IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

275 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
[seemingly abandonware] Columns UI, alternative user interface
ginipig1
post Jan 27 2004, 21:46
Post #51





Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 3-December 03
Member No.: 10145



bleh, i misread his post.. I thought he meant 1 horizontal scroll bar, similar to the one Internet Browsers employ when a page is too large to be viewed on a certain resolution... kinda like a frame within a frame where you could scroll the window to get extra information/albumpics(in the future hopefully), and what not. I agree with you that the 'individual' bars would look ugly.

This post has been edited by ginipig1: Jan 27 2004, 21:48
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
juglesh
post Jan 27 2004, 22:00
Post #52





Group: Members
Posts: 157
Joined: 10-January 02
From: www.RadioKDUG.com
Member No.: 978



@ ginipig1 and foosion:
guys...hello? foobar is supposed to be functional, not eye candy! ugly... dry.gif pfft. sacrifice a few pixels at the bottom for funtionality.

the thought of one horizontal scroll bar never crossed my mind cuz i was thinking about the right aligned columns, but that would be good, too. you could have info that you dont need that often hidden off to the right or left.


--------------------
juglesh B>{)}
www.RadioKDUG.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ginipig1
post Jan 27 2004, 22:16
Post #53





Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 3-December 03
Member No.: 10145



QUOTE (juglesh @ Jan 27 2004, 01:00 PM)
@ ginipig1 and foosion:
guys...hello? foobar is supposed to be functional, not eye candy!


Lies. Actually I think that Foobar is very Seksiii. I'm the kind of guy who likes to keep tabs on everything, so Foobar was a plausible solution in terms of Function. My Desktop is nothing more than a Litestep theme, and some quick access buttons. The fonts, colors, layout of Foobar blend in well with my desktop. The synergy of the two can never be replaced by some overly ambitious attempt at pleasing the inner child (read: some bloated skins with all sorts of gizmos.)

This post has been edited by ginipig1: Jan 27 2004, 22:17
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foosion
post Jan 27 2004, 22:26
Post #54





Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 4432
Joined: 24-February 03
Member No.: 5153



QUOTE (juglesh @ Jan 27 2004, 10:00 PM)
@ ginipig1 and foosion:
guys...hello? foobar is supposed to be functional, not eye candy!  ugly... dry.gif pfft.  sacrifice a few pixels at the bottom for funtionality.

The 'ugliness' here comes not only from the strange visual appearance of this solution, it is also fairly non-standard. IMHO, showing tooltips when the mouse hovers over a truncated entry is a better solution.

QUOTE
the thought of one horizontal scroll bar never crossed my mind cuz i was thinking about the right aligned columns, but that would be good, too.  you could have info that you dont need that often hidden off to the right or left.

Just to make it clear: I'm talking about the scroll bar that appears when the total width of all columns is greater than the width of the playlist view - and that one is already there.


--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
musicmusic
post Jan 28 2004, 22:18
Post #55


Columns UI developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 3034
Joined: 20-December 02
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 4177



[quote=juglesh,Jan 27 2004, 03:43 AM]

yes, please.  be great to have right align. any columns you have right aligned should stick to the right no matter the window size.  [/quote]
You misinterpreted me - i meant text alignment. You can currently use tab char to right align stuff but that wont affect the text alignment in the header.

Anyway, as far as i know the header control dont support what you want. Put the columns you need first and then you can scroll/resize or something to see the rest.

[quote]also, what would be great is if you could specify that a column would be 'unsqueezeable', that is, if you resize other columns, unsqueezable columns would not change size.  could make colums unexpandable, too. ie, if you squeeze other column, this column will not expand.

you could also specify certain columns to be the first (2nd, 3rd, etc) one squeezed.  maybe specify that a column would be the first to squeez, but only squeeze down to x characters or pixels.  and make columns last(2nd, 3rd, etc) to squeez.[/quote]
Could be done but I really dont think you would be able to set all these "sqeezable" settings to mimic what you want to happen everytime you resize columns.

[quote]

[quote]
truncate with an ellipsis character ("") when the text is too big to fit in the column? A nice extra on top of this would be a tooltip [/quote]-Haggis

i like this, too.
[/quote]done in alpha 6[quote] what about individual horizontal scroll bars for all (or specified) columns.  if x characters are truncated, show horizontal scroll bar.
[/quote] wouldnt the logical thing to do be resize the column? anyway, as foosion said it would be a mess and look a mess too.



[quote]oh, could you please post the url for your site? (musicmusic) maybe list it in your profile. thx[/quote]put somewhere in profile


[quote=Sid59,Jan 27 2004, 08:38 AM]getting better and better .. good job.

you changed from the right pane of playlists to tabs .. can you make it an option to use either?[/quote]Im not sure what you're asking, if its switch between playlists listbox and tabs you can in prefs, if its put playlists listbox on right side you cant right now.

[quote=kerpondile,Jan 27 2004, 10:15 AM]This is small feature, but is it possible statusbar to update instantly when moving the playing "slider".

hope you understand...[/quote]a buch of updating issues with status bar and window title fixed in alpha 6.

[quote=kalmark,Jan 27 2004, 03:33 PM]I like it, I like it!!!

Suggestions:
-Have a separate font setting for the playlist and the column names
-Adopt the seekbar from the default UI, or at least make "instant seeking" an option

Keep up the good work! As soon as someone thinks out how to use upNorth's formatting string, or something like that for foo_columns, I'm in' smile.gif[/quote]

1. will do
2. if it could just take it from the default ui i would wink.gif seekbar fixed up in alpha 6

[quote=ginipig1,Jan 27 2004, 05:32 PM]what do you mean foosion?

Since this dll is still in it's alpha stage, it still has some problems when it comes to resizing. The columns aren't smart enough (yet) to adjust their width automatically. A horizontal scroll bar is a good idea for interim releases.. but once all the bugs are ironed out, it won't be neccessary.[/quote] horizontally scrollable playlist was meant to be a feature rolleyes.gif

Maybe i could add a scrollbar less mode where columns expand/compress to take up all available space

[quote=Speek,Jan 27 2004, 01:42 PM]And another request: could you make the playlist 3D instead of flat look?[/quote] do you mean the frame/border around the playlist, or something else?


alpha 6:
- can move mouse between menus, sort of
- seekbar seeks to where you click, no instant seeking
- show ellipsis when text cropped
- global string for $puts
- balloon tips
- fixed redraw problems with rebar when moving things around
- buttons toolbar
- separated prefs into two pages
- other minor things

This post has been edited by musicmusic: Jan 28 2004, 22:20


--------------------
.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fantomex
post Jan 28 2004, 22:43
Post #56





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 17-April 03
Member No.: 6035



QUOTE (musicmusic @ Jan 26 2004, 07:56 PM)
QUOTE (fantomex @ Jan 25 2004, 05:16 PM)

am i the only one who gets this?

win98 toolbar control doesnt support setting a button with no image, probably related. Please try latest version, and tell me if its fixed or not.


EDIT
it IS fixed.

This post has been edited by fantomex: Jan 28 2004, 22:49
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fantomex
post Jan 28 2004, 22:48
Post #57





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 17-April 03
Member No.: 6035



edit, something IS wrong with me

This post has been edited by fantomex: Jan 28 2004, 22:50
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
The Link
post Jan 28 2004, 23:03
Post #58





Group: Members
Posts: 665
Joined: 27-November 02
Member No.: 3911



This is getting really cool! smile.gif
Even the default settings look good IMHO (with the right fonts chosen). One thing that I'd like to have is working scrolling with the mouse wheel (no name mouse here ==> no good drivers). Otherwise everything is just great!

Regards,
The Link
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BlueScreenJunky
post Jan 28 2004, 23:08
Post #59





Group: Members
Posts: 137
Joined: 3-March 03
Member No.: 5295



wow, sweeeet ! I love your UI, maybe still a few things to add/fix, but it's already better than the default one IMHO.

anyway, here are my thoughts, questions, suggestions :
  • Can you change the color of the font used to display the playlists list ? Well if you can't consider it as a feature request (white font on white background is not really readable ^^)
  • I think when you click the header of a column it should switch between ascending and descending sorting... Unless you prefer it that way for some reason ?
  • You should definitely be able to import/export configs (it's already been requested but I think it's an important feature)
  • I'd love to have a cusomizable tool-tip, that would display a string when you let your cursor over a title.
  • Could you use the same seekbar as in the default UI ? I find it easier to grab.
  • What is the space between the status bar and the playlist (about 5 pixels) used for ? :-P

Well, I think that's all for now. Just keep up the good work ^^
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kerpondile
post Jan 28 2004, 23:11
Post #60





Group: Developer
Posts: 147
Joined: 26-January 04
Member No.: 11525



Good job!! This component looks very good!!!

few improvements/suggestions:
when pressing a key in the playlist could take it to artist beginning with that alphabet.

for example you press B and the selection goes to Britney Spears wink.gif

The thing i miss with the default user interface also is the ability continue song where it left when shutting down the program...

This post has been edited by kerpondile: Jan 28 2004, 23:16
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kalmark
post Jan 28 2004, 23:30
Post #61





Group: Members
Posts: 599
Joined: 9-October 03
From: ZZ 9 Plural Z Alpha
Member No.: 9230



Stuff worth mentoning:

1) You can only en/disable "Playback order", "Playback buttons" is linked to the same

2) If you change the column sizes by dragging, this does not change the sizes set in config -> you go into config, and everything gets back to the default (or whatever you set there)

3) Maybe a time_elapsed tooltip for the seekbar would be nice

4) And yes, the default colors should be changed smile.gif

5) Maybe a different kind of vis... I made a small "stereo" vis, if you're interested, maybe it can be incorporated. I dunno how "vis-in-ui" code works, but I'm sure if I sent you my code it could be easily merged smile.gif

BTW, anyone care to make some nice formatting strings for this UI? smile.gif

And, before I forget : THANK YOU, again, for making this cool plugin! biggrin.gif


--------------------
Life is Real...
(But not in audio :) )
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foosion
post Jan 29 2004, 00:08
Post #62





Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 4432
Joined: 24-February 03
Member No.: 5153



QUOTE (kerpondile @ Jan 28 2004, 11:11 PM)
The thing i miss with the default user interface also is the ability continue song where it left when shutting down the program...

This has nothing to do with the user interface. Go to "Preferences->Core", check "Resume playback after restart".


--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Speek
post Jan 29 2004, 00:14
Post #63





Group: Members
Posts: 394
Joined: 31-October 01
Member No.: 386



QUOTE (musicmusic @ Jan 28 2004, 10:18 PM)
QUOTE (Speek @ Jan 27 2004, 01:42 PM)
And another request: could you make the playlist 3D instead of flat look?
do you mean the frame/border around the playlist, or something else?

Yes, that's what I mean.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BlueScreenJunky
post Jan 29 2004, 00:43
Post #64





Group: Members
Posts: 137
Joined: 3-March 03
Member No.: 5295



err... in the default config the length string has "[%_TIME_ELAPSED% /]" it doesn't do anything for me, and I don't think "%_TIME_ELAPSED%" is supposed to be used in the playlist anyway :-/

why is it here ? o_O
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jan 29 2004, 01:33
Post #65





Group: Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



QUOTE (BlueScreenJunky @ Jan 28 2004, 03:43 PM)
err... in the default config the length string has "[%_TIME_ELAPSED% /]" it doesn't do anything for me, and I don't think "%_TIME_ELAPSED%" is supposed to be used in the playlist anyway  :-/

why is it here ? o_O

It shows the elapsed time on whichever file is playing.


There's also a slight bug in the total time display. It seems to show the length of the first track in the selection multiplied by the number of tracks selected.

This post has been edited by kode54: Jan 29 2004, 01:57
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
juglesh
post Jan 29 2004, 01:44
Post #66





Group: Members
Posts: 157
Joined: 10-January 02
From: www.RadioKDUG.com
Member No.: 978



QUOTE
when pressing a key in the playlist could take it to artist beginning with that alphabet.


yeah, here is a thread suggesting a pluggin or feature like that.
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....ndpost&p=166848

QUOTE
You misinterpreted me - i meant text alignment. You can currently use tab char to right align stuff but that wont affect the text alignment in the header.


shoot, it really would be nice to right align the columns themselves so when you are resizing things, the right columns dont get pushed off the end.

QUOTE
wouldnt the logical thing to do be resize the column? anyway, as foosion said it would be a mess and look a mess too.


well, if you could resize columns without messing up your layout(unsqeezable columns, right aligned columns), maybe.

QUOTE
Maybe i could add a scrollbar less mode where columns expand/compress to take up all available space


that would be a decent solution if you could specify min/max pixels or % for each column. for example, the length column (which i would want right aligned) would have a min/max of 70 pixels. if all columns resized on window resize or column resize, the length column would allways stay the right size, and would allways stay to the right.


--------------------
juglesh B>{)}
www.RadioKDUG.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
meatsoup
post Jan 29 2004, 01:51
Post #67





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 27-September 03
Member No.: 9037



I absolutely love this UI, but I have a problem with the playlist display after scrolling horizontally. Here's a screenshot.

If I scroll horizontally to the right, then select an item, it will display left-aligned as though I hadn't scrolled. This is with alpha 6, but I'm pretty sure it was happening with earlier builds.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BlueScreenJunky
post Jan 29 2004, 02:37
Post #68





Group: Members
Posts: 137
Joined: 3-March 03
Member No.: 5295



QUOTE
It shows the elapsed time on whichever file is playing.


Doesn't work for me... oh well sleep.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
treech
post Jan 29 2004, 02:37
Post #69





Group: Members
Posts: 208
Joined: 28-May 02
From: Helsingborg
Member No.: 2147



Gettingreally good, but there are a few more things i'del ike to comment smile.gif

the new option, use global string might have something to do with this suggestion, yes?

QUOTE
Also, ONE color property for all fields would be usefull (as an option)
and perhaps a singe place where i could paste thing like color definitions so i don't have to do that in every single window


please explain it further, i tried to add my color definitions there but it did not work as expected dry.gif

also, the scrollwheel on my mouse ain't working, mx700 (logitech) mouse that works just fine with the default UI smile.gif

EDIT:
The dropdown thingy on the playback order is still not working.... wink.gif

This post has been edited by treech: Jan 29 2004, 02:40
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Haggis
post Jan 29 2004, 02:45
Post #70





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 28-February 03
Member No.: 5232



QUOTE (BlueScreenJunky @ Jan 28 2004, 05:37 PM)
QUOTE
It shows the elapsed time on whichever file is playing.


Doesn't work for me... oh well sleep.gif

Make sure you have "Show dynamic info (...) in playlist" checked on the Display page in Preferences.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
slayerbeast
post Jan 29 2004, 08:28
Post #71





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 17-March 03
Member No.: 5545



hey i think it would be cool if it could have a part of the window showing stuff like
artist
album
song title
lyrics
bio
etc
of the current song playing..
this would be cool as all of my songs have lyrics tagged in them
and presently i'm using the lyrics plugin for foobar.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kerpondile
post Jan 29 2004, 08:58
Post #72





Group: Developer
Posts: 147
Joined: 26-January 04
Member No.: 11525



QUOTE (foosion @ Jan 28 2004, 03:08 PM)
QUOTE (kerpondile @ Jan 28 2004, 11:11 PM)
The thing i miss with the default user interface also is the ability continue song where it left when shutting down the program...

This has nothing to do with the user interface. Go to "Preferences->Core", check "Resume playback after restart".

Thanks, it works smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bisley
post Jan 29 2004, 12:32
Post #73





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 5-January 04
Member No.: 10964



good job musicmusic, i like so much this ui smile.gif but 2 things...

when i change background color, only change the scroll bar color
and Why i dont see them?

keep up the good work !
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bisley
post Jan 29 2004, 17:10
Post #74





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 5-January 04
Member No.: 10964



and one thing more...

i choose one of the playlist list with left click,then the choosen one cannot be "switched from the playlist" and "remove from the playlist". but if i choose one playlist from the list directly with right click, i can swtich and erase them.

regards..
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kerpondile
post Jan 29 2004, 17:46
Post #75





Group: Developer
Posts: 147
Joined: 26-January 04
Member No.: 11525



QUOTE (juglesh @ Jan 28 2004, 04:44 PM)
when pressing a key in the playlist could take it to artist beginning with that alphabet.

yeah, here is a thread suggesting a pluggin or feature like that.
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....ndpost&p=166848

Is possible without additional windows? That's why I suggested this feature to be implemented to the foo_ui_columns..
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

275 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th September 2014 - 12:45