IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
FLAC bitrate display in foobar (and everything else)
sl33py
post Apr 23 2006, 08:52
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 8-March 06
Member No.: 28353



Why doesn't it show 1411kbps since it's lossless? I suppose in this particular case, the bitrate is only indicative of the amount of data being used to recreate the 1411 that is "lossless"

Can anyone confirm that? Otherwise the bitrate display on foobar (and my mp3 player) doesn't really make much sense since I think it should show 1411 for any lossless format!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kjoonlee
post Apr 23 2006, 09:20
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2526
Joined: 25-July 02
From: South Korea
Member No.: 2782



Bitrate is filesize divided by playtime. It should be less than 1411.2kbps if it's compressed.


--------------------
http://blacksun.ivyro.net/vorbis/vorbisfaq.htm
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kjoonlee
post Apr 23 2006, 09:59
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2526
Joined: 25-July 02
From: South Korea
Member No.: 2782



(Assuming the original was from CD, of course.)


--------------------
http://blacksun.ivyro.net/vorbis/vorbisfaq.htm
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sl33py
post Apr 23 2006, 13:06
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 8-March 06
Member No.: 28353



OK. Thanks
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th October 2014 - 04:51