IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
A new resampler DSP for foobar2000, uses resampling routines from SoX effect "rate"
rchrdcrg
post Feb 2 2013, 06:59
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 2-February 13
Member No.: 106352



I just wanted to say a huge HUGE thank you for this. I have some pretty sensitive hearing, and on certain songs this really does bring the sound alive just that much more... I'm currently geeking out to the Panzer Dragoon soundtrack and am in pure aural heaven! I signed up on the HA forums just so I could share my gratitude!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Anakunda
post Feb 3 2013, 19:28
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 508
Joined: 24-November 08
Member No.: 63072



A SoX was updated yesterday. Curious if changes touched resampler routines and if there's ongoing foo_dsp_resampler update...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mjb2006
post Feb 3 2013, 22:00
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 1007
Joined: 12-May 06
From: Colorado, USA
Member No.: 30694



QUOTE (Anakunda @ Feb 3 2013, 11:28) *
A SoX was updated yesterday. Curious if changes touched resampler routines

A quick look at the SoX changelog reveals nothing of note since early November 2008, just prior to the original release of the DSP.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dandruff
post Feb 15 2013, 14:06
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 502
Joined: 20-April 04
Member No.: 13618



Why isn't this component listed on http://www.foobar2000.org/components too? Wouldn't it be better too to deliver it in the new foobar-component package format (so that you can doubleclick the downloaded file for install)?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Donunus
post Jul 4 2013, 10:38
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 226
Joined: 8-July 05
Member No.: 23210



Does this version exist here? http://src.infinitewave.ca/ If so, which one is it exactly since there are a few versions of sox there.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kikke
post Nov 21 2013, 15:07
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 15-March 08
Member No.: 52058



QUOTE (Donunus @ Jul 4 2013, 10:38) *
Does this version exist here? http://src.infinitewave.ca/ If so, which one is it exactly since there are a few versions of sox there.


I have created some test, and results sent to infinitewave.

I found that sox resampler is very good in the sense of impulse fidelity, with 33% phase response and 80% passband (with 0.6a version).
However I only use it for upsample 44.1 kHz materials to 96kHz so the relative small passband is not affect the appreciable region of sound.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tyimo
post Jan 1 2014, 14:53
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 1-January 14
Member No.: 113699



Hi and Happy New Year!

I tried down sampling with the SOX 0.8.3 on my foobar2000 1.1.15 and 1.2.9, but it not works. The "console" screen does not show that work.
I also tried the the built in Resampler PPHS and it is not working either.
I tried the SSRCX and it works correctly.
Could somebody tell me what is the problem with the SoX and the PPHS Resampler???? Are they not compatible with newer foobars?

Tyimo

This post has been edited by Tyimo: Jan 1 2014, 14:54
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Finisterre
post Feb 15 2014, 20:27
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 3-February 14
Member No.: 114325



When ripping tracks from cd to individual FLACtracks using the upsampler to double the sample rate I get the following problem:

Close to the end of each track the sound gets interrupted by a short pause during the fade out of the track. After this 1..2 sec pause I hear the remainder of the fade out and another pause before the next track starts.
When I replay the following track, by directly starting it, I first hear the short fade out of the previous track bofere the intended track starts to play.

Using the latest version of foobar and the resampler dsp, (Original and both mods do the same)
Win 7 64bit

I do not have this problem when using the pphs resampler.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Feb 16 2014, 10:59
Post #34





Group: Developer
Posts: 3730
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



I cannot reproduce this.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ironmine
post Mar 29 2014, 05:20
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 20-January 12
Member No.: 96568



I installed all Sox resampler plugins, but they do now work. My W4S DAC-2 still shows that it's accepting 44.1.

I tried PPHS resampler, it also does not work.

I have Win 7 64 bit and Foobar 1.3.1.

My guess is that the problem is Win 7 64 bit, because before I had Win 7 32 bit and all these resamplers worked.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ironmine
post Mar 29 2014, 05:42
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 20-January 12
Member No.: 96568



QUOTE (ironmine @ Mar 29 2014, 14:20) *
I installed all Sox resampler plugins, but they do now work. My W4S DAC-2 still shows that it's accepting 44.1.

I tried PPHS resampler, it also does not work.

I have Win 7 64 bit and Foobar 1.3.1.

My guess is that the problem is Win 7 64 bit, because before I had Win 7 32 bit and all these resamplers worked.


It looks I've found the culprit:

You have to install the WASAPI plugin and choose it as an output option in the Foobar settings.

Without the WASAPI plugin installed, Windows outputs all the sounds in a format which is currently chosen in the properties of your sound device (format by default) in the Windows Control Panel (where you control all the sound devices).

I hope it helps.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
carz
post Nov 7 2014, 05:28
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 7-November 14
Member No.: 117750



downloaded the files but i think they are corrupted.

Tried to install directly from foobar2000 and "unsupported format or corrupted file"
When unzipping, it show invalid archive.

Can someone advise ?


QUOTE (lvqcl @ Nov 19 2008, 02:11) *
Good & fast resampler based on SoX resampling routines. (several times faster than PPHS Ultra).

0.8.3:
normal version: [attachment=7330:foo_dsp_...er_0.8.3.zip]modified: [attachment=7331:foo_dsp_...od_0.8.3.zip]and [attachment=7332:foo_dsp_...d2_0.8.3.zip]
sources: [attachment=7333:foo_dsp_....8.3_src.rar]


Discussion thread is here.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Nov 8 2014, 09:27
Post #38





Group: Developer
Posts: 3730
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



Clear browser cache and re-download again. OR use another program to download .zip files.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tharkie
post Feb 24 2015, 09:56
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 20-May 08
From: Marseille
Member No.: 53653



Very thank you for your powerfull addon !!!

Thank a lot wink.gif I'm using it for many years now on foobar2000.

Is it possible to add a function to your addon ??? ohmy.gif

I'm listening lot of DVD-A & SACD with samplerate over than CD format (44.1KHz)

And I don't need to use your great addon when I'm playing these kind of song or 24bits/96KHz & 24bits 192KHz music from linnrecords for example wink.gif

Is it possible to add a function that auto disable your addon when listenig music that offer more than 16bits/44.1KHz ?

Thank you

PS : sorry for my bad english, I'm from France...
Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
 


--------------------
i7 3930K@4.4GHz & 16GB & E-MU 1616m+HD650+Cabasse SCS+Class D
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eahm
post Feb 24 2015, 17:14
Post #40





Group: Members
Posts: 1323
Joined: 11-February 12
Member No.: 97076



What's the benefit of real-time up/down sampling? I thought people use these kind of plugins just for converting?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Porcus
post Feb 24 2015, 17:35
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 2306
Joined: 30-November 06
Member No.: 38207



QUOTE (lvqcl @ Nov 8 2014, 09:27) *
OR use another program to download .zip files.


Paradoxially, this is one case where you cannot just paste the download link into fb2k wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Porcus
post Feb 24 2015, 17:38
Post #42





Group: Members
Posts: 2306
Joined: 30-November 06
Member No.: 38207



QUOTE (eahm @ Feb 24 2015, 17:14) *
What's the benefit of real-time up/down sampling?


- Storing a file as-is, rather than transcoding (in particular, concerning lossies)
- Playback on different hardware which might not support the same frequencies.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tharkie
post Feb 24 2015, 19:28
Post #43





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 20-May 08
From: Marseille
Member No.: 53653



QUOTE (eahm @ Feb 24 2015, 17:14) *
What's the benefit of real-time up/down sampling? I thought people use these kind of plugins just for converting?


The benefit is for CD format and add better quality, at least on one point : The DAC work better at 88.2 KHz than 44.2 KHz smile.gif the noise added by DAC is not @ 20 KHz but @ 40 KHz !

You MUST use integer multiplier like 2x or 4x and not upscale from 44.1 KHz to 96 KHz for example, but 44.1 to 88.2.

Why doing this in real time ? Because of size !!!

I can explain it better in French ohmy.gif

Anyway, you don't have to expect quality like HD format wink.gif

This post has been edited by tharkie: Feb 24 2015, 19:38


--------------------
i7 3930K@4.4GHz & 16GB & E-MU 1616m+HD650+Cabasse SCS+Class D
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tharkie
post Feb 24 2015, 19:36
Post #44





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 20-May 08
From: Marseille
Member No.: 53653



QUOTE (ironmine @ Mar 29 2014, 05:42) *
QUOTE (ironmine @ Mar 29 2014, 14:20) *
I installed all Sox resampler plugins, but they do now work. My W4S DAC-2 still shows that it's accepting 44.1.

I tried PPHS resampler, it also does not work.

I have Win 7 64 bit and Foobar 1.3.1.

My guess is that the problem is Win 7 64 bit, because before I had Win 7 32 bit and all these resamplers worked.


It looks I've found the culprit:

You have to install the WASAPI plugin and choose it as an output option in the Foobar settings.

Without the WASAPI plugin installed, Windows outputs all the sounds in a format which is currently chosen in the properties of your sound device (format by default) in the Windows Control Panel (where you control all the sound devices).

I hope it helps.



Or ASIO plugin (I prefer) wink.gif


--------------------
i7 3930K@4.4GHz & 16GB & E-MU 1616m+HD650+Cabasse SCS+Class D
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tharkie
post Mar 8 2015, 20:06
Post #45





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 20-May 08
From: Marseille
Member No.: 53653



biggrin.gif

QUOTE (tharkie @ Feb 24 2015, 09:56) *
Very thank you for your powerfull addon !!!

Thank a lot wink.gif I'm using it for many years now on foobar2000.

Is it possible to add a function to your addon ??? ohmy.gif

I'm listening lot of DVD-A & SACD with samplerate over than CD format (44.1KHz)

And I don't need to use your great addon when I'm playing these kind of song or 24bits/96KHz & 24bits 192KHz music from linnrecords for example wink.gif

Is it possible to add a function that auto disable your addon when listenig music that offer more than 16bits/44.1KHz ?

Thank you

PS : sorry for my bad english, I'm from France...



--------------------
i7 3930K@4.4GHz & 16GB & E-MU 1616m+HD650+Cabasse SCS+Class D
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Mar 8 2015, 20:21
Post #46





Group: Developer
Posts: 3730
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



You can use mod or mod2 versions of this plugin.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st September 2015 - 07:20