IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
foo_record, Sugestion
JEN
post Oct 18 2003, 10:02
Post #1





Group: Banned
Posts: 1131
Joined: 19-September 02
Member No.: 3407



Hi

Is it possible to make a slight change to foo_record. When "limit recording time to" is not used, the progress bar is blank, why not show the harddrive space when recording with no "limit recording time to" ???

For example, it would be cool if the user could see the harddrive space on the computer getting used up in real time smile.gif

This post has been edited by JEN: Oct 18 2003, 13:41
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
neoufo51
post Oct 18 2003, 12:03
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 489
Joined: 13-June 02
Member No.: 2290



Good idea. A nice finishing touch to an already well made plugin.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JEN
post Oct 18 2003, 13:43
Post #3





Group: Banned
Posts: 1131
Joined: 19-September 02
Member No.: 3407



QUOTE (neoufo51 @ Oct 18 2003, 12:03 PM)
Good idea. A nice finishing touch to an already well made plugin.

Yes, foo_record has to be 1 of my favourite plug-ins smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JEN
post Oct 30 2003, 21:51
Post #4





Group: Banned
Posts: 1131
Joined: 19-September 02
Member No.: 3407



Will the above idea ever be implemented along with the following idea:

How about an auto detection option which can detect the end or start of a track

For example, if you are recording from tape using "line in", it would be cool if it could autodetect the start and ends of each track and auto increment the track names e.g. Track01 Track02 ... Track12 etc.

The numbering idea belongs to naturefreak biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
neoufo51
post Oct 31 2003, 02:25
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 489
Joined: 13-June 02
Member No.: 2290



QUOTE (JEN @ Oct 30 2003, 01:51 PM)
Will the above idea ever be implemented along with the following idea:

How about an auto detection option which can detect the end or start of a track

For example, if you are recording from tape using "line in", it would be cool if it could autodetect the start and ends of each track and auto increment the track names e.g. Track01 Track02 ... Track12 etc.

The numbering idea belongs to naturefreak biggrin.gif

Yikes, sounds tough to code...

I DO like your nice ideas though, Jen. Thanks to you and Case, we have a great new lame enc for the foo_record. Good stuff for ripping streaming tracks and sending to friends too foolish to not have an Ogg capable player.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TurinsRevenge
post Oct 31 2003, 03:19
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 131
Joined: 19-February 03
Member No.: 5074



Ummmmm. Are there any special tricks to using foo_record or known incompatibilities? I can't get it to work.

Console looks OK - no errors. Diskwriter works fine and I can encode mp3, wav, ape, etc with no problem. But when I use foo_record all I get is a file with a noise floor around -40db. No errors on playback....just no sound. It's not a 0 byte file either. It can get quite large, as you'd expect if it were actually recording and the foo_record counter in the lower right *is* incrementing when recording.

Since it works off the sound card I've tried changing the output to DS, DS2, WAV and KS with no luck.

I Have an ASUS MB with onboard AD1985 7 channel sound. Everything else works great, but this one has me stumped. Any ideas?


--------------------
Master of Fate. By Fate Mastered
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Messer
post Oct 31 2003, 03:33
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 568
Joined: 6-May 02
From: Warsaw / Poland
Member No.: 1977



Start->Run... , type: sndvol32 -R and check out what you're really recording.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AtaqueEG
post Oct 31 2003, 05:21
Post #8





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 1336
Joined: 18-November 01
From: Celaya, Guanajuato
Member No.: 478



What I would like to see in this plugin (please forgive me if this is an absurd suggestion, code-wise) is a "record level monitor". You know, something that will let you know how loud the actual file would be and maybe if it clips.

I like to use foo_record to record concert broadcast off my satellite dish and sometimes getting it to have an adecuate loudness is tricky.


--------------------
I'm the one in the picture, sitting on a giant cabbage in Mexico, circa 1978.
Reseņas de Rock en Espaņol: www.estadogeneral.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ssamadhi97
post Oct 31 2003, 05:31
Post #9





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 1203
Joined: 10-February 02
From: Endless Water
Member No.: 1305



Why don't you just use foo_vis_vu_meter for that?


--------------------
A riddle is a short sword attached to the next 2000 years.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AtaqueEG
post Oct 31 2003, 06:17
Post #10





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 1336
Joined: 18-November 01
From: Celaya, Guanajuato
Member No.: 478



QUOTE (ssamadhi97 @ Oct 30 2003, 11:31 PM)
Why don't you just use foo_vis_vu_meter for that?

Maybe because I was not aware there was such a thing? wink.gif

Thanks a lot, I look for it. smile.gif


--------------------
I'm the one in the picture, sitting on a giant cabbage in Mexico, circa 1978.
Reseņas de Rock en Espaņol: www.estadogeneral.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TurinsRevenge
post Oct 31 2003, 08:27
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 131
Joined: 19-February 03
Member No.: 5074



@Messer

Found a recording control called "Wave Out Mix" which seems to control the volume level of the data being sent to the file. That seems to have fixed it, but the signal clips at only 10% of the control.

Thanks to foo_vis_vu_meter and the std_input tone generator I'm at least able to easily match the input/output levels.

Thanks.


--------------------
Master of Fate. By Fate Mastered
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JEN
post Oct 31 2003, 15:07
Post #12





Group: Banned
Posts: 1131
Joined: 19-September 02
Member No.: 3407



QUOTE (neoufo51 @ Oct 31 2003, 02:25 AM)
I DO like your nice ideas though, Jen. Thanks to you and Case, we have a great new lame enc for the foo_record. Good stuff for ripping streaming tracks and sending to friends too foolish to not have an Ogg capable player.

Please dont thank me wink.gif

I don't think its right for me to take credit for it, I just had the idea which i'm sure Case would have made sooner or later even if I didn't mension it smile.gif

If only I didn't learn VB and chose C++ instead tongue.gif

This post has been edited by JEN: Oct 31 2003, 17:25
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
neoufo51
post Oct 31 2003, 21:48
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 489
Joined: 13-June 02
Member No.: 2290



QUOTE (JEN @ Oct 31 2003, 07:07 AM)
QUOTE (neoufo51 @ Oct 31 2003, 02:25 AM)
I DO like your nice ideas though, Jen. Thanks to you and Case, we have a great new lame enc for the foo_record. Good stuff for ripping streaming tracks and sending to friends too foolish to not have an Ogg capable player.

Please dont thank me wink.gif

I don't think its right for me to take credit for it, I just had the idea which i'm sure Case would have made sooner or later even if I didn't mension it smile.gif

If only I didn't learn VB and chose C++ instead tongue.gif

Well of course Case gets all the credit. biggrin.gif

I might had asked myself, but didnt have the guts to. Just acknowledging that you have had some ideas to share and the moxie to ask for something people wanted but never chimed in for.

This post has been edited by neoufo51: Oct 31 2003, 21:49
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Case
post Nov 2 2003, 12:40
Post #14





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2260
Joined: 19-October 01
From: Finland
Member No.: 322



I added some of the suggestions in Recorder v0.2. I hope that auto track splitting isn't necessary, making it would require too many new config options.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JEN
post Nov 2 2003, 12:53
Post #15





Group: Banned
Posts: 1131
Joined: 19-September 02
Member No.: 3407



QUOTE (Case @ Nov 2 2003, 12:40 PM)
I added some of the suggestions in Recorder v0.2. I hope that auto track splitting isn't necessary, making it would require too many new config options.

ohmy.gif blink.gif OMG, its amazing !!!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
naturfreak
post Nov 2 2003, 16:10
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 176
Joined: 16-October 03
Member No.: 9338



Just tried. Great plugin, Case. smile.gif

QUOTE
I hope that auto track splitting isn't necessary, making it would require too many new config options.


IC. But track splitting on button-click would be nice if the inplementation of that feature is possible or not to difficult.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JEN
post Nov 2 2003, 17:48
Post #17





Group: Banned
Posts: 1131
Joined: 19-September 02
Member No.: 3407



Yes, I remember reading about that idea before. If its to time consuming to get the auto track splitting fuction to work then I agree with naturfreak, a simple split button would be good (if you dont mind adding it) so we dont have to press stop and record.

However, the track number will have to be incremented at the same time to avoid the previous track being written over smile.gif

All in all, an excellent plugin biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AtaqueEG
post Nov 2 2003, 19:45
Post #18





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 1336
Joined: 18-November 01
From: Celaya, Guanajuato
Member No.: 478



QUOTE (Case @ Nov 2 2003, 06:40 AM)
I added some of the suggestions in Recorder v0.2. I hope that auto track splitting isn't necessary, making it would require too many new config options.

Thank you very much! smile.gif

You rock! B)


--------------------
I'm the one in the picture, sitting on a giant cabbage in Mexico, circa 1978.
Reseņas de Rock en Espaņol: www.estadogeneral.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
neoufo51
post Nov 3 2003, 01:46
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 489
Joined: 13-June 02
Member No.: 2290



I LOVE the new recorder. Wow, has a nice professional look to it too. Well done, Case!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TurinsRevenge
post Nov 3 2003, 01:52
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 131
Joined: 19-February 03
Member No.: 5074



Very nice. Especially the record levels.

Thanks muchly


--------------------
Master of Fate. By Fate Mastered
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
osmi
post Dec 20 2011, 17:16
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 28-June 11
Member No.: 91902



QUOTE (Case @ Nov 2 2003, 12:40) *
I added some of the suggestions in Recorder v0.2. I hope that auto track splitting isn't necessary, making it would require too many new config options.


Thanks man.
I was looking for a similar plugin for quite some time.
I needed someting that would play linein from my soundcard and stream it through dlna(playback stream capture)
Any support for latest foobar?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Dec 20 2011, 17:30
Post #22





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



QUOTE (osmi @ Dec 20 2011, 16:16) *
Any support for latest foobar?

Did you try it? The latest version was released last year. Perhaps an eight-year-old thread is not the best place to look for up-to-date information.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2014 - 23:31