IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
EAC and flac
tidende
post Dec 3 2012, 09:46
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 3-December 12
Member No.: 104944



Hi,

I have tried ripping and compressing CD's with EAC 1.0 beta 3 and have them compressed to flac. Unfortunately, I only get the wav-file, the cue-sheet and the txt-file. There does not seem to be anything wrong with the additional command line options: -8 -V -T "ARTIST=%artist%" -T "TITLE=%title%" -T "ALBUM=%albumtitle%" -T "DATE=%year%" -T "TRACKNUMBER=%tracknr%" -T "GENRE=%genre%" -T "COMMENT=%comment%" -T "BAND=%albuminterpret%" -T "ALBUMARTIST=%albuminterpret%" -T "COMPOSER=%composer%" %haslyrics%--tag-from-file=LYRICS="%lyricsfile%"%haslyrics% -T "DISCNUMBER=%cdnumber%" -T "TOTALDISCS=%totalcds%" -T "TOTALTRACKS=%numtracks%" %hascover%--picture="%coverfile%"%hascover% %source% -o %dest%. At least I am not warned of any errors when I test the encoder.

Thanks a lot

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Apesbrain
post Dec 3 2012, 15:20
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 473
Joined: 3-January 04
Member No.: 10915



On the same tab where you set commandline options is your "Program, including path, used for compression" pointing to a valid copy of FLAC.EXE?

Also, be sure you are selecting the correct ripping option: Action > Copy Image & Create Cue Sheet > Compressed
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BFG
post Dec 3 2012, 15:38
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 206
Joined: 22-July 12
Member No.: 101637



The EAC tester won't test the lyrics or album art options, as those always evaluate to false during the test. Your Lyrics and Album Art tags both have quotation marks in the wrong places, which is what's causing the problem.

You also have the same problems I did initially with a couple of the option tags - %composer% should be %albumcomposer%, and you're using %albuminterpret% twice (one of them should be %albumartist% instead). Finally, the -o %dest% is unnecessary.

The correct commandline would (I think) be:
-8 -V -T "ARTIST=%artist%" -T "TITLE=%title%" -T "ALBUM=%albumtitle%" -T "DATE=%year%" -T "TRACKNUMBER=%tracknr%" -T "GENRE=%genre%" -T "COMMENT=%comment%" -T "BAND=%albuminterpret%" -T "ALBUMARTIST=%albumartist%" -T "COMPOSER=%albumcomposer%" %haslyrics%--tag-from-file="LYRICS=%lyricsfile%"%haslyrics% -T "DISCNUMBER=%cdnumber%" -T "TOTALDISCS=%totalcds%" -T "TOTALTRACKS=%numtracks%" %hascover%--"PICTURE=%coverfile%"%hascover% %source%
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BFG
post Dec 3 2012, 18:17
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 206
Joined: 22-July 12
Member No.: 101637



Too bad I can't edit my previous post anymore.

Where did you get your commandline from, by the way? Was it from the wiki?
I started out with the exact same one, had the same problem as you, and had to tinker until I figured out how to correct it. But for the life of me I can't remember where I got it from.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tidende
post Dec 3 2012, 18:32
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 3-December 12
Member No.: 104944



Thanks for the answers.

To Apesbrain: Yes, I have selected the correct ripping option. I suppose that the "Program, including path, used for compression" refers to a valid flac.exe. How can I check this?

To BFG: I tried pasting your command line, but still only get a CUE, a Wav and a txt. I think I copied the command line from http://blowfish.be/eac/. I would be happy to correct it, but I cannot see what is wrong with it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BFG
post Dec 3 2012, 18:38
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 206
Joined: 22-July 12
Member No.: 101637



QUOTE (tidende @ Dec 3 2012, 11:32) *
To BFG: I tried pasting your command line, but still only get a CUE, a Wav and a txt. I think I copied the command line from http://blowfish.be/eac/. I would be happy to correct it, but I cannot see what is wrong with it.

D'oh! I see the issue. Let's try that again.
-8 -V -T "ARTIST=%artist%" -T "TITLE=%title%" -T "ALBUM=%albumtitle%" -T "DATE=%year%" -T "TRACKNUMBER=%tracknr%" -T "GENRE=%genre%" -T "COMMENT=%comment%" -T "BAND=%albuminterpret%" -T "ALBUMARTIST=%albumartist%" -T "COMPOSER=%albumcomposer%" %haslyrics%-T "LYRICS=%lyricsfile%"%haslyrics% -T "DISCNUMBER=%cdnumber%" -T "TOTALDISCS=%totalcds%" -T "TOTALTRACKS=%numtracks%" %hascover%-T "PICTURE=%coverfile%"%hascover% %source%

If that doesn't work, try (temporarily) removing the lyrics and cover photo sections.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Manlord
post Dec 3 2012, 18:49
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 2-April 10
Member No.: 79529



I would start with a very simple set of options, like the following:
CODE
-5 %source%


If you don't get the FLAC files with these, the error is somewhere else.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Surfi
post Dec 3 2012, 20:20
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 175
Joined: 1-October 04
Member No.: 17420



::

Why not configure the FLAC command line with EAC's built-in Wizard?
In the main screen open the menu "EAC" - "Configuration Wizard".

A valid "flac.exe" should be located in a "Flac" folder inside EAC's own directory:

x86: "C:\Program Files\Exact Audio Copy\Flac\flac.exe" or
x64: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Exact Audio Copy\Flac\flac.exe"
.


Regards, ...

::

This post has been edited by Surfi: Dec 3 2012, 20:27
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tidende
post Dec 3 2012, 21:17
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 3-December 12
Member No.: 104944



I have tried all the suggestions. Nothing works. So I guess the problem does not have anything to do with the command line.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Surfi
post Dec 3 2012, 21:43
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 175
Joined: 1-October 04
Member No.: 17420



::

... posting a .log-file might be helpful ...

::
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JJZolx
post Dec 3 2012, 22:29
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 395
Joined: 26-November 04
Member No.: 18345



QUOTE (tidende @ Dec 3 2012, 02:46) *
There does not seem to be anything wrong with the additional command line options: -8 -V -T "ARTIST=%artist%" -T "TITLE=%title%" -T "ALBUM=%albumtitle%" -T "DATE=%year%" -T "TRACKNUMBER=%tracknr%" -T "GENRE=%genre%" -T "COMMENT=%comment%" -T "BAND=%albuminterpret%" -T "ALBUMARTIST=%albuminterpret%" -T "COMPOSER=%composer%" %haslyrics%--tag-from-file=LYRICS="%lyricsfile%"%haslyrics% -T "DISCNUMBER=%cdnumber%" -T "TOTALDISCS=%totalcds%" -T "TOTALTRACKS=%numtracks%" %hascover%--picture="%coverfile%"%hascover% %source% -o %dest%. At least I am not warned of any errors when I test the encoder.


Try simplifying that mess and then work backward from what you're able to get working. Most people have no need for half the crap in that line. Do you actually want LYRICS? Both ALBUMARTIST and BAND? Do you really want -8 level compression?? Do you need to embed cover art?

Try:

-T "ARTIST=%artist%" -T "TITLE=%title%" -T "ALBUM=%albumtitle%" -T "DATE=%year%" -T "TRACKNUMBER=%tracknr%" -T "GENRE=%genre%" %source% -o %dest%
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Dec 3 2012, 22:51
Post #12





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



-o %dest% is not necessary


--------------------
Placebophiles: put up or shut up!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BFG
post Dec 4 2012, 00:09
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 206
Joined: 22-July 12
Member No.: 101637



QUOTE (tidende @ Dec 3 2012, 14:17) *
I have tried all the suggestions. Nothing works. So I guess the problem does not have anything to do with the command line.


If Manlord's suggested -5 %source% command didn't work, then the problem is indeed something else.
Are you sure you followed the blowfish guide exactly? Even something as simple as forgetting the . before "flac" in the file extension field could cause the encoder to fail.
(By the way, I disagree with the guide's recommendation to disable C2 error checking...but that's a different subject.)

If, on the other hand, Manlord's suggested commandline does work, AND the more complex commandline works when you Test the Encoder but not in practice, then the problem is almost certainly the %haslyrics% or %hascover% sections.
There is also the possibility that FLAC doesn't like the destination folder you're trying to write to, in which case FLAC would launch, but abort and fail to save any file. This is particularly true if you're on a Windows Vista or newer machine and are trying to save in a Program Files (or similarly "protected") folder. The only way to bypass that is to save to a different folder, or force FLAC always to launch at Administrative level.

EDIT: You might post screenshots of your Compression and EAC tabs. We could look for other, seemingly innocuous problems that way.

This post has been edited by BFG: Dec 4 2012, 00:12
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BFG
post Dec 4 2012, 01:47
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 206
Joined: 22-July 12
Member No.: 101637



OK, now that I'm back home, I'll post the commandline I use. It too is quite complicated, but has worked on every one of the hundreds of albums I've ripped:
%ishigh%-V -p -l 12 -b 4096 -m -e -r 8%ishigh%%islow%-5%islow% --replay-gain -T "ARTIST=%artist%" -T "ALBUM=%albumtitle%" -T "TITLE=%title%" -T "DATE=%year%" -T "TRACKNUMBER=%tracknr%" -T "GENRE=%genre%" -T "ENSEMBLE=%albuminterpret%" -T "ALBUMARTIST=%albumartist%" -T "COMPOSER=%albumcomposer%" -T "DISCNUMBER=%cdnumber%" -T "TOTALDISCS=%totalcds%" -T "TOTALTRACKS=%numtracks%" -T "SOURCEMEDIA=CD" -T "COMMENT=%comment%" %hascover%-T "PICTURE=%coverfile%"%hascover% %source%

The %ishigh% and %islow% sections are probably unnecessary; this just lets me flip between the maximum possible compression and a more modest (but still good) -V5 compression. Similarly, --replay-gain is unnecessary; I just like having it. And you'll also note I removed the %haslyrics% section.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tidende
post Dec 4 2012, 19:28
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 3-December 12
Member No.: 104944



EDIT of previously posted post.

Ok, I think we are approaching a solution.

I copied the wav-file to the flac.exe folder, then dragged and dropped it on flac.exe. Then ran a search and found the flac-file here: C:\Users\Dell Desktop\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files (x86)\Exact Audio Copy\Flac. Then I tried setting flac.exe to run it as an administrator, and the flac version of the wav ended up in the flac.exe folder.

Flac-exe location: C:\Program Files (x86)\Exact Audio Copy\Flac\flac.exe

The wav-file is set to end up on the F-drive, which it does.

This post has been edited by tidende: Dec 4 2012, 19:48
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tidende
post Dec 5 2012, 08:48
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 3-December 12
Member No.: 104944



Tried to set the destination folder to C:\. The wav, txt and CUE end up here: C:\Users\Dell Desktop\AppData\Local\VirtualStore and I get an error message with a complex command line (the error message concerns the command line). Will try a simpler command line in a couple of days when I can look at this again. The flac-file is nowhere to be found

Here is the txt:

Exact Audio Copy V1.0 beta 3 from 29. August 2011

EAC extraction logfile from 5. December 2012, 8:38

Efterklang / Piramida

Used drive : PLDS DVD+-RW DH-16ABS Adapter: 0 ID: 2

Read mode : Secure
Utilize accurate stream : Yes
Defeat audio cache : No
Make use of C2 pointers : No

Read offset correction : 6
Overread into Lead-In and Lead-Out : No
Fill up missing offset samples with silence : Yes
Delete leading and trailing silent blocks : No
Null samples used in CRC calculations : Yes
Used interface : Native Win32 interface for Win NT & 2000

Used output format : User Defined Encoder
Selected bitrate : 896 kBit/s
Quality : High
Add ID3 tag : No
Command line compressor : C:\Program Files (x86)\Exact Audio Copy\Flac\flac.exe
Additional command line options : -8 -V -T "ARTIST=%artist%" -T "TITLE=%title%" -T "ALBUM=%albumtitle%" -T "DATE=%year%" -T "TRACKNUMBER=%tracknr%" -T "GENRE=%genre%" -T "COMMENT=%comment%" -T "BAND=%albuminterpret%" -T "ALBUMARTIST=%albumartist%" -T "COMPOSER=%albumcomposer%" %haslyrics%-T "LYRICS=%lyricsfile%"%haslyrics% -T "DISCNUMBER=%cdnumber%" -T "TOTALDISCS=%totalcds%" -T "TOTALTRACKS=%numtracks%" %hascover%-T "PICTURE=%coverfile%"%hascover% %source%


TOC of the extracted CD

Track | Start | Length | Start sector | End sector
---------------------------------------------------------
1 | 0:00.00 | 5:26.03 | 0 | 24452
2 | 5:26.03 | 4:15.66 | 24453 | 43643
3 | 9:41.69 | 4:09.65 | 43644 | 62383
4 | 13:51.59 | 3:43.16 | 62384 | 79124
5 | 17:35.00 | 3:26.40 | 79125 | 94614
6 | 21:01.40 | 4:28.67 | 94615 | 114781
7 | 25:30.32 | 6:30.41 | 114782 | 144072
8 | 32:00.73 | 3:00.62 | 144073 | 157634
9 | 35:01.60 | 5:28.45 | 157635 | 182279
10 | 40:30.30 | 5:38.69 | 182280 | 207698


Range status and errors

Selected range

Filename C:\Efterklang.wav

Peak level 100.0 %
Extraction speed 4.6 X
Range quality 100.0 %
Test CRC 15C3D1CC
Copy CRC 15C3D1CC
Copy OK

No errors occurred


AccurateRip summary

Track 1 not present in database
Track 2 not present in database
Track 3 not present in database
Track 4 not present in database
Track 5 not present in database
Track 6 not present in database
Track 7 not present in database
Track 8 not present in database
Track 9 not present in database
Track 10 not present in database

None of the tracks are present in the AccurateRip database

End of status report

---- CUETools DB Plugin V2.1.3

[CTDB TOCID: GYzS7hIUzGfWCEqiuCrOG6im_Xo-] found, Submit result: already submitted
[eb0bf8fc] (11/12) Accurately ripped
[fd31e6cb] (01/12) No match
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BFG
post Dec 5 2012, 23:29
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 206
Joined: 22-July 12
Member No.: 101637



QUOTE (tidende @ Dec 5 2012, 01:48) *
stuff

I didn't have a chance to read the entire log (yet), but I would also avoid using the root C: folder. That one is often reserved for system files, and can cause replication/Virtual Store issues.

I'd recommend creating a folder on a secondary partition (D:) or an external hard drive if you have either one. Those should both be safe. If you don't, then use a folder within My Documents - but make sure it's the My Documents folder for your Windows account.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
naturfreak
post Dec 5 2012, 23:39
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 176
Joined: 16-October 03
Member No.: 9338



Hint:
If you do copy and paste the additional command line parameters, take care:
Only spaces are allowed between the options. There mustn't be CR oder LF

This post has been edited by naturfreak: Dec 5 2012, 23:40
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tidende
post Dec 7 2012, 00:26
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 3-December 12
Member No.: 104944



It appears that the problem was related to the destination drive. I experience problems of different sorts when I rip to the C and the network drive. But when I tried ripping to an internal drive other than the c-drive things worked as expected. So I will simply rip to this drive and then copy everything to the network drive afterwards.

Next problem is this: I have tried all combinations of gap methods and detection accuracy, but still do not get alle the gaps between tracks. I would also like to have each song appear as a single file, so I tried the index-based option. With this method, however, I do not get to choose the destination file. Everything is copied to the netwotk drive, and thus I do not get the flac-files. Also, the track numbers are formatted as "1.01", etc., which means that I would have to rename all titles individually.

Any ideas? Thanks for the help so far.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JJZolx
post Dec 7 2012, 03:43
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 395
Joined: 26-November 04
Member No.: 18345



QUOTE (tidende @ Dec 6 2012, 17:26) *
It appears that the problem was related to the destination drive. I experience problems of different sorts when I rip to the C and the network drive. But when I tried ripping to an internal drive other than the c-drive things worked as expected. So I will simply rip to this drive and then copy everything to the network drive afterwards.


I've always done that anyway. If you do any post-rip processing such as adding ReplayGain or additional tags, it's often a bit faster and a little easier to do it on a local drive than across the network.

QUOTE
Next problem is this: I have tried all combinations of gap methods and detection accuracy, but still do not get alle the gaps between tracks.


Does the detection process hang up on you, or do you simply mean that some tracks have no gaps between them? The latter is fairly common.

QUOTE
I would also like to have each song appear as a single file, so I tried the index-based option. With this method, however, I do not get to choose the destination file. Everything is copied to the netwotk drive, and thus I do not get the flac-files.


Not sure what you mean here.

QUOTE
Also, the track numbers are formatted as "1.01", etc., which means that I would have to rename all titles individually.


Do you actually mean the filenames are formatted like this? Or both the track number field and the filename? I would guess you mean just the filename, which can be formatted in the options at EAC > EAC Options (F9) > Filename > Naming Scheme. Looks like you have it configured to prepend the disc number, which you can remove. Just give some thought about ripping multi-cd sets and don't place the files from all discs into the same folder, or they'll be mixed up.

This post has been edited by JJZolx: Dec 7 2012, 03:43
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BFG
post Dec 7 2012, 05:42
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 206
Joined: 22-July 12
Member No.: 101637



QUOTE (JJZolx @ Dec 6 2012, 20:43) *
Just give some thought about ripping multi-cd sets and don't place the files from all discs into the same folder, or they'll be mixed up.

Actually, you can do that safely with EAC, as long as you use the "Continue from last track number" button when you rip disc 2. So disc 1 becomes tracks 1-16, disc 2 becomes tracks 17-32, etc. This also makes accurate application of Album Gain easier.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Surfi
post Dec 7 2012, 09:20
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 175
Joined: 1-October 04
Member No.: 17420



QUOTE (tidende @ Dec 7 2012, 00:26) *
I would also like to have each song appear as a single file, ...
::

1. Press F4 for detecting gaps. (btw. method A - secure works best with most modern drives)
2. Simply press the "CMP" (compress) Button

::

This post has been edited by Surfi: Dec 7 2012, 09:20
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tidende
post Dec 11 2012, 22:17
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 3-December 12
Member No.: 104944



I was away for a few days. Thanks again for the suggestions:

JJZlox:
- I mean that some tracks have no gaps between them.
- I would also like to have each song appear as a single file, so I tried the index-based option. With this method, however, I do not get to choose the destination file. Everything is copied to the network drive, and thus I do not get the flac-files.----------------I now see that I needed to change the standard location in the EAC options. However, this is only necessary for the index-based option as one is always asked to choose a location after selecting any of the other options for ripping in the action menu.
- these are my settings for the naming scheme:
.................%albumartist%\%albumtitle% %tracknr2% %title%
Here is an example of a file name: Both Ways Open Jaws 01.01 Dust It Off.
I do not see that there should be a reason for EAC to add any disc number.

BFG: thank you for this point. I do not wish to rip any multi cd-sets, though.
And to Surfi: I believe your comments are covered by the previous posts.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd July 2014 - 21:50