"ThreadingModel"="Apartment"
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cheerful
post Sep 15 2007, 16:04
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 121
Joined: 12-February 06
Member No.: 27719



QUOTE (am78 @ Sep 15 2007, 10:45) *
i'm running xp pro sp2. no, AS is not working at all at the moment. sad.gif


You may have a different problem. After my installation, AudioShell works when my mouse hoover over an audio file. The column handler and property tabs are missing, as in the original post.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
am78
post Sep 16 2007, 15:18
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 28-August 07
Member No.: 46572



yeah !!!
finally got AS to work right. apparently, hkey_current_user permissions were off for my administrator account for some reason. i fixed that and imported the keys you gave and now everything works perfect.

thanks so much for your help cheerful !
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tamalestl
post Dec 20 2010, 02:02
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 20-December 10
Member No.: 86654



Sorry to bump this old thread but it's the only one I could find on this topic. I seem to have the same problem as the OP. I'm running XP Pro. The tip balloon from AudioShell shows up but not the columns. I don't know how to input registry entries. Any assistance would be appreciated.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RadarLove
post Aug 23 2013, 11:29
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 23-August 13
Member No.: 109761



Just had to bump this one more time...
I just fixed AudioShell on my XP Pro machine as well, using the registry entries from cheerful.
When I just entered the first two Registry keys, it still didn't work.
But after adding the additional entries and rebooting, it now works as advertised.
Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th December 2014 - 00:25