IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

18 Pages V  « < 9 10 11 12 13 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
qtaacenc: a command-line QuickTime AAC encoder for Windows
quadamage
post Aug 6 2011, 07:10
Post #251





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 22-September 07
Member No.: 47256



What is the difference between qtaacenc and qaac?
I notice that qaac supports ALAC, what is the difference between the aac files encoded by them?
Any help appreciated and thanks in advance.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ljubo44
post Aug 6 2011, 14:45
Post #252





Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 16-January 11
Member No.: 87368



QUOTE (quadamage @ Aug 6 2011, 08:10) *
What is the difference between qtaacenc and qaac?
I notice that qaac supports ALAC, what is the difference between the aac files encoded by them?
Any help appreciated and thanks in advance.


No difference, when you use same settings for quality

But, interest me, how to avoid artifacts in aac even if I used tvbr127 ?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kornchild2002
post Aug 7 2011, 03:16
Post #253





Group: Members
Posts: 2067
Joined: 8-April 05
From: Cincinnati, OH
Member No.: 21277



It should also be noted that neither qaac nor qtaacenc are actually encoding the files, that is left of up QuickTime. Both of those options are command-line interfaces so that you can encode files using QuickTime in programs outside of the Apple universe. Ljubo44, you may want to post your ABX test results along with some 30 second samples if you can easily distinguish between the true VBR 127 setting and the source lossless files (unless you have already done that, you might want to link it in your post here).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Eli
post Aug 16 2011, 04:29
Post #254





Group: Members
Posts: 1056
Joined: 16-October 03
Member No.: 9337



QUOTE (nao @ Feb 7 2010, 07:09) *
QUOTE (Larson @ Feb 7 2010, 19:00) *
Nao could you also give us instruction for a CLI dbpoweramp version of this?

Are there any difficulties? For example:



Tried this exactly and output file is 0kb. Not sure where to go next with troubleshooting this. Posted on dbpoweramp forums as well.

http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthread.php?p=113969

I am converting from FLAC to AAC (mp4). I can see that dbpoweramp creates a .tmp.wav file. It also creates the mp4 file. However, the tmp wav file goes away and the mp4 file is 0kb. WinXP qtaacenc 20110806 and QT 7.7.

This post has been edited by Eli: Aug 16 2011, 04:35


--------------------
http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthread.php?t=21072
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nao
post Aug 16 2011, 07:04
Post #255





Group: Members
Posts: 86
Joined: 16-June 06
Member No.: 31911



Thanks for the report. Fixed in the latest update.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Eli
post Aug 16 2011, 15:22
Post #256





Group: Members
Posts: 1056
Joined: 16-October 03
Member No.: 9337



QUOTE (nao @ Aug 16 2011, 02:04) *
Thanks for the report. Fixed in the latest update.


Thanks, thats working now. Now I need to figure out why dbpoweramp is not applying any tags...


--------------------
http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthread.php?t=21072
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Eli
post Aug 17 2011, 12:37
Post #257





Group: Members
Posts: 1056
Joined: 16-October 03
Member No.: 9337



QUOTE
dBpoweramp would always write the ID tags, it can only write to the long filename (the real file). The short filename should work as it is a representation of the long filename, but if the qtencode is doing something specific to filenames that might be causing it not to work.


hoping that whatever is going on could be discussed between spoon and nao


--------------------
http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthread.php?t=21072
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Larson
post Aug 18 2011, 16:55
Post #258





Group: Members
Posts: 131
Joined: 27-March 09
Member No.: 68422



QUOTE (Eli @ Aug 16 2011, 16:22) *
QUOTE (nao @ Aug 16 2011, 02:04) *
Thanks for the report. Fixed in the latest update.


Thanks, thats working now. Now I need to figure out why dbpoweramp is not applying any tags...


I'm having the same issue, the previous bug was solved but now it doesn't apply tags.

This post has been edited by Larson: Aug 18 2011, 16:57
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
subinbar
post Aug 27 2011, 12:12
Post #259





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 10-June 11
Member No.: 91381



I'm trying to transcode from a 4.5gb 5.1 wav file that I encoded from DTS-MA in eac3to.

Unfortunately, only the first 11 minutes are processed. It finishes without error but obviously something is wrong.

Here is the file info:

CODE
Format                           : Wave
File size                        : 4.58 GiB
Duration                         : 1h 34mn
Overall bit rate                 : 6 912 Kbps

Audio
ID                               : 0
Format                           : PCM
Format settings, Endianness      : Little
Format settings, Sign            : Signed
Codec ID                         : 00001000-0000-0100-8000-00AA00389B71
Codec ID/Hint                    : Microsoft
Duration                         : 1h 34mn
Bit rate mode                    : Constant
Bit rate                         : 6 912 Kbps
Channel(s)                       : 6 channels
Channel positions                : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling rate                    : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth                        : 24 bits
Stream size                      : 4.58 GiB (100%)


and my command line:

CODE
qtaacenc.exe --highest --ignorelenth --noreplaygain --samplerate auto --tvbr 75
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
b66pak
post Aug 27 2011, 12:33
Post #260





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 2-February 10
Member No.: 77800



check your spelling!...
CODE
--ignorelength

_
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Aug 27 2011, 12:45
Post #261





Group: Developer
Posts: 3338
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



...and --noreplaygain switch is useless.
Also, about multichannel files and QuickTime: see posts #237-239
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
subinbar
post Aug 27 2011, 20:48
Post #262





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 10-June 11
Member No.: 91381



QUOTE (b66pak @ Aug 27 2011, 12:33) *
check your spelling!...
CODE
--ignorelength

_


Ahh, that's what I get for trying to figure this out at 5am. lol..

QUOTE (lvqcl @ Aug 27 2011, 12:45) *
...and --noreplaygain switch is useless.
Also, about multichannel files and QuickTime: see posts #237-239


Good to know, thanks. So I guess the best way to do multichannel would be to downgrade to v7.6.8? Or is the new 7.7 version fixed?

This post has been edited by subinbar: Aug 27 2011, 21:00
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
subinbar
post Aug 28 2011, 06:17
Post #263





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 10-June 11
Member No.: 91381



Looks like if you have other Apple products installed, a newer CoreAudioToolbox.dll might be installed, and if so, the 7.6.8 Quicktime installer will NOT overwrite it, instead it will leave the newer broken one.

This post has been edited by subinbar: Aug 28 2011, 07:11
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Aug 28 2011, 10:46
Post #264





Group: Developer
Posts: 3338
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



Extract AppleApplicationSupport.msi from QuickTimeInstaller.exe, then extract CoreAudioToolbox.dll from .msi file. (You can do this with 7-zip).

But CoreAudioToolbox.dll also affects stereo encoding too...

With CoreAudioToolbox.dll ver. 7.9.3.0, qtaacenc.exe writes to the console: "Using QuickTime 7.7.0 (LC-AAC encoder 1.7.2, HE-AAC encoder 1.2.1)"
With newer CoreAudioToolbox (ver. 7.9.6.1 or 7.9.7.3): "Using QuickTime 7.7.0 (LC-AAC encoder 1.7.1, HE-AAC encoder 1.2.0)"

And it creates 3 different m4a files with 3 different CoreAudioToolbox.dll. I wonder what does it mean.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
subinbar
post Aug 28 2011, 14:52
Post #265





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 10-June 11
Member No.: 91381



Yes I eventually found the right version of CoreAudioToolbox.dll, I've encoded a few files both stereo and multichannel and it seems to be working perfectly now. I wonder why they would revert back a version on the newest CoreAudioToolbox.dll... probably just a bug.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
/mnt
post Aug 28 2011, 15:25
Post #266





Group: Members
Posts: 697
Joined: 22-April 06
Member No.: 29877



There seems to be a file permission issue when i use qtaacenc to encode files outside the C:\User\Anon\Music folder, for example C:\Music.

Authenticated Users group seems to be missing on each file.


--------------------
"I never thought I'd see this much candy in one mission!"
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DARcode
post Aug 28 2011, 18:07
Post #267





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 681
Joined: 10-January 05
From: Italy
Member No.: 18968



@ lvqcl: could you please upload CoreAudioToolbox.dll version 7.9.3.0 somewhere? Thanks.

@ nao: due to the results of the Public AAC Listening Test @ ~96 kbps for DAP use I'm switching to QuickTime True VBR via qtaacenc, so here's my maybe a bit late thank you very much for such a nice tool, appreciated.


--------------------
WavPack 4.70.0 -b384hx6cmv/qaac 2.41 -V 100
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
no404error
post Aug 28 2011, 18:46
Post #268





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 23-May 08
From: Rzeczpospolita
Member No.: 53744



CoreAudioToolbox.dll
7.9.3.0
3.54 MB

http://www.multiupload.com/OR4RZ119XD


This post has been edited by no404error: Aug 28 2011, 18:48
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Aug 28 2011, 18:57
Post #269





Group: Developer
Posts: 3338
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



...or download QT 7.68 ( http://www.filehippo.com/download_quicktime_player/8357/ ) and extract this DLL as described above.

Then copy it to "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Apple\Apple Application Support\" folder. (or to "C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Apple\Apple Application Support\" for 64-bit Windows)

This post has been edited by lvqcl: Aug 28 2011, 19:02
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
no404error
post Aug 28 2011, 19:58
Post #270





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 23-May 08
From: Rzeczpospolita
Member No.: 53744



QUOTE (lvqcl @ Aug 28 2011, 20:57) *
Then copy it to "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Apple\Apple Application Support\" folder. (or to "C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Apple\Apple Application Support\" for 64-bit Windows)

...or just place it at qtaacenc folder.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
b66pak
post Aug 28 2011, 20:17
Post #271





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 2-February 10
Member No.: 77800



@no404error thanks a lot for the tip...

actually what files are needed make QT installation not needed?
_
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DARcode
post Aug 28 2011, 21:24
Post #272





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 681
Joined: 10-January 05
From: Italy
Member No.: 18968



@ no404error: thanks a bunch.

@ lvqcl: I'd like to get the whole AppleApplicationSupport.msi package, but FileHippo.com redirects me to an Apple support page where I can only go for 7.6 or 7.7, the former hasn't got the DLL and the latter has got the newest one.

EDIT: If FileHorse.com is a legitimate/reputable/safe source they've got it here: http://www.filehorse.com/download-quicktime-player/6737/

This post has been edited by DARcode: Aug 28 2011, 21:27


--------------------
WavPack 4.70.0 -b384hx6cmv/qaac 2.41 -V 100
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dB
post Aug 28 2011, 21:28
Post #273





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 1-November 01
Member No.: 388



QUOTE (b66pak @ Aug 28 2011, 21:17) *
@no404error thanks a lot for the tip...

actually what files are needed make QT installation not needed?
_

Very good question. I would like to make a QT/qtaacenc solution portable along foobar portable wink.gif

Many thanks

This post has been edited by dB: Aug 28 2011, 21:39
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
IgorC
post Aug 29 2011, 10:53
Post #274





Group: Members
Posts: 1540
Joined: 3-January 05
From: ARG/RUS
Member No.: 18803



QUOTE (lvqcl @ Aug 28 2011, 06:46) *
Extract AppleApplicationSupport.msi from QuickTimeInstaller.exe, then extract CoreAudioToolbox.dll from .msi file. (You can do this with 7-zip).

But CoreAudioToolbox.dll also affects stereo encoding too...

With CoreAudioToolbox.dll ver. 7.9.3.0, qtaacenc.exe writes to the console: "Using QuickTime 7.7.0 (LC-AAC encoder 1.7.2, HE-AAC encoder 1.2.1)"
With newer CoreAudioToolbox (ver. 7.9.6.1 or 7.9.7.3): "Using QuickTime 7.7.0 (LC-AAC encoder 1.7.1, HE-AAC encoder 1.2.0)"

And it creates 3 different m4a files with 3 different CoreAudioToolbox.dll. I wonder what does it mean.

Where can I see the information about versions of LC and HE encoders? I've found only the version of CoreAudioTooolbox.dll

Also the previous version QuickTime 7.6.8 produces somewhat higher bitrates of TVBR (closer to CVBR). TVBR of 7.6.9 and 7.7.0 periodically goes too low in bitrate. It's not that good for my taste.

But 7.6.8 has (lowpass) bug for TVBR at 96 kbps.

This post has been edited by IgorC: Aug 29 2011, 10:55
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DARcode
post Aug 29 2011, 11:06
Post #275





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 681
Joined: 10-January 05
From: Italy
Member No.: 18968



Just the CoreAudioToolbox library in qtaacenc dir or the installation of the AppleApplicationSupport.msi package alone don't cut it, anyone in the know on how to make it really portable (in my case with EAC)? Thanx.


--------------------
WavPack 4.70.0 -b384hx6cmv/qaac 2.41 -V 100
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

18 Pages V  « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th July 2014 - 11:53