IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
How do I get S/PDIF out of Minidisc to input of M-Audio Audiophile 192, [was “Lost in SPDIFs”/TOS #6, even if I do like the pun ;) ]
Xrcr9709
post May 28 2013, 15:18
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 64
Joined: 16-June 09
Member No.: 70735



Hello,


I have a minidisc hi-fi component and a cable I got with a Sony portable minidisc player.
The cable doesn't look like this one but it has similar connections:


The one on the left is what I think is called SPDIF/Toslink, and I can connect it to the hi-fi component.
The one on the right it what I think is called SPDIF.

On the other side, I have and M-Audio Audiophile-192 which has and "SPDIF" input:


No the SPDIF plug on the cable doesn't fit in the soundcard's SPDIF. What am I supposed to look for as an adapter ?

Thank you for your help.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Makaki
post May 28 2013, 15:48
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 66
Joined: 20-May 13
Member No.: 108227



Search your favorite online store for these words:
toslink coaxial adapter
toslink coaxial converter

One of them should do it.
The should cost around USD$20

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/S/PDIF


EDIT:

Example:
http://www.amazon.com/C2G-40019-Optical-Co...coaxial+adapter
(I have not tested, or endorse this product)


This post has been edited by Makaki: May 28 2013, 15:53
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Xrcr9709
post May 28 2013, 16:04
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 64
Joined: 16-June 09
Member No.: 70735



Thank you. Since these adapters must receive power, I guess they have to do some transformation to the signal. I there ANY quality loss possible at this step ?
Because I bought the matererial a PERFECT recording of my MDs, then maybe throw them away or forget them in a box forever.
So I'd even prefer to find a minidisc player with coaxial out.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post May 28 2013, 16:10
Post #4





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10009
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



There's no need for power; it's just an optical cable with two different connectors.


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Xrcr9709
post May 28 2013, 16:12
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 64
Joined: 16-June 09
Member No.: 70735



Isn't it a power connection on the right ?



Or here ?

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post May 28 2013, 16:18
Post #6





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10009
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



I'm referring to the first image in your initial post. That cable needs no conversion because it is optical. The image of the sound card below it appears to have a coaxial connector; so, yes, you will need an active converter if you're connecting it to a device with an optical connector.

This post has been edited by greynol: May 28 2013, 16:23


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Apesbrain
post May 28 2013, 16:23
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 490
Joined: 3-January 04
Member No.: 10915



Yes, it does need power but the converter box should not be changing any bits. Otherwise, people would not be reporting success with Dolby Digital/DTS.

You will also need some cables if you don't already have them:

From mini-disc to converter box*:
http://www.amazon.com/AmazonBasics-Digital...cal+audio+cable

From converter box to sound card:
http://www.amazon.com/Cables-29115-Meters-...I/ref=pd_cp_e_2

*I'm going by what you said in reference to the picture of the cable you already have. That cable is an optical S/PDIF (also called "Toslink") connector with a standard plug at one end and a mini-plug at the other. If as you say the standard-sized plug fits your mini-disc component, then you'll need a cable with standard plugs at both ends to use the converter box recommended above.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pdq
post May 28 2013, 16:25
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 3412
Joined: 1-September 05
From: SE Pennsylvania
Member No.: 24233



QUOTE (Xrcr9709 @ May 28 2013, 11:04) *
Thank you. Since these adapters must receive power, I guess they have to do some transformation to the signal. I there ANY quality loss possible at this step ?
Because I bought the matererial a PERFECT recording of my MDs, then maybe throw them away or forget them in a box forever.
So I'd even prefer to find a minidisc player with coaxial out.

Ignoring the FUD of timing jitter (which does not apply in this case) there is NO loss of quality at all.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bennetng
post May 28 2013, 19:31
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 224
Joined: 22-December 05
Member No.: 26587



Sony MZ-RH1 can use the SonicStage software to copy MDs using USB cable just like reading from a USB harddrive, SonicStage can bypass SCMS protection as well, so there is no need to use SPDIF and record in realtime.

EDIT:
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....st&p=816213
Just searched and I found your old post. I am using MZ-RH1 in XP with SonicStage having no problems at all.

This post has been edited by bennetng: May 28 2013, 19:47
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2Bdecided
post May 29 2013, 09:45
Post #10


ReplayGain developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 5148
Joined: 5-November 01
From: Yorkshire, UK
Member No.: 409



QUOTE (Apesbrain @ May 28 2013, 16:23) *
Yes, it does need power but the converter box should not be changing any bits. Otherwise, people would not be reporting success with Dolby Digital/DTS.
I've used a mini optical > standard optical cable, to one of those boxes, to a coaxial input on my soundcard, and decoded the resulting Dolby Digital AC-3 bitstream without errors.

The optical/electrical conversion is trivial. The optical and electrical signals are "identical" in structure - if you connect a suitable diode to the electrical (coaxial) output, you will get the optical version. If you put a suitable optical detector + amplifier on the optical output, you get the electrical (coaxial) version. There is no possible mechanism for subtle errors like re-quantisation, re-dithering etc to occurr - it's impossible.

Cheers,
David.

This post has been edited by 2Bdecided: May 29 2013, 09:45
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Xrcr9709
post May 29 2013, 12:24
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 64
Joined: 16-June 09
Member No.: 70735



QUOTE (bennetng @ May 28 2013, 20:31) *
Sony MZ-RH1 can use the SonicStage software to copy MDs using USB cable just like reading from a USB harddrive, SonicStage can bypass SCMS protection as well, so there is no need to use SPDIF and record in realtime.

EDIT:
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....st&p=816213
Just searched and I found your old post. I am using MZ-RH1 in XP with SonicStage having no problems at all.


If I rember well, I had to user a virtual machine (Virtual Box) to get Sonic Stage to work, the problem was that the USB transfert only worked depending on how the disc was recorded/formatted (which uses compressed files). My MD's have not been recording that way.

This post has been edited by Xrcr9709: May 29 2013, 12:27
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Xrcr9709
post May 29 2013, 12:31
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 64
Joined: 16-June 09
Member No.: 70735



QUOTE (Apesbrain @ May 28 2013, 17:23) *



Thank you.
Is this cable actually different compared to a standard RCA cable ?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pdq
post May 29 2013, 13:01
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 3412
Joined: 1-September 05
From: SE Pennsylvania
Member No.: 24233



QUOTE (Xrcr9709 @ May 29 2013, 07:31) *
QUOTE (Apesbrain @ May 28 2013, 17:23) *



Thank you.
Is this cable actually different compared to a standard RCA cable ?

There are basically two kinds of RCA cables. There are the ones that have a characteristic impedance (75 ohms) suitable for high frequencies, and the other kind that should only be used for audio. If you have an RCA cable meant for video (the ones that connect to the yellow sockets) then that will also work perfectly well as a S/P-DIF cable. Of course, for a short length (1M or less) the audio type will also probably work.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 2nd October 2014 - 08:31