IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
EAC v1 beta 3 doesnt read title/artist
hondochica
post Aug 4 2012, 20:05
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 17-May 11
Member No.: 90736



Greetings;

I recently upgraded my EAC software to the latest and greatest V1.0 beta 3; configured everything according to rec's on various hydrogenaudio pages - and the program does not seem to be reading the title or artist of the cd; or the title of the tracks. Don't know what's up. Upgraded from V0.99 - haven't used the software in over a year - and never really used it to begin with - just never got around to this little project! But the previous version I had read the cd title, artist and tracks.

Any idea what's up?

Thanks

Kelly
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
trout
post Aug 4 2012, 21:18
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 425
Joined: 26-March 09
Member No.: 68400



QUOTE
... the program does not seem to be reading the title or artist of the cd ...

It's not reading it from where? Are you speaking of discs that are known to have the info stored as CD-Text, or should the info be gathered from a local or online database? Maybe you previously had the program set up to automatically fetch the info online. In which case you may want to enable:

EAC Options >> General tab >> On unknown CDs, >> automatically access online freedb database

And maybe also configure: freedb/Database Options

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Apesbrain
post Aug 4 2012, 21:36
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 499
Joined: 3-January 04
From: East Coast, USA
Member No.: 10915



You may be using old settings that no longer work with b3:
http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?ti...AC_placeholders

If you are encoding to FLAC, default commandline options are:

CODE
-6 -V -T "ARTIST=%artist%" -T "TITLE=%title%" -T "ALBUM=%albumtitle%" -T "DATE=%year%" -T "TRACKNUMBER=%tracknr%" -T "GENRE=%genre%" -T "COMMENT=%comment%" -T "BAND=%albuminterpret%" -T "COMPOSER=%composer%" %haslyrics%--tag-from-file=LYRICS="%lyricsfile%"%haslyrics% -T "DISCNUMBER=%cdnumber%" -T "TOTALDISCS=%totalcds%" -T "TOTALTRACKS=%numtracks%" %hascover%--picture="%coverfile%"%hascover% %source% -o %dest%

If using this commandline, untick the box that says "Add ID3 tag".

Easiest way to fix this is to run the "Configuration Wizard" under the "EAC" menu item.

This post has been edited by Apesbrain: Aug 4 2012, 21:40
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hondochica
post Aug 4 2012, 21:40
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 17-May 11
Member No.: 90736



Gee . . . like I said - haven't used this software in a year - never really knew how to use it in the first place!! I downloaded the software - manually configured to rip to .flac and all seemed well - with the old version - I stuck a cd in the drive and EAC went to work! Now when I stick a cd in, and I've tried 3, EAC (new version) doesn't read the title, artist or track titles; it just tells me how long each track is. Now, Real Player will play the same cd and it knows the title, artist and all the track titles. so . . . I don't think I had "unknown cds . . . " checked in the previous version of EAC.

Kelly
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hondochica
post Aug 4 2012, 21:48
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 17-May 11
Member No.: 90736



Greetings Apesbrain;

Just saw your note: I copied the command line you provided; unchecked "Add ID3tag" and still no luck.

BTW - you had sent me a personal message last year when I was on another HA forum trying to figure all this out the first time - your message recommended I try Musicbee - having just found your message (I didn't know I had 'personal' messages on this website) I am wondering if this is still a reasonable alternative. Does Musicbee do 'accurate' rips? (yes - still a newbie - life intervenes!) and thanks (though much delayed) for your message!

This post has been edited by hondochica: Aug 4 2012, 21:49
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
A_Man_Eating_Duc...
post Aug 5 2012, 05:11
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 943
Joined: 21-December 01
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 705



If you want something super simple to securely rip your disks, try CUERipper thats included in CUETools.


--------------------
Who are you and how did you get in here ?
I'm a locksmith, I'm a locksmith.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Aug 5 2012, 16:31
Post #7





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Neither of your responses acknowledge troutís post or whether you have followed the suggestions therein.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hondochica
post Aug 13 2012, 04:42
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 17-May 11
Member No.: 90736



Greetings all;

Was out of town last week - back at this!

In response:

Trout: Don't think I had "on unknown cds . . " checked in previous version; but had freedb configured already per you links - went back and checked this box - no change . . . .

Well . . wait . . - went back and played with the program s'more while drafting this . . . Got the info I needed when I hit the 'freedb' button - then everything was filled in. Funny - I thought EAC would do this automatically since I have freedb enabled and configured etc. Apparently the cd's I tried didn't have the info written to the CD - I didn't know this! but hey - IT WORKS!!!!! and that's all that matters

Thanks so much for you help!

Oh - and 'man-eating-duc' . . . thanks for that suggestion - I'll take a look at it .

Kelly

This post has been edited by hondochica: Aug 13 2012, 04:43
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th December 2014 - 23:19