IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Do I need to --keep-foreign-metadata?
OpTicaL
post Mar 11 2009, 05:28
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 3-February 05
Member No.: 19556



I'm currently using FLAC frontend 1.7.1 to encode my WAV files to FLAC. I keeping getting this error, WARNING: skipping unknown sub-chunk 'LIST' (use --keep-foreign-metadata to keep). Do I need to --keep-foreign-metadata? Will not keeping foreign metadata have any negative effects on the output FLAC file? Is there benefits of keeping foreign metadata in my encodes?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Mar 11 2009, 05:48
Post #2





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10043
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



Foreign metadata is just that. It has no bearing on the audio data. Whether you wish to keep it is up to you. Do you ever plan on converting them back to wave files? If so, what do you plan on doing with them? I'm guessing you'll never miss those LIST chunks. Except for some wave editors and a handful of other applications, they aren't really used. When they are used it usually isn't done in a standard way that makes them compatible between those applications.

How are you creating these wave files anyway? If you're using dBpoweramp (which writes this metadata by default), you might as well use it to convert them to flac. If you do it that way I'm pretty sure the metadata will be converted over to proper vorbis comments/flac tags.


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
OpTicaL
post Mar 11 2009, 05:53
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 3-February 05
Member No.: 19556



I'm using Nero to create the WAV files from CD. My other question is how do I encode all the WAV files in a directory to FLAC in command prompt? On FLAC's website it says use flac *.wav but that does seem to work. What should I use in place of *.wav?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jcoalson
post Mar 11 2009, 05:54
Post #4


FLAC Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1526
Joined: 27-February 02
Member No.: 1408



http://flac.sourceforge.net/documentation_...oreign_metadata

edit:

http://flac.sourceforge.net/faq.html#tools...ards_on_windows

This post has been edited by jcoalson: Mar 11 2009, 05:56
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Mar 11 2009, 05:58
Post #5





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10043
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



I'll leave it others to discourage you from using Nero to rip your CDs.

Instead of *.wav you'll need to use a parameter passing scheme when typing at the command prompt:

CODE
for %g in (*.wav) do flac --keep-foreign-metadata "%g"


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Mar 11 2009, 06:00
Post #6





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10043
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



I see Josh beat me with his edit. smile.gif


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
OpTicaL
post Apr 25 2009, 04:25
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 3-February 05
Member No.: 19556



QUOTE (greynol @ Mar 10 2009, 21:48) *
Foreign metadata is just that. It has no bearing on the audio data. Whether you wish to keep it is up to you. Do you ever plan on converting them back to wave files? If so, what do you plan on doing with them? I'm guessing you'll never miss those LIST chunks. Except for some wave editors and a handful of other applications, they aren't really used. When they are used it usually isn't done in a standard way that makes them compatible between those applications.

How are you creating these wave files anyway? If you're using dBpoweramp (which writes this metadata by default), you might as well use it to convert them to flac. If you do it that way I'm pretty sure the metadata will be converted over to proper vorbis comments/flac tags.


Thank you all for all your help.

I'm a n00b when it comes to CD ripping (I haven't taken CD ripping seriously, until now). greynol recommends dBpoweramp and I've heard about EAC for the longest time. Which ripper is recommended? I visited dBpoweramps website and see that it's not freeware. Is there any practical advantage dBpoweramp has over EAC?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
saratoga
post Apr 25 2009, 06:34
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 5047
Joined: 2-September 02
Member No.: 3264



EAC is the gold standard.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
timcupery
post Apr 25 2009, 13:36
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 780
Joined: 19-December 01
From: Tar Heel country
Member No.: 683



Sure, EAC is the gold standard, because it's been around the longest as a secure ripping program. dBpoweramp and foobar2000 also offer secure ripping functionality. I use EAC most of the time, but you could go with any of these programs.


--------------------
God kills a kitten every time you encode with CBR 320
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
OpTicaL
post May 20 2009, 08:02
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 3-February 05
Member No.: 19556



Ok, I just started learning the ropes on how to use EAC and I followed the Wiki guide on how to configure EAC. However, if I want to add "--keep-foreign-metadata" where would I add the command line?

My current command line looks like this: -T "artist=%a" -T "title=%t" -T "album=%g" -T "date=%y" -T "tracknumber=%n" -T "genre=%m" -8 %s

Where would I plug "--keep-foreign-metadata"?

This post has been edited by OpTicaL: May 20 2009, 08:04
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post May 20 2009, 08:43
Post #11





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10043
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



There's no reason to add that setting since EAC doesn't create any foreign metadata.


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2014 - 11:49