IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Yamaha Receiver switching inputs to favor HDMI
tarkovsky
post Dec 28 2012, 03:25
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 27-October 12
Member No.: 104112



I want to first say that I have labored over this for hours with no luck, and always had good luck with getting great advice here, so thanks in advance for reading.

I have recently bought a Yamaha Rx V373 Receiver. I have a 2 speaker setup currently, and my trouble is with my Pioneer DVD player. It is a karaoke DVD player; the instructions are not in english, but as I can surmise, I MUST use the RCA jacks as outputs to use the Karaoke function (ie microphone).

Now, having said that, I would like to have both the use of the DVD players analog (RCA) outputs for karaoke, and its HDMI outputs for movies etc. The DVD player is wired to my Yamaha receiver via HDMI, receiver to TV via HDMI. The DVD player is also wired via RCA to the TV for karaoke, and I have an optical cable from the TV to the input on the receiver.

The problem: when i want to use the karaoke function on the DVD player (using the RCA outputs), and of course get the good sound from my receiver for the singing etc, the Yamaha receiver switches to the HDMI input for the DVD player, which then disables the karaoke microphone. I am actually not happy that my receiver switches inputs when I put it somewhere specifically (ie AV4), but maybe it is user error, or user misunderstanding.

Thanks for any help on this.

Oh, and of course I have gotten karaoke to work by unplugging the HDMI cable from the back of the DVD player, but this isn't preferred, especially considering i'm not the only one using the system. Thanks again in advance smile.gif

This post has been edited by tarkovsky: Dec 28 2012, 03:27
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Arnold B. Kruege...
post Dec 28 2012, 15:09
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 4473
Joined: 29-October 08
From: USA, 48236
Member No.: 61311



QUOTE (tarkovsky @ Dec 27 2012, 21:25) *
I want to first say that I have labored over this for hours with no luck, and always had good luck with getting great advice here, so thanks in advance for reading.

I have recently bought a Yamaha Rx V373 Receiver. I have a 2 speaker setup currently, and my trouble is with my Pioneer DVD player. It is a karaoke DVD player; the instructions are not in english, but as I can surmise, I MUST use the RCA jacks as outputs to use the Karaoke function (ie microphone).

Now, having said that, I would like to have both the use of the DVD players analog (RCA) outputs for karaoke, and its HDMI outputs for movies etc. The DVD player is wired to my Yamaha receiver via HDMI, receiver to TV via HDMI. The DVD player is also wired via RCA to the TV for karaoke, and I have an optical cable from the TV to the input on the receiver.

The problem: when i want to use the karaoke function on the DVD player (using the RCA outputs), and of course get the good sound from my receiver for the singing etc, the Yamaha receiver switches to the HDMI input for the DVD player, which then disables the karaoke microphone. I am actually not happy that my receiver switches inputs when I put it somewhere specifically (ie AV4), but maybe it is user error, or user misunderstanding.

Thanks for any help on this.

Oh, and of course I have gotten karaoke to work by unplugging the HDMI cable from the back of the DVD player, but this isn't preferred, especially considering i'm not the only one using the system. Thanks again in advance smile.gif



You seem to be complaining about equipment that is actually working exactly as designed.

Changing how it works at this level would probably involve rewriting the firmware on the receiver's system controller. Seems like a lot of work for the benefit.

Whatever work-around you figure out is probably your best solution.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
washu
post Dec 28 2012, 15:33
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 139
Joined: 16-February 03
From: Ottawa
Member No.: 5032



My suggestion:

Hook up the DVD player directly to the TV using an extra HDMI or component input. Then run both an analog RCA pair and a digital SPDIF/TOSLINK cable to two different AV inputs on your receiver. Use the analog AV input for Karaoke and the digital AV input for watching movies. You'll have to switch inputs on the TV when you want to use the DVD player, but you won't have to unhook any cables.

Another option is to just get another DVD or even Blu-ray player and just use that for movies. It's kind of a cop-out, but players are so cheap now it may be worth it to avoid the hassle. Hook up the Karaoke machine with component cables for video and analog RCA cables for audio. Put the new one on just HDMI.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tarkovsky
post Dec 28 2012, 16:27
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 27-October 12
Member No.: 104112



Thanks to both of you. I didn't realize the receiver was designed to change inputs for you; shouldn't it stay on an input you designate?? Maybe that is the way it is designed, I would not think that is good, but what do I know.

Thanks Washu. If get tired of unplugging the DVD, I'll try your first option. The unit has of course been stellar in all other aspects, so I didn't mean to sound unhappy, I just feel the user should define inputs, or at the very least be able to override auto input switching like this.

This post has been edited by tarkovsky: Dec 28 2012, 16:30
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Apesbrain
post Dec 28 2012, 19:16
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 498
Joined: 3-January 04
From: East Coast, USA
Member No.: 10915



If the Pioneer unit has the appropriate outputs, have you tried using the receiver's "AV 1" or "AV 2" inputs instead of the HDMI? I know you said "I MUST use the RCA jacks as outputs to use the Karaoke function", but it's worth a try. I doubt you will notice any degradation in audio/video quality by using component video and digital audio instead of HDMI. You could also use "AV 3 - 5" but then you may notice some loss of picture quality on DVDs since it is only composite video.

What model number is the Pioneer?

Also, on p53 of the Yamaha owner's manual it suggests there is a way to "combine" video from an HDMI or component input with digital or analog audio from an AV input.

This post has been edited by Apesbrain: Dec 28 2012, 19:33
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tarkovsky
post Dec 29 2012, 02:23
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 27-October 12
Member No.: 104112



QUOTE (Apesbrain @ Dec 28 2012, 19:16) *
If the Pioneer unit has the appropriate outputs, have you tried using the receiver's "AV 1" or "AV 2" inputs instead of the HDMI? I know you said "I MUST use the RCA jacks as outputs to use the Karaoke function", but it's worth a try. I doubt you will notice any degradation in audio/video quality by using component video and digital audio instead of HDMI. You could also use "AV 3 - 5" but then you may notice some loss of picture quality on DVDs since it is only composite video.

What model number is the Pioneer?

Also, on p53 of the Yamaha owner's manual it suggests there is a way to "combine" video from an HDMI or component input with digital or analog audio from an AV input.


Thanks.

The model number for the Pioneer is DV-3032KV. Probably Asian based, so probably not seen much in the US. I don't currently have component cables, but I will try that when I get them. I think that would work. Embarassingly, this is my first foray into HDMI, and I actually am not so crazy about it, yet. When it comes only to auto switching of inputs, it seems an RCA cable outperforms an HDMI cable, meaning they wont switch automatically.

I tried the combine method as well. When I combined AV4 (my optical cable from TV) with HDMI1, it would not output the audio. I don't understand why either. Wouldn't that mean the audio isn't making it to the TV? It doesn't really make sense to me, but oh well. Again, your reply was very much appreciated.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mzil
post Dec 29 2012, 02:45
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 735
Joined: 5-August 07
Member No.: 45913



QUOTE (Apesbrain @ Dec 28 2012, 19:16) *
Embarassingly, this is my first foray into HDMI, and I actually am not so crazy about it, yet.

You aren't alone. HDMI is an invention of Hollywood to prevent illegal copying, but it is sold as an "improvement in sound and picture". In reality the improvements are subtle, if even perceptible, using standard movie and music material. Not some, but rather the majority of professional installers shun it and use analog component video connections instead, since HDMI comes with so many headaches and hoops one has to jump through in order to get it to even work!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tarkovsky
post Dec 29 2012, 04:00
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 27-October 12
Member No.: 104112



QUOTE (mzil @ Dec 29 2012, 02:45) *
QUOTE (Apesbrain @ Dec 28 2012, 19:16) *
Embarassingly, this is my first foray into HDMI, and I actually am not so crazy about it, yet.

You aren't alone. HDMI is an invention of Hollywood to prevent illegal copying, but it is sold as an "improvement in sound and picture". In reality the improvements are subtle, if even perceptible, using standard movie and music material. Not some, but rather the majority of professional installers shun it and use analog component video connections instead, since HDMI comes with so many headaches and hoops one has to jump through in order to get it to even work!


Yeah, I agree with that. I'll probably try and pick up a cheap, decent set of component video cables when I can so I can "downgrade" smile.gif

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tarkovsky
post Dec 29 2012, 04:05
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 27-October 12
Member No.: 104112



This is SOLVED by the way folks.

I did not want to do this because I wanted as few cables running to the TV as possible, but I just went DVD HDMI output straight to TV. Like I mentioned, I really didn't want to go this route due to the extra cord going up to the wall mounted TV, but I prefer it to unplugging the HDMI cable. But everything is working as it should now.

Interestingly perhaps, I much prefer going straight to the TV if you don't consider the cable aspect of it all. It just kind of makes more sense to me and I can visualize it all easier.

Thanks again to ALL!!

This post has been edited by tarkovsky: Dec 29 2012, 04:08
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
andy o
post Dec 29 2012, 22:24
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 1352
Joined: 14-April 09
Member No.: 68950



HDMI is a mess, a mixture of design by committee and Hollywood-studio appeasing BS. The likely reason your DVD player can't mix in analog signals into its HDMI output is DRM in the first place.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tarkovsky
post Dec 31 2012, 10:53
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 27-October 12
Member No.: 104112



QUOTE (andy o @ Dec 29 2012, 22:24) *
HDMI is a mess, a mixture of design by committee and Hollywood-studio appeasing BS. The likely reason your DVD player can't mix in analog signals into its HDMI output is DRM in the first place.


Thanks.

As Arnold perhaps correctly pointed out, I was blaming the Yamaha unit, which had nothing to do with it i'm sure. But yes, it's true. My error was assuming the Yamaha unit would output correctly via the HDMI cable. When I had the DVD player going straight to the Yamaha (HDMI OR RCA cables), it was not functioning, which I really didn't understand. All is clear now.


I will grab some component cables when I can. I actually bought a digital optical cable not knowing I didn't need it, so using component cables will get it some use smile.gif

This post has been edited by tarkovsky: Dec 31 2012, 10:55
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd December 2014 - 17:05