IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Optical out from integretated soundmax
superfastkyle
post Jun 22 2006, 21:09
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 40
Joined: 16-June 06
Member No.: 31894



I got a HTPC a few months ago and have been using the optical out from the integrated soundmax sound, running it through a soundblaster extigy (it can work as a stand alone dac) to my receiver as its an old pro logic one with no digital inputs. Was playing the song Nobody by keith sweat, heard it probably a million times. Knew something was really wrong with how it sounded! The bass note was almost non-existant. Just a light thump. Hook up the extigy directly with the usb and it sounds great to me (which I would rather not do since its so much easier to make pops/clicks etc while having heavy loads and no ground loop with the optical). Now I'm really confused, I've always been a believer in digital is digital. So why would it matter whether the digital was coming though on the USB or the optical out on the soundmax? Is there some feature that changes the sound on the integrated soundcard? I looked through all the options and don't really see anything. I will be getting a new reciever eventually. Can one digital out really be better than another? are the audiophiles really not making stuff up? Will I probably want to get a better soundcard to?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AndyH-ha
post Jun 22 2006, 22:31
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2205
Joined: 31-August 05
Member No.: 24222



If something was wrong with quality in your original setup it is because something is not working correctly. Your explanation seems to say that the SB was doing the D to A in both cases so the only variable is the delivery of the digital to the DAC. It seems unlikely that resampling, if that is occurring with those 48kHz standards, could account for what you describe, so probably either the digital out of the built-in is corrupted or the digital in (S/PDIF version) of the SB does something weirder than usual.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
yahknow1
post Jun 22 2006, 22:35
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 71
Joined: 23-February 05
Member No.: 20082



Sounds like you might be trying to play the audio with Pro-Logic turned on?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st July 2014 - 15:39