IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Closed TopicStart new topic
Please ... foobar for mac
Firestarter001
post Aug 14 2010, 06:48
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 27-December 09
Member No.: 76400



hello my friends!!
i switched to a mac recently and not be able to run foobar is a very big pain sad.gif

please support osx, foobar is unique and un-replaceable

thinking even to re-switch to windows cause of that crying.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Robertina
post Aug 14 2010, 14:43
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1306
Joined: 4-January 09
Member No.: 65169



It exists a solution, though I don't know how up to date this project is and how useful it would be for you in detail (I don't own Apple devices).

If I remember correctly Peter doesn't intend to develop foobar2000 for operating systems other than Windows.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
frogworth
post Aug 14 2010, 16:06
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 169
Joined: 30-December 09
Member No.: 76511



I run an entire virtual machine on my Mac (in VMware, but Parallels or VirtuaBox would do) running Windows, simply in order to have foobar.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dud3
post Aug 14 2010, 16:07
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 31-May 09
Member No.: 70284



QUOTE (Robertina @ Aug 14 2010, 15:43) *
If I remember correctly Peter doesn't intend to develop foobar2000 for operating systems other than Windows.

why is that ?
I have ubuntu on my computer too and I really wish there was an audio player doing half of what foobar does. whenever that happens there won't be many reasons justifying for me keeping windows
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dhromed
post Aug 14 2010, 19:40
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1314
Joined: 16-February 08
From: NL
Member No.: 51347



QUOTE (dud3 @ Aug 14 2010, 17:07) *
QUOTE (Robertina @ Aug 14 2010, 15:43) *
If I remember correctly Peter doesn't intend to develop foobar2000 for operating systems other than Windows.

why is that ?


Because cross-platform development of robust software is no small matter. Peter doesn't exactly have the same kind of resources that, say, Adobe has, and even their software clearly betrays the Mac origins when on Windows, and doesn't have a Linux version*


*) sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
shakey_snake
post Aug 14 2010, 20:19
Post #6





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 4322
Joined: 1-November 06
From: Cincinnati
Member No.: 37036



foobar2000's development is tied very closely to the win32 APIs that are provided by Windows. Programing foobar2000 on different platforms would basically require writing entirely new applications for those platforms.

It's just not going to happen for the same reasons it has never happened. Feel free to search for "linux" "foobar" "Mac" "win32" "OS X" "Apple" or some combination thereof to read more threads talking about this if you're really interested.

Thread Closed

This post has been edited by shakey_snake: Aug 14 2010, 20:20


--------------------
elevatorladylevitateme
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Closed TopicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th September 2014 - 19:17