Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Convert WAV to WMA lossless? My Car only plays MP3, WMA, AAC-LC - help (Read 22532 times) previous topic - next topic

Convert WAV to WMA lossless? My Car only plays MP3, WMA, AAC-LC - help

Ok, here is a challenge for playing music in my car off of a USB stick, my requirements and constraints:

1 - I ripped my CD collection to WAV Lossless
2 - I currently use Foobar as my home medial player (to an outboard Benchmark DAC)
3 - My car can play music files on USB stick but only can play the following formats per my owner's manual:  MP3, WMA, AAC-LC

So a few questions.... go easy on me, I am a noob when it comes to these formats.... I am an audiophile and would like to use lossless files and I understand windows has a lossless option for their WMA format and it therefore, appears appealing to me. So, the following:

A - Is there a bulk converter for WAV to WMA lossless? I, for the life of me, cannot find one.
B - If such as converter does not exist, then what is the highest fidelity, least lossy format and associated bulk converter out there?  What format/configuration/bit rate/whatever....do you recommend given that my car can only play MP3, WMA, AAC-LC and my collection is ripped to WAV.

Thanx so much
Bruce in Philly
whttp://travelthroughpictures.com/

Reply #1
Many, if not most, devices that support WMA don't support WMA lossless.

Reply #2
Your car stereo cannot play WMA Lossless.

Reply #3