IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
editing mp3 files
h2de5
post Dec 23 2012, 12:26
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 26-January 12
Member No.: 96706



Hi Guys,

I need to do some basic editing of some mp3 files..i.e. cut out an intro of a file.

I normally use adobe soundbooth cs4. But this is a really heavy program, that really sucks the juice from the computer.

I was wondering if there was a better (and lighter) program?. I just need to do basic cutting out of files then saving them thats all.

I also need to make tracks of long MP3s...eg. 5 or 10 minutes intervals and was told MP3 DIRECT CUT was the best do it in. Can i use this program for my above question as well? is it advised?

any help well be greatly appreciated as always.

Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Lhazfarg
post Dec 23 2012, 13:27
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 23-December 12
Member No.: 105354



i use mp3directcut for that purpose. I dont know, if this really does, what it pronises, i.e. not to decode and encode the mp3, but it works fine for simple cutting.

Best regards and a merry christmas.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Apesbrain
post Dec 23 2012, 15:05
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 473
Joined: 3-January 04
Member No.: 10915



QUOTE (Lhazfarg @ Dec 23 2012, 07:27) *
i use mp3directcut for that purpose. I dont know, if this really does, what it pronises, i.e. not to decode and encode the mp3...

Yes, it does as it promises. Other free options are Mp3splt and musiCutter. For cutting and fading in/out the intro/ending of a MP3 file, take a look at mpTrim.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Seren
post Dec 23 2012, 17:55
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 1-November 12
Member No.: 104244



I used mp3directcut but sometimes it would come up with warnings when I tried using the -z option in mp3 re-packer...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ErectX
post Dec 23 2012, 18:15
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 8-September 10
Member No.: 83706



QUOTE (Seren @ Dec 23 2012, 08:55) *
I used mp3directcut but sometimes it would come up with warnings when I tried using the -z option in mp3 re-packer...

The problem with MP3 is it has a bit reservoir that crosses frame boundaries, and directly chopping frames that have interframe dependencies causes audio glitches and problems that tools will complain about (plus the first few frames of a cut mp3 will refer to non-existent frames). mp3directcut does nothing to address this, although it could pull all reservoir data out of previous frames and make a large VBR frame at the start of an edit.

If you already have mp3packer, then I would suggest you use the option:
mp3packer -b 320 -r foo.mp3
to expand the file to 320kbps and minimize the reservoir. Analysis with EncSpot (Max. Reservoir) will tell you if it was possible to eliminate all cases of reservoir use. Then do your editing on the -vbr output file and repack the edited file back to a minimal bitrate.

mp3directcut also does fading and gain without recompressing audio (modifying just the 1.5dB-step gain of the MP3 frame).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Seren
post Dec 23 2012, 23:24
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 1-November 12
Member No.: 104244



QUOTE (ErectX @ Dec 24 2012, 01:15) *
If you already have mp3packer, then I would suggest you use the option:
Then do your editing on the -vbr output file

Umm... do you mean CBR or am I missing something?
What I'm doing so far: -b 320 -r, then edit, then -z -f -u
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
h2de5
post Dec 24 2012, 14:41
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 26-January 12
Member No.: 96706



thanks for all the replies.

Ok to shed more light.

The files are audio books (only speech)

the intro is just voice, they are not connected to the main audio, there is a good gap between the intro and the beginning of the audio.

Ive taken great caution to have these ripped at an industry standard using variable bit rate using EAC with LAME encoder (as was advised on this forum).

So now i need to just cut off the intro and MAYBE replace with another.

So MP3direct is the best option?

what bit rate do I save it in? can i keep the variable rate which they were ripped?

How does Adobe Soundbooth fit in all this?

other then it being very heavy, i noticed sometimes when i save a file, it might repeat the last few seconds of the file or even have a skip or two. I dont have time to check all the files after saving thats why i want the best program and most reliable from the start.

I look forward to your thoughts smile.gif

Thank you in advanced
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Seren
post Dec 24 2012, 15:26
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 1-November 12
Member No.: 104244



QUOTE
So now i need to just cut off the intro and MAYBE replace with another.

I'm not sure how to join files using directcut (if even possible) but there are many programs that should do it losslessly.
QUOTE
So MP3direct is the best option?

I'm not sure, but it seems the simplest I've used so far, I'd like to know if there's a better alternative though.
QUOTE
what bit rate do I save it in? can i keep the variable rate which they were ripped?

Well if you see the above posts, you'll want to losslessly pack it using mp3packer (will make cbr sources variable). There is no option to save it as a certain bitrate unless you encode it (which you want to avoid stringly).
QUOTE
How does Adobe Soundbooth fit in all this?

I haven't used it, but for something as small as cutting and joining parts, there is no point in using it.
I'm quite certain it can't do any lossy editing losslely so I'd try to avoid using it.

Btw I haven't seen any errors doing what I did in my last post =)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
h2de5
post Dec 30 2012, 13:27
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 26-January 12
Member No.: 96706




Hi You said:

There is no option to save it as a certain bitrate unless you encode it (which you want to avoid stringly).

so if i do the editing i need to do, what are the steps to saving it so i dont "encode" it?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Seren
post Dec 30 2012, 15:28
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 1-November 12
Member No.: 104244



QUOTE (h2de5 @ Dec 30 2012, 20:27) *
Hi You said:

There is no option to save it as a certain bitrate unless you encode it (which you want to avoid stringly).

so if i do the editing i need to do, what are the steps to saving it so i dont "encode" it?

Once you're done editing, just go File-->Save complete audio.
After that you'll want to use mp3packer to remove any necessary bits, I use '-z -f -u "input.mp3" "inputBackup.mp3"' parameters which will replace the file you just saved with the repacked version and make a backup using the original file you saved after editing it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
h2de5
post Jan 1 2013, 01:19
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 26-January 12
Member No.: 96706



OK.

Is there any place were i can learn how to use mp3 direct cut?

im a first timer smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
h2de5
post Jan 1 2013, 01:22
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 26-January 12
Member No.: 96706



i specifically want to know how to cut a long mp3 file into 5 or 10 minutes parts..? i assume there is some quick way to do it?

thanks in advanced
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Seren
post Jan 1 2013, 02:01
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 1-November 12
Member No.: 104244



QUOTE (h2de5 @ Jan 1 2013, 08:19) *
OK.
Is there any place were i can learn how to use mp3 direct cut?
im a first timer smile.gif

Well it comes with a file called Manual.htm which tells you practically everything...

QUOTE (h2de5 @ Jan 1 2013, 08:22) *
i specifically want to know how to cut a long mp3 file into 5 or 10 minutes parts..? i assume there is some quick way to do it?
thanks in advanced

I've never done it before now but it took me 20seconds to figure it out...
Special --> Auto-cue and set how long you want each part to go for then when your done go "Save Split".
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AndyH-ha
post Jan 1 2013, 03:53
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 2204
Joined: 31-August 05
Member No.: 24222



Since I find cutting words distasteful, i.e. the first part of the word in file n, the second part in file n+1, I always place each cue is some specific place I choose (place then "cut"). This means the length of individual files varies by a second or two, sometimes as much as 10 seconds. I like the results better but if one is too lazy, perhaps automating it is acceptable.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
h2de5
post Jan 15 2013, 05:57
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 26-January 12
Member No.: 96706



hi again.

OK. So i did the "Special --> Auto-cue and set how long you want each part to go for then when your done go "Save Split""

it seems to save the file in the original way i have them.. eg. they still have a variable bit rate just looks like it split the files (as i wanted) - not sure about this encoding issue Serene mentioned...?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
h2de5
post Jan 15 2013, 06:01
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 26-January 12
Member No.: 96706



also i put 8 sec intervals. but the audio saved in blocks of 10-11 min blocks.. is that normal?

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Seren
post Jan 15 2013, 23:17
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 1-November 12
Member No.: 104244



QUOTE (h2de5 @ Jan 15 2013, 13:01) *
OK. So i did the "Special --> Auto-cue and set how long you want each part to go for then when your done go "Save Split""
it seems to save the file in the original way i have them.. eg. they still have a variable bit rate just looks like it split the files (as i wanted) - not sure about this encoding issue Serene mentioned...?
also i put 8 sec intervals. but the audio saved in blocks of 10-11 min blocks.. is that normal?

Well if you're just splitting them it may not be a problem but sometimes when editing with mp3DirectCut an outputted file would complain of some error in mp3 re-packer. While maximizing reserve --> editing --> mp3 re-packer using -z hasn't displayed an error.
I don't think you put in the right times since it worked for me with 2m slits.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd July 2014 - 03:19