IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Musepack SV8 beta, from 23.11.2007
capma
post Nov 26 2007, 19:49
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 2-January 07
From: Republic of Srps
Member No.: 39225



Download

Winamp plugin included.


--------------------
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Seed
post Dec 3 2007, 14:54
Post #2


Musepack Project Coordinator


Group: Developer
Posts: 161
Joined: 24-June 02
Member No.: 2385



The latest version is here

Keep in mind that the encoder binary is not as optimized as in the official beta package. This archive has an updated mpcdec which I advise to use instead of the older one.


--------------------
And if Warhol's a genius, what am I? A speck of lint on the ***** of an alien
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RadScorpion
post Dec 9 2007, 22:01
Post #3





Group: Developer
Posts: 36
Joined: 16-May 03
From: Slovakia
Member No.: 6655



Oh. nice. Haven't been around for quite some time.

I think I'm gonna start by writing a nice DirectShow filter for SV8.
Be right back.

Igor


--------------------
have the force, read the source
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RadScorpion
post Dec 13 2007, 23:58
Post #4





Group: Developer
Posts: 36
Joined: 16-May 03
From: Slovakia
Member No.: 6655



By the way. I have established a small blog website to publish some free tools and software which I try to update on a regular basis so to stay up to date you can visit this website from time to time.

http://blog.monogram.sk/janos/

Igor.


--------------------
have the force, read the source
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Squeller
post Dec 24 2007, 11:46
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 2351
Joined: 28-August 02
Member No.: 3218



Those mpcenc.exe compiles do nothing on my pentium3/500/xp machine. Fb2k converter makes no progress and tells about 0.00x speed. CPU is idling. The last compile which works here is from 11-13-2006.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Seed
post Dec 24 2007, 18:56
Post #6


Musepack Project Coordinator


Group: Developer
Posts: 161
Joined: 24-June 02
Member No.: 2385



What do you mean by "Those mpcenc.exe compiles"? I tested the one from musepack_bin_20071201.zip as well as the official SV8 mpcenc on a P3@800 Mhz with Windows XP and there's no problem. What parameters do you use for mpcenc in foobar?


--------------------
And if Warhol's a genius, what am I? A speck of lint on the ***** of an alien
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Squeller
post Dec 25 2007, 11:49
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 2351
Joined: 28-August 02
Member No.: 3218



Hmm. I tested both mpcenc.exe from the zip's above. I renamed them to mppenc.exe and put it into the fb2k directory. I used the fb2k (latest beta) internal slider setting q(8) for musepack, which is:

Encoder: mppenc.exe
Command line: "--silent --xlevel --quality 8 - %d"

In fb2k advanced preferences I set the converter priority to 6, same result. Ugh, same with my pentium 4 machine. I reckon something in fb2k's internal musepack command line does not work with the latest compiles...

EDIT: It works without the "--xlevel"

This post has been edited by Squeller: Dec 25 2007, 11:56
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Seed
post Jan 2 2008, 03:24
Post #8


Musepack Project Coordinator


Group: Developer
Posts: 161
Joined: 24-June 02
Member No.: 2385



If anyone finds other issues with SV8 playback (or encoding), please post about it. We're interested in fixing and finalizing the specs ASAP

Happy New Year smile.gif


--------------------
And if Warhol's a genius, what am I? A speck of lint on the ***** of an alien
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Antonski
post Sep 27 2008, 22:55
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 204
Joined: 8-October 01
Member No.: 250



Latest build using GCC for Windows is here .
~
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
capma
post Sep 27 2008, 23:24
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 2-January 07
From: Republic of Srps
Member No.: 39225



Thanks smile.gif


--------------------
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pike84
post Dec 26 2008, 08:26
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 121
Joined: 6-July 03
From: Finland
Member No.: 7590



Just tried the SV8 for the first time, and I was surprised to notice that the encoding speed was actually slower than with the previous SV7 build. I used the one from the pack named "musepack_bin_20071201.zip", since the link to the newer one that Antonski posted is dead.

I'm on XP Pro, and my processor is Intel's Core2Duo E7300. I got ~37x speed with the older SV7 version, but ~33x with the SV8 one.


--------------------
XMPlay rocks! www.un4seen.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
-Nepomuk-
post Dec 26 2008, 10:08
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 20-November 02
From: Germany
Member No.: 3824



I have been using musepak a few years ago and was surprised about the quality.
but now, lame and aac is on a high quality level and musepak hasnt got much support.

there is no need to use it anymore.
developers of musepack should try to code a free or open source aac-encoder.
dont waste your time on musepak.
its death.

just look at this forum. there were only a few new topics related to musepak, the last year.

This post has been edited by -Nepomuk-: Dec 26 2008, 10:11
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pike84
post Dec 26 2008, 16:25
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 121
Joined: 6-July 03
From: Finland
Member No.: 7590



Sure, there's generally no need to use any specific format, since there are many alternatives, but why shouldn't musepack be used? It's still a great format.

Besides, even if this was just a project of a couple of guys trying to code something resembling an audio codec, why would you care? Do you have a reason to degrade musepack?


--------------------
XMPlay rocks! www.un4seen.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
а.п.т.
post Feb 22 2009, 17:46
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 25-January 09
Member No.: 65946



QUOTE (Pike84 @ Dec 26 2008, 09:26) *
Just tried the SV8 for the first time, and I was surprised to notice that the encoding speed was actually slower than with the previous SV7 build. I used the one from the pack named "musepack_bin_20071201.zip", since the link to the newer one that Antonski posted is dead.

I'm on XP Pro, and my processor is Intel's Core2Duo E7300. I got ~37x speed with the older SV7 version, but ~33x with the SV8 one.

You can try some newer build, although I doubt it will be faster. Since the format is not finalized, I guess it is not optimized for speed yet.
Anyway, the speed is not the most important with Musepack, isn't it?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
UVSM
post Dec 2 2009, 01:15
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 8-October 09
Member No.: 73806



Why it is impossible to transcode Musepack SV8 in MP3, WAV and other formats?
The coding device gives out an error...
unsure.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Antonski
post Dec 3 2009, 08:31
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 204
Joined: 8-October 01
Member No.: 250



QUOTE (UVSM @ Dec 2 2009, 02:15) *
Why it is impossible to transcode Musepack SV8 in MP3, WAV and other formats?
The coding device gives out an error...
unsure.gif

What coding device?
There is no problem with Foobar2000, MusicBee and Xrecode. Maybe you try to utilize some older software that doesn't support SV8.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
UVSM
post Dec 7 2009, 18:08
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 8-October 09
Member No.: 73806



Foobar has not wanted to work with SV8.
I used MuseDrop +mpc decoder. It decoded mpc SV8 to Wav for 1 second. smile.gif
Musedrop well works with SV7 and with last versions SV8

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Antonski
post Dec 10 2009, 00:23
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 204
Joined: 8-October 01
Member No.: 250



Foobar2K supports SV8 decoding since v0.9.4.5 and chapters support since v0.9.6.1.
In fact, it was the first player supporting the new stream version (except the unofficial winamp plugin from musepack dev team).
In order to use FB for encoding to musepack, you should set the path to mpcenc.exe, I guess.
Maybe you have a n older version of Foobar2K anyway.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st December 2014 - 17:41