IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

31 Pages V  « < 3 4 5 6 7 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Foo_uie_albumart, Very simple album art panel
rocketsauce
post Nov 17 2004, 06:50
Post #101





Group: Members
Posts: 218
Joined: 8-May 02
From: Hollywood, CA
Member No.: 2000



As I said, previous versions were working in Win98SE. However, it did cross my mind that something may have changed in the current version that broke compatability, but I didn't see it mentioned. smile.gif

Rob


--------------------
http://ivechosendisco.tumblr.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
stripe
post Nov 17 2004, 07:41
Post #102





Group: Members
Posts: 141
Joined: 26-January 03
Member No.: 4740



QUOTE (rocketsauce @ Nov 16 2004, 08:38 PM)
It seems that upgrading to the current version (v0.034) has caused cover art to stop displaying completely (both folder.jpg and default.jpg). It was working fine yesterday with the previous version (which I, unfortunatley, didn't save).

There are no error messages or crashes on foobar startup. The panel shows in the sidebar. MSVCP71.dll is in Windows\System. I've also tried with it in the foobar2000 directory and foobar2000\components directory. Also tried with a fresh foobar.cfg. I've used the Album Art Panel reset. I've also tried disabling the Tab Panel and the Track Info Panel.

Win98SE
foobar2000 v0.8.3
Album Art Panel 0.034
Columns UI 0.1.2 beta 3
Tabbed Panel 0.1.4
Track Info Panel 0.1

Any suggestions?

Thanks, Rob
*


I use Win98SE as well, and after installing the correct .dlls, it seems to load OK, but nothing shows up at all.

stripe
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Olive
post Nov 17 2004, 16:13
Post #103





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 297
Joined: 27-February 04
Member No.: 12312



QUOTE (rexy @ Nov 16 2004, 05:37 AM)
Try to download it again. I made a small modification. I doubt that's what it was, but try it.
*

that did it thanks.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
spase
post Nov 17 2004, 16:29
Post #104





Group: Members
Posts: 773
Joined: 23-October 01
From: USA
Member No.: 340



I just had a cool idea.

(maybe someone has already suggested this)

would it be possible to drag a jpeg onto the album art thing to set it as album art for that album? (i.e. it would be copied to the album's directory)

This post has been edited by spase: Nov 17 2004, 16:30


--------------------
http://www.last.fm/user/spase

-spase-
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ilikedirtthe2nd
post Nov 17 2004, 16:33
Post #105





Group: Members
Posts: 470
Joined: 26-October 01
From: Germany
Member No.: 352



Hi, how about an option to resample instead of resize? Image quality still suffers too much from resizing i think.

Regards; ilikedirt
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Duble0Syx
post Nov 17 2004, 18:14
Post #106





Group: Members
Posts: 465
Joined: 2-May 04
Member No.: 13847



I think a (possibly) useful feature would be to be able to add a tag to the file with the cover arts filename/path so the plugin only needs to read that for each file rather than having a bunch of variables. Any reason this wouldn't work? The tag field could be something like "albumart=X:\Album Covers\filename.jpg"
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NEMO7538
post Nov 17 2004, 19:40
Post #107





Group: Developer
Posts: 814
Joined: 28-November 03
Member No.: 10088



Two small requests for this essential plugin :

1 Double click could automatically activate / deactivate the "follows cursor" checkbox in the preferences. It would provide with a consistent behavior compared to the track info panel

2 Multiple instances could be alllowed. See This test fore more information

This post has been edited by NEMO7538: Nov 17 2004, 20:08
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
free
post Nov 17 2004, 19:59
Post #108





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 28-August 04
Member No.: 16587



spase
yes, it's will be usefull feature

NEMO7538
better i think middle-button

This post has been edited by free: Nov 17 2004, 20:03


--------------------
Russian foobar2000 site: www.foobar2000.h12.ru
---
Splinter
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
metal_termite
post Nov 17 2004, 20:51
Post #109





Group: Members
Posts: 538
Joined: 10-July 04
Member No.: 15248



I think a double click would better be served to open the album art picture in the default picture viewer.

Here's another idea that would be simple for you to implement. Add another checkbox option for the user to specify the dimensions of displayed album art.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
upNorth
post Nov 17 2004, 21:46
Post #110





Group: Members
Posts: 1099
Joined: 18-March 03
From: Oslo, Norway
Member No.: 5569



QUOTE (rexy @ Nov 17 2004, 12:46 AM)
@upNorth: An option for function on double click could work. Got ideas for other functions for double clicking?
Looks like other users have some ideas above. For example:
  • toggle: show picture of playing/focused

  • open in external viewer.

Some other ideas:
  • open directory (of playing track)

  • focus playing

  • next picture (if you decide to add such a "cycle through" feature)

  • toggle albumart/picture of artist (see feature request below).


QUOTE (rexy @ Nov 17 2004, 12:46 AM)
Just wondering, when would you need to refresh the album art? It auto-refreshes whenever you change any of the settings.
*
I expected that question smile.gif
The thing is, that I don't have albumart for all my albums yet. If I encounter one with no picture, while playing, I use foo_web to find one on Walmart, Amazon or Google and download it. This is when I would like to refresh to make it show up.

I also collect pictures of artists in it's own directory. If no albumart exists, I have set your plugin to look for an image named %artist%.jpg in that specific directory. If it can't find a match it reverts to the default image. Hence I would also like to refresh every time I download a missing artist picture.

This leads to my next feature request. Do you think it would be possible to add an option to toggle between "look for albumart" and "look for picture of artist"? I did this with foo_looks, but thanks to you, I now consider foo_looks history. I don't know if anyone else is interested in such a feature, or collects pictures of artists, but I like the idea of having an image of the person/band playing. Especially when listening to playlists with singles only.

A possible solution could be having two lists of sources in config, and an option to toggle between them. If/when you add support for multiple instances, maybe something like this could be used to have one instance showing the albumart, while the other shows a picture of the artist?

I guess this is enough for now. Sorry if I'm being a PITA crying.gif
I really appreciate your work.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
desigrid
post Nov 17 2004, 23:46
Post #111





Group: Members
Posts: 94
Joined: 7-January 04
Member No.: 11009



QUOTE (upNorth @ Nov 17 2004, 12:46 PM)
A possible solution could be having two lists of sources in config, and an option to toggle between them. If/when you add support for multiple instances, maybe something like this could be used to have one instance showing the albumart, while the other shows a picture of the artist?
IMO this would limit the possibility of further customisation of this extension e.g. a user might want to add more than two instances for front cover, back cover, insides, artist image, etc. (going a little over the top here tongue.gif).

Another way of achieving what you want might be use the cycle through feature. A possible method of implementing the cycle through feature could be by moving the source list item with the highest precedence to the bottom when a user toggles cycle through with an action (e.g. double click), bringing the item with the 2nd highest precedence up. This way, going by your description of how you have set up your source list, cycle through as well as toggling between artist/album art would work.

As for this method working for multiple instances, I'm not too sure if the UIE architecture allows for each instance to have its own source list order, but going by how multiple instances of the album list panel allows each instance to have its own view, I'm guessing it's possible. However, this creates a problem of which source list order should the config page bring up? blink.gif

Anyway, rexy, just want to add that I really appreciate your work as well.

Edit: I conveniently assumed that all items on the source list would find matching images and how confusing it would be if an item fails to find a match. Perhaps then it would be better to leave the precedence in the config alone, and just cycle through available images. Downside would be that multiple instances would not be able to remember which view to show... Hmm, back to square one? huh.gif

This post has been edited by desigrid: Nov 18 2004, 00:05
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
upNorth
post Nov 18 2004, 15:25
Post #112





Group: Members
Posts: 1099
Joined: 18-March 03
From: Oslo, Norway
Member No.: 5569



Yeah, I know my first idea was limited to two instances, but it was the best I came up with. I don't really like such limitations myself, so it was a bad idea.

I don't know how much rexy what's to do with this plugin, so I'll just add my ideas, but I don't expect anything.

How about making the "sources" list a part of a preset? Very similar to the way the album list works (name and value, with the "sources" list as a part of the value). The config could be redesigned to show presets only, and all current settings could be a part of the "edit/new preset" dialog. Then you could add a new instance and select it's active preset from the context menu.

This way you could have panels showing pictures based on: Genre, Mood, codec, label and so on.

Totally over the top, but at the same time it would be completely up to the user to decide how to use it.

With my limited knowledge of the SDK and album list source, it doesn't sound that hard to make either. unsure.gif ph34r.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rexy
post Nov 18 2004, 17:42
Post #113





Group: Members
Posts: 128
Joined: 28-February 04
Member No.: 12351



[quote=spase,Nov 17 2004, 07:29 AM]
I just had a cool idea.

(maybe someone has already suggested this)

would it be possible to drag a jpeg onto the album art thing to set it as album art for that album? (i.e. it would be copied to the album's directory)
*
[/quote]
That's a possibility. I'll add it to the to-do list. Maybe I'll get to it sometime.

[quote=ilikedirtthe2nd,Nov 17 2004, 07:33 AM]
Hi, how about an option to resample instead of resize? Image quality still suffers too much from resizing i think.

Regards; ilikedirt
*
[/quote]
Whenever you resize you resample anyway. I assume you're requesting a better resampling algorithm. Right now, I'm just using StretchBlt. I think its filters are pretty ok actually. If you want better resampling, find me an easy to implement alternative to StretchBlt and I'll see what I can do (and no, I'm not going to implement OpenGL just for good resizing... too much work for improving something that already works pretty well).

[quote=Duble0Syx,Nov 17 2004, 09:14 AM]
I think a (possibly) useful feature would be to be able to add a tag to the file with the cover arts filename/path so the plugin only needs to read that for each file rather than having a bunch of variables. Any reason this wouldn't work? The tag field could be something like "albumart=X:\Album Covers\filename.jpg"
*
[/quote]
Already possible. Just clear your source list and add "%albumart%" as a source. Voi la.

[quote=NEMO7538,Nov 17 2004, 10:40 AM]
Two small requests for this essential plugin :

1 Double click could automatically activate / deactivate the "follows cursor" checkbox in the preferences. It would provide with a consistent behavior compared to the track info panel

2 Multiple instances could be alllowed. See This test fore more information
*
[/quote]
[quote=metal_termite,Nov 17 2004, 11:51 AM]
I think a double click would better be served to open the album art picture in the default picture viewer.

Here's another idea that would be simple for you to implement. Add another checkbox option for the user to specify the dimensions of displayed album art.
*
[/quote]
Double clicking with user selected functionality will be added.
With my inside version now, host are transfered without crashing foobar and I plan to enable multiple instances as well.
I really don't see why setting the size is important if you have an option to expand to the size of the panel. If you can convince me that it's important I'll implement it.

[quote=upNorth,Nov 17 2004, 12:46 PM]
[quote=rexy,Nov 17 2004, 12:46 AM]@upNorth: An option for function on double click could work. Got ideas for other functions for double clicking?[/quote]Looks like other users have some ideas above. For example:
  • toggle: show picture of playing/focused
  • open in external viewer.
Some other ideas:
  • open directory (of playing track)
  • focus playing
  • next picture (if you decide to add such a "cycle through" feature)
  • toggle albumart/picture of artist (see feature request below).
[quote=rexy,Nov 17 2004, 12:46 AM]Just wondering, when would you need to refresh the album art? It auto-refreshes whenever you change any of the settings.
*
[/quote]I expected that question smile.gif
The thing is, that I don't have albumart for all my albums yet. If I encounter one with no picture, while playing, I use foo_web to find one on Walmart, Amazon or Google and download it. This is when I would like to refresh to make it show up.

I also collect pictures of artists in it's own directory. If no albumart exists, I have set your plugin to look for an image named %artist%.jpg in that specific directory. If it can't find a match it reverts to the default image. Hence I would also like to refresh every time I download a missing artist picture.

This leads to my next feature request. Do you think it would be possible to add an option to toggle between "look for albumart" and "look for picture of artist"? I did this with foo_looks, but thanks to you, I now consider foo_looks history. I don't know if anyone else is interested in such a feature, or collects pictures of artists, but I like the idea of having an image of the person/band playing. Especially when listening to playlists with singles only.

A possible solution could be having two lists of sources in config, and an option to toggle between them. If/when you add support for multiple instances, maybe something like this could be used to have one instance showing the albumart, while the other shows a picture of the artist?

I guess this is enough for now. Sorry if I'm being a PITA crying.gif
I really appreciate your work.
*
[/quote]
I'll see about those double click functionalities. Refresh will probably get included as I myself just had to refresh a couple of times when I added some cover art images.
Two lists is a little bit just kind of hardcoding stuff...
Oh, and what's a PITA? blink.gif

[quote=desigrid,Nov 17 2004, 02:46 PM]
[quote=upNorth,Nov 17 2004, 12:46 PM]A possible solution could be having two lists of sources in config, and an option to toggle between them. If/when you add support for multiple instances, maybe something like this could be used to have one instance showing the albumart, while the other shows a picture of the artist?[/quote]IMO this would limit the possibility of further customisation of this extension e.g. a user might want to add more than two instances for front cover, back cover, insides, artist image, etc. (going a little over the top here tongue.gif).

Another way of achieving what you want might be use the cycle through feature. A possible method of implementing the cycle through feature could be by moving the source list item with the highest precedence to the bottom when a user toggles cycle through with an action (e.g. double click), bringing the item with the 2nd highest precedence up. This way, going by your description of how you have set up your source list, cycle through as well as toggling between artist/album art would work.

As for this method working for multiple instances, I'm not too sure if the UIE architecture allows for each instance to have its own source list order, but going by how multiple instances of the album list panel allows each instance to have its own view, I'm guessing it's possible. However, this creates a problem of which source list order should the config page bring up? blink.gif

Anyway, rexy, just want to add that I really appreciate your work as well.

Edit: I conveniently assumed that all items on the source list would find matching images and how confusing it would be if an item fails to find a match. Perhaps then it would be better to leave the precedence in the config alone, and just cycle through available images. Downside would be that multiple instances would not be able to remember which view to show... Hmm, back to square one? huh.gif
*
[/quote]
Yeah, I was already planning on having a cycle thing... should be pretty easy. Would just go down the list as you left click and if it can't find an image with that source it will keep going down.

[quote=upNorth,Nov 18 2004, 06:25 AM]
Yeah, I know my first idea was limited to two instances, but it was the best I came up with. I don't really like such limitations myself, so it was a bad idea.

I don't know how much rexy what's to do with this plugin, so I'll just add my ideas, but I don't expect anything.

How about making the "sources" list a part of a preset? Very similar to the way the album list works (name and value, with the "sources" list as a part of the value). The config could be redesigned to show presets only, and all current settings could be a part of the "edit/new preset" dialog. Then you could add a new instance and select it's active preset from the context menu.

This way you could have panels showing pictures based on: Genre, Mood, codec, label and so on.

Totally over the top, but at the same time it would be completely up to the user to decide how to use it.

With my limited knowledge of the SDK and album list source, it doesn't sound that hard to make either. unsure.gif ph34r.gif
*
[/quote]
Maybe... going to be arduous, but it might be worth it. Could make it so that you can choose whether left click cycles sources or source lists, but that would mean that order of lists among lists matters and I would need another list control.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jkwarras
post Nov 18 2004, 17:54
Post #114





Group: Members
Posts: 808
Joined: 10-June 03
From: Zaragoza
Member No.: 7113



QUOTE (rexy @ Nov 18 2004, 08:42 AM)
Oh, and what's a PITA? blink.gif
*

I guess it's a Pain In The Ass tongue.gif


--------------------
Iván
My Blog: http://www.ivancastell.org
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
metal_termite
post Nov 18 2004, 18:02
Post #115





Group: Members
Posts: 538
Joined: 10-July 04
Member No.: 15248



QUOTE
I really don't see why setting the size is important if you have an option to expand to the size of the panel. If you can convince me that it's important I'll implement it.


Ok. I was just trying to think of a way to get padding of empty space between the album art and the panel. So it would be perfectly centered in the middle (vertically, and horizontally) of the panel with visible empty space around it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rexy
post Nov 18 2004, 18:09
Post #116





Group: Members
Posts: 128
Joined: 28-February 04
Member No.: 12351



metal_termite: So do you want a set padding option or a maximum expansion option? I would think a set padding option would be better and then it would just expand and/or shrink to fit the panel, leaving a certain padding.

jkwarras: I see, thanks.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
reardon
post Nov 18 2004, 18:34
Post #117





Group: Members
Posts: 111
Joined: 6-March 04
From: Seattle
Member No.: 12494



QUOTE (upNorth @ Nov 17 2004, 12:46 PM)
The thing is, that I don't have albumart for all my albums yet. If I encounter one with no picture, while playing, I use foo_web to find one on Walmart, Amazon or Google and download it. This is when I would like to refresh to make it show up.


Anyone have any idea where to get this now? I can't find it anywhere.

+Reardon
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
metal_termite
post Nov 18 2004, 19:30
Post #118





Group: Members
Posts: 538
Joined: 10-July 04
Member No.: 15248



QUOTE (rexy @ Nov 18 2004, 12:09 PM)
metal_termite: So do you want a set padding option or a maximum expansion option? I would think a set padding option would be better and then it would just expand and/or shrink to fit the panel, leaving a certain padding.

jkwarras: I see, thanks.
*

Yes Rexy, a set padding option would be swell. biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mazy
post Nov 18 2004, 20:33
Post #119





Group: Members
Posts: 680
Joined: 11-July 03
From: Brno, Czech Rep.
Member No.: 7705



rexy: nearest neighbor interpolation is good in some cases, though i can't agree that it's suitable for album art. one thing you could do is switching to gdi+ library (default on winxp, could be downloaded as dll for others) and using its functions to draw bitmaps - it has options to do bilinear, bicubic and high quality interpolations. it can read pngs too ...


--------------------
info about my tag guesser script for foo_lua (preview version available):
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?showtopic=16987
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dano
post Nov 18 2004, 22:13
Post #120





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 395
Joined: 2-March 04
Member No.: 12414



QUOTE (reardon @ Nov 18 2004, 06:34 PM)
Anyone have any idea where to get this now?  I can't find it anywhere.

+Reardon
*

http://members.chello.pl/d.sieradzki/foobar/
just try writing foo_web into google...
besides that, foo_openwith and foo_run could be used for the same task, but foo_web comes with a nice preset of queries and supports export/import
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rexy
post Nov 18 2004, 23:31
Post #121





Group: Members
Posts: 128
Joined: 28-February 04
Member No.: 12351



QUOTE (mazy @ Nov 18 2004, 11:33 AM)
rexy: nearest neighbor interpolation is good in some cases, though i can't agree that it's suitable for album art. one thing you could do is switching to gdi+ library (default on winxp, could be downloaded as dll for others) and using its functions to draw bitmaps - it has options to do bilinear, bicubic and high quality interpolations. it can read pngs too ...
*


Hmm... GDI+ is a good idea. Thanks. I probably will convert it to GDI+ (not too difficult... not a lot of code to convert).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nbv4
post Nov 19 2004, 23:27
Post #122





Group: Members
Posts: 186
Joined: 27-June 03
Member No.: 7420



QUOTE (rexy @ Nov 18 2004, 02:31 PM)
QUOTE (mazy @ Nov 18 2004, 11:33 AM)
rexy: nearest neighbor interpolation is good in some cases, though i can't agree that it's suitable for album art. one thing you could do is switching to gdi+ library (default on winxp, could be downloaded as dll for others) and using its functions to draw bitmaps - it has options to do bilinear, bicubic and high quality interpolations. it can read pngs too ...
*


Hmm... GDI+ is a good idea. Thanks. I probably will convert it to GDI+ (not too difficult... not a lot of code to convert).
*
bicubic interpolation would be awesome!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Lance Uppercut
post Nov 22 2004, 00:53
Post #123





Group: Members
Posts: 98
Joined: 2-October 04
Member No.: 17431



Just figured out how to use this plugin and I couldn't be more delighted. I have been using foobar for only a few months, but it is definitely the best music player imo. With so many people making great components like this one, I can't see the need to use anything else

Thanks again for the album art!


--------------------
- FLAC/200GB external
- AAC 128 vbr/local
- iPod Nano 2G 8GB
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Poleh
post Nov 22 2004, 09:50
Post #124





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 25-January 04
Member No.: 11513



Gr8 plugin, this is excellent work biggrin.gif

Thought I would supply this default art cover for those who *cough* don't like the default one biggrin.gif



Looking fwd to PNG support!! Here is the icon in PNG format with transparent bg for when it arrives..


This post has been edited by Poleh: Nov 22 2004, 09:51
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
l.s
post Nov 22 2004, 20:19
Post #125





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 28-November 03
Member No.: 10081



The Album Art panel allways redraws here the whole panel and not only the modified or revealed area.

Regards, Lars
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

31 Pages V  « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd July 2014 - 07:52