IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Automatically seek to position in track in order to skip intros?
Kent Wang
post Aug 30 2006, 10:17
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 78
Joined: 12-June 03
Member No.: 7145



It's annoying to play back tracks that have intros. What would be cool is if you could specify a tag with the time stamp of the end of the intro so when it's played it'll skip to that position. Maybe there's a plug-in that can do this? If not, there should be. It'd be very simple to code.


--------------------
Everything I've learned about space, I've learned from psytrance.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Infernus
post Aug 30 2006, 11:02
Post #2





Group: Banned
Posts: 172
Joined: 6-March 06
Member No.: 28300



I think such a plugin isn't available yet, but a workaround would do the same:

create a cue-sheet for that track with intro/track position
skip intro with foo_skip component

that will do the job also smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
...Just Elliott
post Aug 30 2006, 13:04
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 446
Joined: 13-August 06
Member No.: 34002



Doesn't that defeat the point of having an introduction in a song?


--------------------
err... i'm not using windows any more ;)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
randal1013
post Aug 30 2006, 16:24
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 306
Joined: 1-March 06
Member No.: 28189



you could bind a global hotkey that seeks ahead X time.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Infernus
post Aug 30 2006, 16:41
Post #5





Group: Banned
Posts: 172
Joined: 6-March 06
Member No.: 28300



Let me write some additional informations about the foo_skip component. As far I remember foo_skip tries to write a new tag "skip" to file - but you won't be able to write a tag into cues! (except some rare rem-comments)
So you have to do another trick:
install also the foo_custominfo component and add a new custom entry:
CODE
Display Name: Custom Info/Skip/Skip Track
Field Name: SKIP
Value: 1

and a second one:

Display Name: Custom Info/Skip/Remove Skip
Field Name: SKIP
Value: 0
or
Value:
("null" + activate option: instead of writing an empty value, remove fields)

Via context menu/or two buttons you can now set/remove skips also to cued-tracks.

Cue file could look for example:
CODE
PERFORMER "Liquid Phase"
TITLE "Africa"
FILE "01-liquid_phase_-_africa.mp3" MP3
  TRACK 01 AUDIO
    TITLE "Electro Feelings Pt.1 INTRO"
    PERFORMER "Liquid Phase"
    INDEX 01 00:00:00
  TRACK 02 AUDIO
    TITLE "Electro Feelings Pt.1 SONG"
    PERFORMER "Liquid Phase"
    INDEX 01 00:25:12
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kent Wang
post Sep 11 2006, 05:02
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 78
Joined: 12-June 03
Member No.: 7145



QUOTE (Infernus @ Aug 30 2006, 05:02) *
I think such a plugin isn't available yet, but a workaround would do the same:

create a cue-sheet for that track with intro/track position
skip intro with foo_skip component

that will do the job also smile.gif


Good thinking. This is the most realistic solution so far, though the problem is that I have to display multiple entries in the playlist for each part of each song, which is not perfect. I might go this route anyway, though. Thanks.

QUOTE (...Just Elliott @ Aug 30 2006, 07:04) *
Doesn't that defeat the point of having an introduction in a song?


By 'intro' I mean usually some boring skit that you don't want to hear every time you play the song.

QUOTE (randal1013 @ Aug 30 2006, 10:24) *
you could bind a global hotkey that seeks ahead X time.


Not perfect. Every intro is of different length. Also, this requires that I hit that button every time. I want the intros skipped automatically.


--------------------
Everything I've learned about space, I've learned from psytrance.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rouge
post Sep 11 2006, 05:07
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 102
Joined: 5-May 06
From: Minneapolis, MN
Member No.: 30448



I thought of this and requested it awhile back. Some intros really annoy me. I think it would really easy to add tags for START and STOP and use them during playback.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
...Just Elliott
post Sep 11 2006, 10:49
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 446
Joined: 13-August 06
Member No.: 34002



QUOTE (Kent Wang @ Sep 11 2006, 05:02) *
By 'intro' I mean usually some boring skit that you don't want to hear every time you play the song.

After purchasing Frances the Mute (which I have posted about the horrible clipping on </ot>) there's a song with 4 minutes of chirping at the start, and I listen to that. tongue.gif

But yeah, I suppose so.


--------------------
err... i'm not using windows any more ;)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MusX
post May 19 2009, 15:43
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 135
Joined: 7-September 06
Member No.: 34900



still no such plugin?


--------------------
my last.fm profile:
http://www.last.fm/user/MusX
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foorious
post May 19 2009, 21:28
Post #10


troll / ban evasion


Group: Banned
Posts: 244
Joined: 22-April 08
Member No.: 52991



I second this. The ability to start (and to end) a given track at a precise given time is something that has been present in players like iTunes for several years now (iTunes lets you manually set a start time and an end time for every track). Quite useful IMHO. Why couldn't foobar do the same ?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dhromed
post May 20 2009, 21:00
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 1339
Joined: 16-February 08
From: NL
Member No.: 51347



I third this.

The Qotsa album Songs For The Deaf has tons of radio banter that's funny at first, but after a third time you really don't want to hear it anymore.

Cuesheeting is a reasonable alternative, though.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kent Wang
post Jan 6 2013, 06:30
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 78
Joined: 12-June 03
Member No.: 7145



Any update on this?


--------------------
Everything I've learned about space, I've learned from psytrance.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jan 6 2013, 06:51
Post #13





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



I believe you can set all songs to start/end at defined points using foo_seek’s Loop mode. If you want per-track control, perhaps you can define individual starting points for particular tracks using Dynamic DSP. I guess it’s worth a try, anyway.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
romor
post Jan 6 2013, 07:46
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 682
Joined: 16-January 09
Member No.: 65630



One possibility is by using Biography View component

You can set i.e. %seek% tag in your offending track, with value from one of available menu commands in "Playback > Seek" (you'll need to shift click the menu to see it)

Then just add this command as external script in Biography View preferences:

CODE
$if(%seek%,"C:\Program Files\foobar2000\foobar2000.exe" /command:"Ahead by %seek%")


For example if I set %seek% tag to "30 seconds", track skips for 30 seconds after start.


--------------------
scripts: http://goo.gl/M1qVLQ
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
q-stankovic
post Jan 6 2013, 08:37
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 1743
Joined: 28-May 06
From: Düsseldorf
Member No.: 31251



For defining individual starting points the best and origin component is foo_skip

http://www.foobar2000.org/components/tag/skip

This post has been edited by q-stankovic: Jan 6 2013, 08:38


--------------------
german support forum: www.foobar-users.de / user: qwert73
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd December 2014 - 13:31