IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

17 Pages V  « < 9 10 11 12 13 > »   
Closed TopicStart new topic
foobar2000 0.9.5 beta 9
Marinmo
post Nov 4 2007, 23:50
Post #251





Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 22-April 04
Member No.: 13651



QUOTE (Frank Bicking @ Nov 4 2007, 23:45) *
Hint: Right-click on the status bar.

Too obvious, okay? Thank you so much! smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
thuan
post Nov 5 2007, 01:10
Post #252





Group: Members
Posts: 964
Joined: 10-June 06
Member No.: 31716



QUOTE (picmixer @ Nov 5 2007, 00:05) *
The installer will either be changed so that this option will be greyed out where it really shouldn't be used or some other other option along those lines to warn users of this behaviour.

Please only warn the user, as some ppl know how to deal with UAC and still use foobar with Enable user profile support disabled.

On a side note, if you use Vista with UAC and having problem with certain legacy program writing to protected folders, just install it in a different folder that you created. If it doesn't work at that time (due to Vista inability to virtualize it with VirtualStore folder or more like that legacy program likes to write to other protected folders too), you will have to run it in Administrator Compatibility mode. You will also have problem with programs like to write to HKLM tree in the registry.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ArtMustHurt
post Nov 5 2007, 04:07
Post #253





Group: Members
Posts: 232
Joined: 8-October 04
Member No.: 17570



QUOTE (Chaser @ Oct 28 2007, 13:33) *
I get this crash (picture) as soon as I press some times the next-song (random) button. I already deacitvated quite some components, but had no success yet, finding the culprit.



edit: Problem seems to be gone after updating foo_uie_albumart (http://cherans.bol.ucla.edu/fooplugins.html)

THANK YOU!!! foobar crashed for me before i updated foo_uie_albumart biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foosion
post Nov 5 2007, 08:59
Post #254





Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 4482
Joined: 24-February 03
Member No.: 5153



QUOTE (thuan @ Nov 5 2007, 01:10) *
QUOTE (picmixer @ Nov 5 2007, 00:05) *
The installer will either be changed so that this option will be greyed out where it really shouldn't be used or some other other option along those lines to warn users of this behaviour.

Please only warn the user, as some ppl know how to deal with UAC and still use foobar with Enable user profile support disabled.

Even if the option to disable user profile support will be removed from the installer, it will still be possible to manually remove (or create) the user_profiles_enabled file so no functionality is lost.


--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
drake
post Nov 5 2007, 11:08
Post #255





Group: Members
Posts: 202
Joined: 11-June 06
Member No.: 31727



seems an easy enough question, but once i create a new UI element space (by putting in a splitter, whatever), how do i delete it?

also: how do I make it so that the album art display only shows the now playing track instead of whatever i happen to be clicking on? if people are going to be using the Album List to create playlists and such, they'll be seeing that annoying [multiple items] message pop up waaaaaaay too often.

also: how do i remove the sub-item count from the album list panel? deselecting it in the preferences doesnt seem to do anything.

This post has been edited by drake: Nov 5 2007, 11:12
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fooruncle
post Nov 5 2007, 21:08
Post #256





Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 24-September 06
Member No.: 35565



Some more proposals:
  • Include the properties window font into the font and colors page and make it use the system font by default. The font can already be changed in the menu that hides behind the window icon (hard to find, i changed it about a year ago and it gave me a severe headache when i tried to find the option an hour ago...). Viewed from a usability perspective, the current solution is, well, not too good...
  • Apparently, many people do not like the current buttons. What about switching to the simple white Tango media player icons (fourth line from the bottom in both sets)? They are quite neutral and fit to many visual styles.
  • Talking about matters of taste: I liked the old icon better as well (it has already been mentioned elsewhere). It's harder to recognize the logo now...
  • I already mentioned it, but got no response: What about making the playlist manager create a new playlist if a blank line is double-clicked (like on a blank area of the playlist tab bar). Sorry to mention it again, but I use the manager instead of tabs in my new config and this function would come really handy.

Thanks to all devs for your hard work!
frncle
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
picmixer
post Nov 5 2007, 22:00
Post #257





Group: Members
Posts: 1428
Joined: 10-April 03
Member No.: 5916



QUOTE (fooruncle @ Nov 5 2007, 21:08) *
  • Apparently, many people do not like the current buttons. What about switching to the simple white Tango media player icons (fourth line from the bottom in both sets)? They are quite neutral and fit to many visual styles.


We'll see what we can do about that in the future. Tango icons? Certainly not. Also a matter of personal taste I'd say.

QUOTE (fooruncle @ Nov 5 2007, 21:08) *
  • Talking about matters of taste: I liked the old icon better as well (it has already been mentioned elsewhere). It's harder to recognize the logo now...


This has already been discussed extensively in the 0.9.5 icons thread.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
moredhel
post Nov 5 2007, 22:09
Post #258





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 1-November 06
Member No.: 37056



Just posting to say a big thanks to the developers!

I'm loving the new ui configuration abilities, I prefer it by a mile to columns ui smile.gif


--------------------
Registered Gnu/Linux user 426057
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cosmo
post Nov 6 2007, 00:00
Post #259





Group: Members
Posts: 913
Joined: 10-January 05
Member No.: 18979



Bug ?

The playlist switcher toolbar seems to always draw a vert scrollbar whether the list is scrollable or not.

foobar2000 0.9.5 beta 3
Default UI
Windows Vista

This post has been edited by Cosmo: Nov 6 2007, 00:01
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
thuan
post Nov 6 2007, 01:51
Post #260





Group: Members
Posts: 964
Joined: 10-June 06
Member No.: 31716



@Cosmo: weird, no such problem over here with the same configuration.

EDIT: Sorry, it does happen. I was looking at the playlist switcher element not the toolbar.

This post has been edited by thuan: Nov 6 2007, 03:26
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ArtMustHurt
post Nov 6 2007, 03:39
Post #261





Group: Members
Posts: 232
Joined: 8-October 04
Member No.: 17570



how can i remove the thick borders between the fields?

This post has been edited by ArtMustHurt: Nov 7 2007, 01:22
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
steliyan
post Nov 6 2007, 18:09
Post #262





Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 30-November 06
Member No.: 38211



I have problem with new UI and specificly with the custom columns.
Those aren't working: %playback_time% and %playback_time_remaining%. They are OK in status bar.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foosion
post Nov 6 2007, 18:45
Post #263





Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 4482
Joined: 24-February 03
Member No.: 5153



QUOTE (steliyan @ Nov 6 2007, 18:09) *
I have problem with new UI and specificly with the custom columns.
Those aren't working: %playback_time% and %playback_time_remaining%. They are OK in status bar.

Not a bug, that behaviour is intended. Playlist columns do not display that kind of dynamic playback information.


--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Paweł
post Nov 7 2007, 13:21
Post #264





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 28-August 07
From: Augustów
Member No.: 46562



In FLAC 1.2.1 changelog I found this:
QUOTE
Ogg FLAC format:
This is not a format change, but changed default extension for Ogg FLAC from .ogg to .oga, according to new Xiph specification (SF #1762492).


So fb2k should support Ogg FLAC files with oga extension
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Silverbolt
post Nov 7 2007, 16:00
Post #265





Group: Members
Posts: 319
Joined: 9-October 03
Member No.: 9218



I have a suggestion -- you can delete playlists by middle-clicking the tab, but it deletes immediately on mousedown; for such a destructive action, I think it'd be better if it deleted on mousedown+mouseup instead (feels more natural imo and gives the user a chance to abort). Thanks for the consideration and keep up the great work.


--------------------
f to c to f to c
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
plukin
post Nov 7 2007, 18:37
Post #266





Group: Members
Posts: 90
Joined: 30-May 07
From: Munich,Bavaria
Member No.: 43873



Ah, so i have a similar suggestion:
like in firefox, foobar could handle a middle click to a free area in the playlist tabs to restore the last deleted playlist! at the moment it just make a new one (just like a double click)
just a thought wink.gif

This post has been edited by plukin: Nov 7 2007, 18:38
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
drake
post Nov 8 2007, 03:25
Post #267





Group: Members
Posts: 202
Joined: 11-June 06
Member No.: 31727



QUOTE (drake @ Nov 5 2007, 05:08) *
seems an easy enough question, but once i create a new UI element space (by putting in a splitter, whatever), how do i delete it?

also: how do I make it so that the album art display only shows the now playing track instead of whatever i happen to be clicking on? if people are going to be using the Album List to create playlists and such, they'll be seeing that annoying [multiple items] message pop up waaaaaaay too often.

also: how do i remove the sub-item count from the album list panel? deselecting it in the preferences doesnt seem to do anything.

any ideas? these are pretty key elements even considering the focus on usability over appearance.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foosion
post Nov 8 2007, 12:45
Post #268





Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 4482
Joined: 24-February 03
Member No.: 5153



The first one has been answered before: cut the element you want to keep and paste it in the place of the splitter. Alternatively cut the splitter without pasting it anywhere and add something completely different.

The other two things have been on the known feature proposals list for quite some time already, i.e. it is not possible to do that at the moment.


--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
morishani
post Nov 9 2007, 14:32
Post #269





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 12-May 06
Member No.: 30712



0.9.5 is amazing.

But one thing I would like to be restored from the old version : return the old volume bar setting, so it will be "log" and not "linear"
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
viktor
post Nov 9 2007, 18:50
Post #270





Group: Members
Posts: 302
Joined: 17-November 06
Member No.: 37682



hi,

could you please include an "old playlist format" option?

coz i don't have tags in my tracks. the "File Name" option works for single files, but if i load a cuesheet, this is obviously not the way, coz all tracks on the album will have the same name. so i'd have to switch between file name and artist-title all the time

thanks in advance
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fooruncle
post Nov 9 2007, 18:59
Post #271





Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 24-September 06
Member No.: 35565



QUOTE (morishani @ Nov 9 2007, 14:32) *
0.9.5 is amazing.


Yes, amazing it is! smile.gif

I just played around with my config again in order to create a more compact layout. Doing this, I realized that two or three things might facilitate gui configuration a lot:
  • Include window sizes into exported config files. Very often, clean display of column widths and album art viewer sizes depend on pixel-exact window sizes, so it might be useful to include them into the export files. if someone (like me) plans to switch between two different views, (s)he doesn't have to do the resizing all the time...
  • Closely related: I'd like to have an option to switch between two or more different configs (with different window sizes, see above). In a way, that's an evolution of the scratchbox approach..
  • Last but not least, I'd love to be able lock the window size completely. I know I can lock the width of elements seperated by splitter bars, but I can still change the window size along the splitters (Do you get what I try to say?)
That's all for today,
frncle

This post has been edited by fooruncle: Nov 9 2007, 19:01
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Frank Bicking
post Nov 9 2007, 19:08
Post #272





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 1833
Joined: 24-July 02
From: Berlin, Germany
Member No.: 2776



QUOTE (fooruncle @ Nov 9 2007, 18:59) *
Closely related: I'd like to have an option to switch between two or more different configs

Use Theme files. Preferences, Default User Interface, Import/Export Theme.

If they only contain layout or color settings and are stored in the themes subfolder, they will also be listed in the Quick Setup dialog.

This post has been edited by Frank Bicking: Nov 9 2007, 19:15
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fooruncle
post Nov 9 2007, 19:26
Post #273





Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 24-September 06
Member No.: 35565



Thanks for your quick reply!

QUOTE (Frank Bicking @ Nov 9 2007, 19:08) *
QUOTE (fooruncle @ Nov 9 2007, 18:59) *
Closely related: I'd like to have an option to switch between two or more different configs

Use Theme files. Preferences, Default User Interface, Import/Export Theme.

That's exactly what I do for the time being. wink.gif

QUOTE
If they only contain layout or color settings and are stored in the themes subfolder, they will also be listed in the Quick Setup dialog.

Unfortunately, they contain more then this (all boxes checked). Since configs containing all the information will probably be exchanged quite often here, maybe it's worth adding a 'complete configs' window in the quick setup? Or a submenu for those, even better!

QUOTE
QUOTE
Last but not least, I'd love to be able lock the window size completely.

Lock both splitter panes of the top-level splitter.

Hmm, I've only got one left/right splitter in my layout. [My Config] [My 'Shrinked' Config] Both panes are already locked (width only), but I can still change the height. Since my two configs have different heights, I have to adjust it whenever I switch...

Enjoy your weekend,
frncle

This post has been edited by fooruncle: Nov 9 2007, 19:44
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
shlomomofo
post Nov 10 2007, 00:28
Post #274





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 19-May 05
Member No.: 22155



QUOTE (sPeziFisH @ Oct 31 2007, 17:54) *
Is it possible to process files per 'Automatically Fill Values'-pattern directly by context-menu or at least keyboard-shortcut, comparable with the masstagger-scripts ?
The 'Automatically Fill Values'-panel is nice and has some nice options, but sometimes you want to go the direct way, without click, click, click, click. At least 2 clicks and to much selection on the way IMHO.

+1 new beta is sweet (very very sweet), but i do miss being able to hit tagging scripts from the context menu.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AgeOfPanic
post Nov 10 2007, 01:51
Post #275





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 16-January 07
Member No.: 39701



Just wanted to say thanks for the new version. This one has me switched over completely to foobar now. Just wanted to suggest two things. When you deselect the program, but foobar is still visible, the Album Art of the currently playing song disappears and it says No Selection. I think it would be nicer if the picture would just stay. Furthermore an option to remove the splitter bars once you have everything set up would be nice.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

17 Pages V  « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » 
Closed TopicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th December 2014 - 23:05