IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
First EAC install: blue screen
spahn ranch
post Oct 6 2005, 20:59
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 28-April 05
Member No.: 21759



Hi guys, first post.

Wanting to switch from LAME and CDex to FLAC and EAC.

I've found no Q's and A's on this one: I'm trying to install EAC. That's as far as I've come yet with EAC. I get instant blue screen, and the next split second an automatic reboot. No chance to read the blue screen in that split second.

I saw something about possible conflicts with other installed codec software, so I uninstalled the little I had including of course CDex, but that didn't cure the blue screen problem.

If anyone think they might be able to offer help on this, what would you need to know about my system? Win XP. BTW, I'm not the average comupter wiz -- or hadn't you guessed? Still hoping to archive losless and use the PC to boom my tunes.

spahn ranch
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rutra80
post Oct 6 2005, 21:21
Post #2





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 810
Joined: 12-September 03
Member No.: 8821



In System applet from Control Panel you can disable automatic rebooting (somewhere in the Advenced tab) so you can see what's on the blue screen.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
spahn ranch
post Oct 6 2005, 22:08
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 28-April 05
Member No.: 21759



Thanks, rutra80.

Blue screen says:

DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

And it says:

Technical information:
*** STOP: 0X000000D1
*** USBSTOR.SYS-Address T7877616 base at F7877000, Datestamp 3b7d8696


So, I don't know what to make of that, or what may be relevant to the issue and what may not be. I've never had a blue screen before just from trying to install apps; I can't even recall ever having a problem installing anything with XP. The version I'm trying to install is: eac095pb5. That's the latest "tried and true" version, isn't it?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Axon
post Oct 6 2005, 22:12
Post #4





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 1985
Joined: 4-January 04
From: Austin, TX
Member No.: 10933



A crash in usbstor.sys? hmm. Maybe remove all your USB storage devices?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
spahn ranch
post Oct 6 2005, 22:30
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 28-April 05
Member No.: 21759



Axon, thanks for helping out!

The install dialogue pops up now. Whatever harm the USB storage device did, this is still nicer than the blue screen.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
spahn ranch
post Oct 7 2005, 00:14
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 28-April 05
Member No.: 21759



Unbelievable. The DVD-R I was going to use with EAC is apparently the USB device which casues the blue screen when firing up EAC.

:/

spahn ranch
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rutra80
post Oct 7 2005, 00:35
Post #7





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 810
Joined: 12-September 03
Member No.: 8821



QUOTE (spahn ranch @ Oct 6 2005, 11:08 PM)
The version I'm trying to install is: eac095pb5. That's the latest "tried and true" version, isn't it?
*

Nope, the newest version is 095b3. Try the version without CDRDAO package and without installer (just extract the ZIP).
QUOTE (spahn ranch @ Oct 7 2005, 01:14 AM)
Unbelievable. The DVD-R I was going to use with EAC is apparently the USB device which casues the blue screen when firing up EAC.
*

If you got blue screen on installation (not on EAC launch), then maybe it will be working after installation.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
spahn ranch
post Oct 7 2005, 01:16
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 28-April 05
Member No.: 21759



That was it, rutra80. Much obliged!

eac095pb5 wouldn't even look at my drive: it needed to be plugged and recognized on firing up EAC (after EAC installation). Bring on the blue screen.
The new zipper EAC without the CDRDAO package seems to get along with the USB DVD-R.

Again, thanks guys for the help and assistance, I appreciate it!

spahn ranch

--
Edit: typo

This post has been edited by spahn ranch: Oct 7 2005, 01:17
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
daybreaker
post Oct 7 2005, 04:44
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 4-October 05
Member No.: 24874



I have a USB CD burner that I use occasionally, it's faster than my DVD burner. Anyhow, if it is on and connected and I open EAC, I will get a blue screen. Just lettin' you know that I have a similar problem. beer.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
CiTay
post Oct 7 2005, 12:30
Post #10


Administrator


Group: Admin
Posts: 2378
Joined: 22-September 01
Member No.: 3



I used to get a similar problem, and i now believe it was down to ASAPI (the ASPI alternative). Each time when i updated my burner's firmware and the drive was re-detected, i got an instant bluescreen when opening EAC. I now use the Native Interface and it hasn't happened yet. I'm not sure what exactly happened, but you could try to ask on the EAC forum.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
spahn ranch
post Oct 7 2005, 18:16
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 28-April 05
Member No.: 21759



Looks like I'll have to give EAC another shot at the blue screen...

Still in the process of researching before archiving, I've learned that my NEC DVD-R doesn't lead in/lead out.
With a laptop, finding the right camel for the needle eye looks tough: not many listed drives with good EAC specs are external. Well, I've found none yet.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st October 2014 - 15:49