IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

9 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
foo_dsp_effect, A effect array for FB2K
touccer
post Dec 14 2010, 13:54
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 14-October 10
Member No.: 84615



QUOTE (mudlord @ Dec 14 2010, 13:33) *
Sorry touccer, you were right.

Try the download again, should be fixed this time.

I've noticed a problem in the latest version, in version 0.3 when i use the parametric eq to enhance the bass i've noticed an effective increase of bass but with the new version this not happen, and can i know what quality slider should be?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
touccer
post Dec 15 2010, 13:05
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 14-October 10
Member No.: 84615



QUOTE (touccer @ Dec 14 2010, 13:54) *
QUOTE (mudlord @ Dec 14 2010, 13:33) *
Sorry touccer, you were right.

Try the download again, should be fixed this time.

I've noticed a problem in the latest version, in version 0.3 when i use the parametric eq to enhance the bass i've noticed an effective increase of bass but with the new version this not happen, and can i know what quality slider should be?

Has been a problem to my foobar configuration, the dsp 0.4 works great wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jmccrohan
post Dec 19 2010, 00:09
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 11-August 07
Member No.: 46121



Setting quality to 0 causes an infinite loop in most of the effects.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Dec 19 2010, 10:20
Post #29





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 805
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



Known issue.
When it will be fixed: Never. Quite a simple "issue" to work around.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Jan 8 2011, 19:46
Post #30





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 805
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



0.5 released
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
notwa
post Jan 9 2011, 04:06
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 8-January 11
From: British Columbia
Member No.: 87160



Uhhh, something's not right here.

laugh.gif
Nothing serious, just a little GUI mistake. Don't rush out another version if you don't feel like it.

By the way, this sounds great. Thanks a ton for porting it.

This post has been edited by notwa: Jan 9 2011, 04:13
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Jan 9 2011, 05:03
Post #32





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 805
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



Yes, thats already fixed for the next version.
I have one more effect/sub DSP I wanna add for the next version though before that bugfix is out...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
touccer
post Jan 10 2011, 01:38
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 14-October 10
Member No.: 84615



Can you extend Parametric EQ frequency range to 0-20000?

This post has been edited by touccer: Jan 10 2011, 01:44
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Jan 10 2011, 05:31
Post #34





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 805
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



Done
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
touccer
post Jan 10 2011, 12:34
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 14-October 10
Member No.: 84615



QUOTE (mudlord @ Jan 10 2011, 05:31) *
Done

The frequency range is still 20-20000 unsure.gif

This post has been edited by touccer: Jan 10 2011, 12:37
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
notwa
post Jan 11 2011, 00:45
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 8-January 11
From: British Columbia
Member No.: 87160



Two things.
How does the bass booster work? Is it just a low shelf with a steep slope, a peak, or something fancier? It sounds alright nonetheless.
Is the compressor working properly? I think the release is broken. I'll do a little test in a minute.

And here it is.
The release parameter does in fact change nothing.

Sorry if it seems like I'm being a dick (again). I'm slowly learning how to fit into the forums, and it seems like you guys like proof ready and up front.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Jan 11 2011, 05:46
Post #37





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 805
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



touccer, fixed for next version.

QUOTE
How does the bass booster work? Is it just a low shelf with a steep slope, a peak, or something fancier? It sounds alright nonetheless.


Its fancier, custom IIR filter. Read source for details on coefficients.

Hmmm, could have missed something in the port.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
touccer
post Jan 11 2011, 13:52
Post #38





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 14-October 10
Member No.: 84615



QUOTE (mudlord @ Jan 11 2011, 05:46) *
touccer, fixed for next version.

QUOTE
How does the bass booster work? Is it just a low shelf with a steep slope, a peak, or something fancier? It sounds alright nonetheless.


Its fancier, custom IIR filter. Read source for details on coefficients.

Hmmm, could have missed something in the port.

The parametric EQ gain slider is disabled blink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Jan 11 2011, 14:39
Post #39





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 805
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



Woah, sorry about that!
Will fix in a couple of minutes.

As for that release time param....thats a odd quirk. I double checked, and the control is all wired up to the config....
Weird. I might ask Garf about his compressor when he is on IRC next.

This post has been edited by mudlord: Jan 11 2011, 14:41
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sunhillow
post Jan 28 2011, 17:06
Post #40





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 483
Joined: 13-October 01
From: Stuttgart
Member No.: 286



Hi mudlord,
thank you so much for this plugin! cool.gif
IMHO Garf's dynamic compressor sounds much better than vlevel - it lacks the volume pumping effects of vlevel. I never found a setting I really liked, and the free vst compressors I found were not much better
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandrine
post Feb 4 2011, 22:15
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 319
Joined: 2-July 10
Member No.: 81991



Thank you very much for this useful plugin! I'm especially intrigued about the de-emphasis filter and that leads me to a question/request which may or may not be beyond the scope of your project:

A CD recorded with pre-emphasis (damn you, 80s!) has a special flag set to indicate this option. The CD flag can be seen in EAC and, if ripped correctly, is also indicated in the cuesheet (or could be added thusly). Now, I'm wondering if it would be possible to incorporate this flag detection mechanism either into your DSP plugin or make a dedicated plugin, much like the HDCD and DTS plugins, that would detect and pass the flag to foobar's title formatting functions and activate de-emphasis automatically accordingly.

And lastly (although I'm pretty sure you already know all this, but maybe it'll help others who jump aboard this train of thought) a link for further reading: http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?title=Pre-emphasis

This post has been edited by Sandrine: Feb 4 2011, 22:17
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Feb 7 2011, 08:03
Post #42





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 805
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



Sounds interesting, to say the least.

Know any names of CD's which indeed use this? I haven't ran into such CDs in my collection with cuesheets like that, and I mainly rip with FB2K, anyway.
Or at the very least, a EAC ripped CUE with such info?

I was thinking along the lines of a audio preprocessor service, built into the component. That way, you don't need to activate any DSP: its all automatic...

This post has been edited by mudlord: Feb 7 2011, 08:23
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandrine
post Feb 7 2011, 13:36
Post #43





Group: Members
Posts: 319
Joined: 2-July 10
Member No.: 81991



QUOTE (mudlord @ Feb 7 2011, 08:03) *
Sounds interesting, to say the least.

Know any names of CD's which indeed use this? I haven't ran into such CDs in my collection with cuesheets like that, and I mainly rip with FB2K, anyway.
Or at the very least, a EAC ripped CUE with such info?

I was thinking along the lines of a audio preprocessor service, built into the component. That way, you don't need to activate any DSP: its all automatic...


Yes, I have "Heaven 17 - Penthouse and Pavement" for testing, I'll contact you with details by PM. For a more comprehensive list see http://www.stevehoffman.tv/forums/showthread.php?t=121188
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Feb 7 2011, 18:09
Post #44





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 805
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



Thanks, the test material is good enough quality to test it out with. I just need to get in contact with the FB2K devs for the required API.

This post has been edited by mudlord: Feb 7 2011, 18:14
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fieryflare
post Feb 7 2011, 22:29
Post #45





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 7-February 11
Member No.: 88002



I've installed the Dll, but I don't see any changes in Foobar. I'm using Windows 7 64 bit. I'm using Foobar version 1.1.2

How do you install it properly, I followed the Foobar FAQ and it seems to be installed but I can't find the effects, where are they? What could be the problem?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GeSomeone
post Feb 7 2011, 22:48
Post #46





Group: Members
Posts: 921
Joined: 22-October 01
From: the Netherlands
Member No.: 335



QUOTE (Sandrine @ Feb 4 2011, 23:15) *
... much like the HDCD and DTS plugins

The HDCD and DTS plugins find their clues in the audio data stream, that is not possible with pre-emphasis.
So you must rely on a FLAG in a TAG (or FLAGS PRE line in a cue). Much more tricky.

But a de-emphasis preset in one of the DSPs should no problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Feb 8 2011, 04:59
Post #47





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 805
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



Not really.

You can still make a metadb_handle pointer, get the current track, and then use the file info helpers to read the relevant metadata to activate the DSP depending on whether preemphasis exists..
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tpijag
post Feb 8 2011, 05:16
Post #48





Group: Members
Posts: 2345
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 53637



QUOTE (fieryflare @ Feb 7 2011, 15:29) *
I've installed the Dll, but I don't see any changes in Foobar. find the effects, where are they?


Do you mean these instructions? Then it should be installed correctly. As these are DSP's they are located in Preferences>Playback>DSP Manager

QUOTE
Note that this content applies to foobar2000 versions 1.1 and newer. If you're using an older version, please upgrade now to utilize the new interface.
Step 1: Open the foobar2000 preferences dialog.
Step 2: Go to the Components page.
Step 3: Click the "Install..." button, or simply drag a component archive to the list.
Step 4: Press "OK", you will be prompted to restart foobar2000 in order to load the newly installed component.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Feb 8 2011, 07:44
Post #49





Group: Admin
Posts: 4579
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



And as a decode postprocessor service, it may retrieve the metadata from the track at the beginning of decoding and automatically instantiate and return a postprocessor instance that will handle the de-emphasis processing automatically for all supported formats. (CDDA, WAV, FLAC, and WavPack, at this time.)

It can also set and unset metadata which will be available through the dynamic file info functions of the input, so it may indicate that processing has been applied, and so that it may remove the metadata field that triggered it in the first place. Of course, I don't know if the converter applies this immediate metadata information to the target track when converting. In which case, if it didn't, the filter would be applied again on playback, even if you already applied it during conversion.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Feb 8 2011, 12:26
Post #50





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 805
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



Yep, started adding this as a extra decode post processor service. Just like the HDCD and DTS support you added.

Ran into a fundamental issue though with the metadata readers: Namely, reading flags from cuesheets.

This post has been edited by mudlord: Feb 8 2011, 12:46
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

9 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th July 2014 - 13:04