Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
How to create chapters in MP3 file
Griswald
post Nov 21 2013, 22:32
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 112404

Hello, I was wondering if anybody can help me. I am fairly new to working with audio files and there is a particular format I want to create. I want to have a single MP3 talking file that has been broken into chapters such as you would hear when doing an audio tour in a museum. I have downloaded Wavepad sound editor and used several options such as bookmarks to no avail. I am testing it on an android phone and was hoping to be able to choose chapters / topics using the number keypad. Can anybody advise me where I'm going wrong? Or if it's possible. Any help would be much appreciated by a newbie.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
binaryhermit
post Nov 21 2013, 22:53
Post #2

Member No.: 69212

I'm pretty sure it can't be done.
+Quote Post
saratoga
post Nov 21 2013, 23:11
Post #3

Member No.: 3264

I think the best you can do with MP3 is make a playlist of multiple files, one per chapter.

Maybe check in the android market and see if theres a special app that can do this?
+Quote Post
Aleron Ives
post Nov 21 2013, 23:16
Post #4

Member No.: 79208

You could use MKVToolNix to encapsulate the MP3 in an MKA container and add Matroska chapters to it, but MP3 doesn't have its own chapter format. Players that expect "plain" MP3 files won't play them muxed to Matroska, though.
+Quote Post
DVDdoug
post Nov 21 2013, 23:34
Post #5

Member No.: 46454

Yeah... Maybe it could be done, but it's not standard and your player would have to support it. You might be able to do something with a cue sheet, but again your player would have to support it.

On an MP3 music album, each song is a separate file and there is an embedded ID3 tag for the track number, so you can play the tracks in order. (There are also tags for Song title, album title, artist, genre, year, etc.)