IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
metamp3 - command line tool
Martin H
post Mar 5 2007, 00:40
Post #51





Group: Members
Posts: 857
Joined: 5-March 05
From: Denmark
Member No.: 20365



@Tycho

Thank you so much for this great release Tycho. Also, this version is working perfectly without needing an external manifest file, so that is also great. Btw, i have also VC++ 2005 Express SP1 installed and have compiled and built wavpack.exe, wvunpack.exe and wvgain.exe and i didn't need an external manifest file there either. Anyway, i'm just glad that the issue is no longer present now. This version really kicks a** and once again, thank you so much for implementing my suggestions, i really appreciate it. Now the ID3v2.3 "mp3gain_undo" TXXX frame is deleted upon using the "--undo-gain" switch. The ID3v1 genres are being set up to number 147 perfectly and the ID3v2.3 TCON frames are not pre-fixed with the ID3v1 genre identify numbers anymore. Finally, ID3v1.1 tags are shown with their de-facto names. I am really excited about these changes and the tool is just awesome, so again, many thank's Tycho, for all your efforts. The only thing i would still like is to get an ID3v2.3 TCON frame set, when running "metamp3 --fit --genre Testing *.mp3", but since you haven't implemented that change, then you must then not think that it's logical and that's also perfectly fine with me and i'm just so gratefull for all the suggestions of mine that you do have implemented.

@Jebus

Thank's for letting me/us know about if you had any manifest file problems.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tycho
post Mar 5 2007, 15:49
Post #52





Group: Members
Posts: 345
Joined: 5-August 03
Member No.: 8183



Hmm. Windows 64 refuses to run metamp3 beta 4 (in 32-bit mode): 'The system cannot execute the specified program.' Strange, because v0.91 worked fine. I may have to create completely new project files.

@martin, thanks again. --fit will take unknown genres into account in the next release.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Martin H
post Mar 5 2007, 16:16
Post #53





Group: Members
Posts: 857
Joined: 5-March 05
From: Denmark
Member No.: 20365



@Tycho

Yesterday when i told you that this new beta worked on my system, then i can now see that this was only because i had just installed VC++ 2005 Express SP1, but i had no clue about that this was the reason for it working at that time. I only installed VC++ 2005 Express SP1 to make a couple of compiles and i didn't have any use for it after that, so i have just ghosted my C:\ drive back to a state just before i had installed VC++ 2005 Express SP1 and then when i was about to do some more tests with metamp3, then it again said "The system cannot execute the specified program" and so i had to make an external manifest file and place it in the apps folder and now it works again. I have the VC8 runtimes installed perfectly and it's the same problem on two PC's, and the evidence for that my VC8 runtime installs on the two PC's are working propperly, is that metamp3 v0.91 works without a problem and without a need for an external manifest file on both PC's.

Btw, i forgot to ask you about this at yesterday, so could you please tell me if i'm understanding the new displayed console message : "Arg Used: x x" right in that the first "x" is the number of metamp3.exe switches used and the final "x" is the total amount of commands/switches/parameters used in the whole command-line ?

Also, i'm very gratefull for you implementing my suggested change to the "--fit" switch for the next release, i really appreciate it.

Again, i can't thank you enough for all your efforts, my friend.

CU, Martin.

This post has been edited by Martin H: Mar 5 2007, 17:07
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Martin H
post Mar 5 2007, 21:29
Post #54





Group: Members
Posts: 857
Joined: 5-March 05
From: Denmark
Member No.: 20365



QUOTE (tycho @ Oct 30 2006, 23:28) *
[...] I'd like to add it to automatically write SoundCheck tag values for the iPod, when it computes and writes replaygain id3tags. A useful link is here, but I must know exactly how to convert the replaygain value to a SoundCheck value in order to do that.

Just in case you should have missed it :
QUOTE (Aero)
The C code for converting ReplayGain to SoundCheck is : soundcheck = 1000 * pow(10.0, (-0.1 * gain))

Source : http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....st&p=230971
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Martin H
post Mar 6 2007, 18:56
Post #55





Group: Members
Posts: 857
Joined: 5-March 05
From: Denmark
Member No.: 20365



Hi again, Tycho.

When having files called e.g. : "01 - TrackName.wav.mp3", then you can't run "metamp3 [...] *.mp3", but only "metamp3 [...] *.wav.mp3", as else the files isn't found.

Btw, i don't normally have files named like that, but i noticed it just because i had first tested something about genre setting with lame.exe and then afterwards used that output file to test something with metamp3.exe, and when you don't specify an output name to lame.exe, then it names the output files like that.

CU, Martin.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Martin H
post Mar 6 2007, 20:42
Post #56





Group: Members
Posts: 857
Joined: 5-March 05
From: Denmark
Member No.: 20365



I have also just noticed that the command-line parser in metamp3.exe treats the filename parameter case-sensitively, so if we have a file named "01 - TrackName.mp3", then this wouldn't work : metamp3 [...] "01 - trackname.mp3", but only this : metamp3 [...] "01 - "TrackName.mp3".
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Landoro
post Mar 6 2007, 23:17
Post #57





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 27-February 07
Member No.: 41012



@Tycho

Thanks for your excellent tool.
I appreciate the possibility to add the command line option for preserve the original file date and time.

For example:

mp3gain.exe
/p (Preserve original file timestamp)

metaflac.exe
--preserve-modtime (Preserve the original modification time in spite of edits)



Thanks.

This post has been edited by Landoro: Mar 6 2007, 23:19
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JJZolx
post Mar 11 2007, 22:47
Post #58





Group: Members
Posts: 396
Joined: 26-November 04
Member No.: 18345



QUOTE (tycho @ Mar 5 2007, 08:49) *
Hmm. Windows 64 refuses to run metamp3 beta 4 (in 32-bit mode): 'The system cannot execute the specified program.'

I get this same error when trying to run 0.92b4 in 32-bit Windows XP Pro.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Martin H
post Mar 12 2007, 00:49
Post #59





Group: Members
Posts: 857
Joined: 5-March 05
From: Denmark
Member No.: 20365



Instructions for getting the metamp3 beta to run :

First the VC8 runtimes needs to be installed, if they aren't allready :
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details...;displaylang=en

Then copy and paste the following text into a file named "metamp3.exe.manifest" and place it in metamp3's folder.
CODE
<assembly xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:asm.v1" manifestVersion="1.0">
  <dependency>
    <dependentAssembly>
      <assemblyIdentity type="win32" name="Microsoft.VC80.CRT" version="8.0.50608.0" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b"></assemblyIdentity>
    </dependentAssembly>
  </dependency>
</assembly>


Alternative solution for people that dosen't want to install the VC8 runtimes with the official installer :

First download "msvcr80.dll" and "msvcp80.dll" and place them + the above mentioned manifest file into metamp3's folder. Then another manifest file is needed, which also should be placed in metamp3's folder and named "microsoft.vc80.crt.manifest" :
CODE
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<!-- Copyright 1981-2001 Microsoft Corporation-->
<assembly xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:asm.v1"
                                 manifestVersion="1.0">
  <noInheritable/>
  <assemblyIdentity
    type="win32"
    name="Microsoft.VC80.CRT"
    version="8.0.50608.0"
    processorArchitecture="x86"
    publicKeyToken="1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b" />
  <file name="msvcr80.dll"/>
  <file name="msvcp80.dll"/>
</assembly>


Note: If having VC++ 2005 Express or Visual Studio 2005 installed, then metamp3 can run without any changes needed.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nyaochi
post Mar 12 2007, 14:00
Post #60





Group: Members
Posts: 169
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Tokyo, Japan
Member No.: 99



Hi tycho,

Thanks for the nice tool. There's no such handy and modern command-line tool for tagging MP3 files other than metamp3.

I have one fatal problem. As lapyu reported in the post #3, the current metamp3 still cannot handle multibyte characters in a filename. I uploaded the screenshot as you might not be familar with multi-byte characters.
http://nyaochi.sakura.ne.jp/temp/metamp3_ja.png
In short, metamp3 rejects MP3 files with Japanese names.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Nik
post Mar 22 2007, 23:40
Post #61





Group: Members
Posts: 127
Joined: 19-January 07
Member No.: 39814



1. Is metamp3 supporting /k option from mp3gain, so it prevents clipping?

I don't see it in the list of command line parameters.

Usage
-----
metamp3.exe [options] [mp3files]

options:
--artist <artist> audio/song artist
--album <album> audio/song album
--track <track>[/total] audio/song track number
--title <title> audio/song title
--year <year> audio/song year of issue (1 to 9999)
--genre <genre> audio/song genre name
--comment [[desc]][{lng}]<text> add user-defined text
--user-text [[desc]]<text> add user text frame (TXXX)
--user-url [[desc]]<URL> add user URL frame (WXXX)
--frame <frame:text> set any T* or W* type frame
--pict [[desc]][{type}]<file> add picture artwork
--save-pict <pict> pict=[[desc]][{type}]<file>
--list-pict-types list possible picture type numbers
--list-frames list Text and URL id3v2.3 frames
--list-genres list standard id3v1.1 genres
--1 add id3v1 tag only (default both v1 and v2)
--2 add id3v2 tag only (--1 --2 will add both)
--fit add id3v1 + id3v2 if tag does not fit id3v1
--remove [[desc]]<frame> remove frame(s). accepts wildcards *,?
--replay-gain calculate and set replay gain tags
--apply-gain <gain> change volume. gain=[album|radio]<+dB|-dB>
--undo-gain undo previous apply-gain
--info print detailed mp3/lametag info
--version show version info
--info show this help

I like that it writes ID3v2 tags, instead of APEv2

2. When it calculates and applies Replay Gain, does it do album gain or track gain?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LazyBoy
post Mar 23 2007, 13:57
Post #62





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 21-July 06
Member No.: 33138



Why not use/preserve the mp3gain style tags?

I'm a fan of mp3gain and EAC, which has led me to REACT and metamp3. Reading about metamp3, I can't help but wonder why you didn't want to be compatible with mp3gain.

It seems that the ability to use either tool (without re-analysis & without two sets of tags if you run mp3gain after metamp3) would be good. Must I give up mp3gain if I use metamp3?

Are the APEv2 tags so distasteful?

LB

This post has been edited by LazyBoy: Mar 23 2007, 14:03
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Nik
post Mar 23 2007, 14:46
Post #63





Group: Members
Posts: 127
Joined: 19-January 07
Member No.: 39814



QUOTE (LazyBoy @ Mar 23 2007, 13:57) *
Why not use/preserve the mp3gain style tags?

I'm a fan of mp3gain and EAC, which has led me to REACT and metamp3. Reading about metamp3, I can't help but wonder why you didn't want to be compatible with mp3gain.

It seems that the ability to use either tool (without re-analysis & without two sets of tags if you run mp3gain after metamp3) would be good. Must I give up mp3gain if I use metamp3?

Are the APEv2 tags so distasteful?

LB


Not really.
They use same source, so they are more or less the same.
The only reasons why I would like ID3 instead of APE is consistency (lame writes other tags in ID3 format) and avoiding possible problems in the future.
I read that some players had (or still have) problems reading APE tags.
But, I'm using WinAmp, so I should be O.K.

Much bigger issue is clipping.
I would like to use some equivalent of /k option in metamp3, so I'm protected from clipping, but I don't see it
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kolossal
post Mar 23 2007, 15:48
Post #64





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 14-February 07
Member No.: 40630



This is exaclty the tool that i need, but i'm a linux user...
Any chance for a Linux release anytime soon?
Thanks
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LazyBoy
post Mar 23 2007, 20:38
Post #65





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 21-July 06
Member No.: 33138



QUOTE (Nik @ Mar 23 2007, 09:46) *
I read that some players had (or still have) problems reading APE tags.

Players don't need to read the mp3gain tags.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tycho
post Mar 23 2007, 23:35
Post #66





Group: Members
Posts: 345
Joined: 5-August 03
Member No.: 8183



Hi all,
As you probably can guess, I am terrible occupied so I haven't been able to work much on metamp3 (or REACT). When there is time, adding all mp3gain (equivalent) options should be fairly easy. Also allowing multi-byte char filenames, and UTF-8 support if it's not too hard should be next. I don't think a Linux will be made in the near future, I'm afraid.

You should also look at the recent lame patch made by john33 that allows to add both command line album art frame and any text-frame id3v2.3 tags.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jebus
post Mar 24 2007, 18:29
Post #67





Group: Developer
Posts: 1293
Joined: 17-March 03
From: Calgary, AB
Member No.: 5541



QUOTE (tycho @ Mar 23 2007, 15:35) *
Hi all,
As you probably can guess, I am terrible occupied so I haven't been able to work much on metamp3 (or REACT). When there is time, adding all mp3gain (equivalent) options should be fairly easy. Also allowing multi-byte char filenames, and UTF-8 support if it's not too hard should be next. I don't think a Linux will be made in the near future, I'm afraid.

You should also look at the recent lame patch made by john33 that allows to add both command line album art frame and any text-frame id3v2.3 tags.


Thanks Tycho! I'd use Lame's built-in routines, but you can't tag an existing mp3 with them AFAICT (only encode a new one).

Could you please, at your earliest op, at least roll a static binary with no dependencies so people without visual studio can use this .exe without any manifest or .dlls or such? This beta seems to be working fine!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mRuss
post Mar 29 2007, 02:43
Post #68





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 29-March 07
Member No.: 41973



Tycho, please update your readme.txt file with the link to the VC++ runtime files that users need to have installed for your program to work.

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details...;displaylang=en

I had much trouble getting REACT to function because it uses your program and their documentation does not mention the runtime files either.

Other than that, your program works very well and very fast. Thanks for your efforts.

Russ.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tycho
post Mar 29 2007, 08:59
Post #69





Group: Members
Posts: 345
Joined: 5-August 03
Member No.: 8183



QUOTE (mRuss @ Mar 28 2007, 17:43) *
Tycho, please update your readme.txt file with the link to the VC++ runtime files that users need to have installed for your program to work.

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details...;displaylang=en

I had much trouble getting REACT to function because it uses your program and their documentation does not mention the runtime files either.

Other than that, your program works very well and very fast. Thanks for your efforts.

Russ.


I will. However, the reason why the beta versions doesn't work for most people is because they were compiled with VC++ 2005 SP1. It requires a new vcredist_x86-sp1.exe which is not available from Microsoft's site - nore is it included in the VC 2005 Express installation!!! It is however in the VC++ 2005 Standard version. I can get hold of this file, but then I'm not sure I am allowed to redistribute it, although the name should imply it wink.gif

There are three ways:
1) Distribute vcredist_x86-sp1.exe (if legal)
2) Uninstall SP1, recompile
3) Link statically with runtime libraries: compiler option /MT instead of /MD. This will create a rather bloated .exe file, but should always work!

Any suggestions?


Edit: read the gory details about all the problems with SP1: http://blogs.msdn.com/vcblog/archive/2006/...1-released.aspx

This post has been edited by tycho: Mar 29 2007, 09:00
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Nik
post Mar 29 2007, 11:16
Post #70





Group: Members
Posts: 127
Joined: 19-January 07
Member No.: 39814



QUOTE (LazyBoy @ Mar 23 2007, 20:38) *
QUOTE (Nik @ Mar 23 2007, 09:46) *

I read that some players had (or still have) problems reading APE tags.

Players don't need to read the mp3gain tags.

If they cannot read mp3gain tags (i.e. Replay Gain tags) then they are what's on this forum usually called non-Replay Gain aware players.
They will play with the gain adjusted with mp3gain.
However Replay Gain aware players (the ones that can read mp3gain tags) have two advantages:
1. They can adjust gain more precisely (non RG aware players have resolution of 1.5dB)
2. You can choose whether to play tracks with AlbumGain or TrackGain.
With non-RG aware player, you can play with the gain which is applied to the track and that can be only one of them, of course.

Everyone will decide for himself whether these two issues are important to him.

I showed examples and more details in the guide, to get clearer picture.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Martin H
post Mar 29 2007, 11:35
Post #71





Group: Members
Posts: 857
Joined: 5-March 05
From: Denmark
Member No.: 20365



QUOTE (tycho @ Mar 29 2007, 09:59) *
There are three ways:
1) Distribute vcredist_x86-sp1.exe (if legal)
2) Uninstall SP1, recompile
3) Link statically with runtime libraries: compiler option /MT instead of /MD. This will create a rather bloated .exe file, but should always work!

Any suggestions?

Ahh, nice to know what the problem was about smile.gif Just do whatever you preffer, but i would personally link statically smile.gif Thank's, mate.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tycho
post Mar 29 2007, 16:00
Post #72





Group: Members
Posts: 345
Joined: 5-August 03
Member No.: 8183



I have made a link to vcredist_x86-sp1.exe in the first post (which should fix all manifest problems), and also made a link to metamp3 0.92 beta 5. I built that some time ago, and don't exactly remember what it fixed (probably a minor thing). More details later.

edit: now I remember: command line syntax changed a little. Hopefully more consistent.

This post has been edited by tycho: Mar 29 2007, 16:10
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jebus
post Mar 29 2007, 17:34
Post #73





Group: Developer
Posts: 1293
Joined: 17-March 03
From: Calgary, AB
Member No.: 5541



A static binary would be excellent.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Nik
post Mar 30 2007, 09:58
Post #74





Group: Members
Posts: 127
Joined: 19-January 07
Member No.: 39814



QUOTE (Nik @ Mar 22 2007, 23:40) *
1. Is metamp3 supporting /k option from mp3gain, so it prevents clipping?

2. When it calculates and applies Replay Gain, does it do album gain or track gain?


Anyone can answer this?
I would guess from Tycho's reply that answer on 1. is No. sad.gif

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tycho
post Apr 2 2007, 09:03
Post #75





Group: Members
Posts: 345
Joined: 5-August 03
Member No.: 8183



1. Next version will support the prevent clipping option, along with other mp3gain options (equals).

2. It does both when specifying multiple input files, e.g. *.mp3, just like mp3gain. Only track gain when specifying one input file.

edit: also, the executable will be linked statically with the VC8 runtime libraries.

This post has been edited by tycho: Apr 2 2007, 09:04
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th August 2014 - 05:27