IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Closed TopicStart new topic
Foobar Install Disaster!, Installation of Foobar & Config of Components (locked: see TOS #5)
Foobar Flubber
post Dec 7 2012, 21:12
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 7-December 12
Member No.: 105038



Hi all,

I'm brand new here and chose a username based on my initial experience with the foobar player.

I can get into the library and view my components, but can't do nuttin with them!

All I ask is to be walked, step by step, into getting everything straightened out. My OS is Windows Vista and I have plenty of memory.

Thanks in advance!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandrine
post Dec 7 2012, 23:04
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 320
Joined: 2-July 10
Member No.: 81991



QUOTE (Foobar Flubber @ Dec 7 2012, 22:12) *
All I ask is to be walked, step by step, into getting everything straightened out.

How about you start reading a bit first, especially the Wiki and then come and ask some specific questions. If you can't make the time, chances are, somebody else can't either - we're all volunteers.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Foobar Flubber
post Dec 8 2012, 00:08
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 7-December 12
Member No.: 105038



QUOTE (Sandrine @ Dec 7 2012, 17:04) *
QUOTE (Foobar Flubber @ Dec 7 2012, 22:12) *
All I ask is to be walked, step by step, into getting everything straightened out.

How about you start reading a bit first, especially the Wiki and then come and ask some specific questions. If you can't make the time, chances are, somebody else can't either - we're all volunteers.



I figured out a "go-around": I removed the components from the component folder via windows and copied them to an external folder on my desktop. I then imported them back in and they are all active. The problem with the Dynamic range meter is that it expired back in 2011 - basically that whole pleasurizemusic website hasn't been touched since 2011, so I guess I missed the bus on the DR meter!

This post has been edited by Foobar Flubber: Dec 8 2012, 00:09
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cynic
post Dec 8 2012, 01:02
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 6-March 07
Member No.: 41244



Does version 1.1.1 not work? It still does for me.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Foobar Flubber
post Dec 8 2012, 16:17
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 7-December 12
Member No.: 105038



QUOTE (Cynic @ Dec 7 2012, 19:02) *
Does version 1.1.1 not work? It still does for me.


Nope!

I checked their site for other versions could not find them. When I attempt to run the meter on a song by right clicking that track name it says the DR meter was "set to expire in 2011... an update is forthcoming".


Sucks to be the Foobar Flubber!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
yanni
post Dec 8 2012, 16:58
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 85
Joined: 3-June 06
Member No.: 31415



QUOTE (Foobar Flubber @ Dec 8 2012, 16:17) *
QUOTE (Cynic @ Dec 7 2012, 19:02) *
Does version 1.1.1 not work? It still does for me.

Nope!
I checked their site for other versions could not find them.

Have you tried it? dry.gif
This isn't the same version as on pleasurizemusic.com (which only offers an older one), and it shouldn't have that limitation. If unsure, check your version under Preferences->Components.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Foobar Flubber
post Dec 8 2012, 18:01
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 7-December 12
Member No.: 105038



QUOTE (yanni @ Dec 8 2012, 10:58) *
QUOTE (Foobar Flubber @ Dec 8 2012, 16:17) *
QUOTE (Cynic @ Dec 7 2012, 19:02) *
Does version 1.1.1 not work? It still does for me.

Nope!
I checked their site for other versions could not find them.

Have you tried it? dry.gif
This isn't the same version as on pleasurizemusic.com (which only offers an older one), and it shouldn't have that limitation. If unsure, check your version under Preferences->Components.


Where can I find it?

(told you, need my hand held!) lol

The version I have installed is the only one visible on Pleasurize - 1.0.0 - the one I downloaded yesterday.

This post has been edited by Foobar Flubber: Dec 8 2012, 18:03
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DotNoir
post Dec 8 2012, 18:03
Post #8





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 250
Joined: 10-April 03
From: Tampere, Finland
Member No.: 5911



Try clicking the link Cynic provided on his post (hint, it's the text 1.1.1)...


--------------------
Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Foobar Flubber
post Dec 8 2012, 18:07
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 7-December 12
Member No.: 105038



Don't ask how - I got 1.1.1 working. Just the analysis part, not the flashy meters. How do I get those working?

Folks: I kick butt as a DAW user, but when it comes to installing stuff and plugins I'm about as helpful as ten thumbs! wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cynic
post Dec 8 2012, 20:51
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 6-March 07
Member No.: 41244



There are no flashy meters with this version, you just get the ability to write a log file and tag tracks and albums with their respective DR values. These and other options are configurable under Preferences > Advanced > Tools > Dynamic Range Meter.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Foobar Flubber
post Dec 8 2012, 21:03
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 7-December 12
Member No.: 105038



QUOTE (Cynic @ Dec 8 2012, 14:51) *
There are no flashy meters with this version, you just get the ability to write a log file and tag tracks and albums with their respective DR values. These and other options are configurable under Preferences > Advanced > Tools > Dynamic Range Meter.


Too bad. I was actually surprised by some of the readings I got for random mp3 files of 1970s songs. Up to DR16! For stuff since 2000, average DR had been DR6. Katy Perry's "California Gurlz" is a standout for a 2010s era CHR track: DR10! And it sure sounds that way, very refreshing.

Unrelated, but the audio converter is very bare-bones, and in MP3 mode is variable-bitrate only.

I use neither VBR or Joint-stereo in any mp3s I create or rip from CDs.

This post has been edited by Foobar Flubber: Dec 8 2012, 21:05
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Closed TopicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th December 2014 - 07:39