IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Picture resizing problem in Winamp
mattdm11
post Nov 18 2009, 06:11
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 5-January 08
Member No.: 50201



I just noticed this (after, over the past year, bringing in hundreds of album covers)....Winamp does not import a .jpg correctly into the music folder you are bringing it into. Let's see if I can explain....

I get all my artwork from www.albumartexchange.com. Everything is 600x600, and pretty good quality. Anyway, I always download the .jpg to my desktop, then while I have the music files playing in Winamp, right click on a song, go to the artwork tab, and click on "load artwork". I search through Winamp for the .jpg, find it on my desktop, and then hit OK - album art is now in the correct folder, and I'm done. However, I just noticed that if, for example, the .jpg I downloaded is 500K in size, Winamp, while keeping it 600x600, lowers the quality and the file becomes a third or so of the size (150K).

Why would Winamp do this? I'm pretty annoyed, because the .jpgs all have a little downgrade in quality. On some, it's very hard to notice...but on ones with a lot of solid color, it's obvious.

Do I have a setting screwed up in Winamp that does this, or is this just a bug? Or maybe not even a bug, but just a really stupid feature? The most annoying part is doing it the way I have been over the past year or so, Winamp, while screwing up the picture, at least changes the name of the .jpg from whatever it was to the correct filename when importing into the folder. Now, the only alternative to get the unaltered .jpg into the music folder is to download the new picture, change the name manually, and drag it into the folder I want manually. There's no other way to do it that I can think of.

What a pain in the butt! What am I doing wrong?

This post has been edited by mattdm11: Nov 18 2009, 06:14
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
56Nomad
post Nov 29 2009, 23:12
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 56
Joined: 16-March 04
Member No.: 12758



Winamp defaults to "Album Name.ext" and keeps it in the folder containing the tracks. If a track is playing and you right-click the blank album art panel, it will do a search and you pick the cover you want - Winamp stores it in the correct folder with the correct name. The other option is to grab the art manually from your web site, save it as "Album Name.ext" and move it manually to the correct folder, rather than making Winamp do it.
If you want your art from a specific site, just change the name when you save it, then use Explorer to move it to the right folder. No conversions, no loss, no name changing.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mattdm11
post Nov 29 2009, 23:23
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 5-January 08
Member No.: 50201



QUOTE (56Nomad @ Nov 29 2009, 17:12) *
Winamp defaults to "Album Name.ext" and keeps it in the folder containing the tracks. If a track is playing and you right-click the blank album art panel, it will do a search and you pick the cover you want - Winamp stores it in the correct folder with the correct name. The other option is to grab the art manually from your web site, save it as "Album Name.ext" and move it manually to the correct folder, rather than making Winamp do it.
If you want your art from a specific site, just change the name when you save it, then use Explorer to move it to the right folder. No conversions, no loss, no name changing.


agreed...I found that out the hard way. I guess my point was - why does Winamp change the .jpg file when you use the software to import? Why can't it bring it in losslessly?

I've noticed that in Foobar, you have to change the artwork to "folder.jpg" for it to show up - is there any way for Foobar to recognize the album art when it has "album name.jpg" as opposed to "folder.jpg"?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tpijag
post Nov 29 2009, 23:42
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2354
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 53637



You have more choices in current Foobar.
Default install of Foobar will recognize art as you described.

terry

This post has been edited by tpijag: Nov 29 2009, 23:43
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mattdm11
post Nov 29 2009, 23:50
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 5-January 08
Member No.: 50201



QUOTE (tpijag @ Nov 29 2009, 17:42) *
You have more choices in current Foobar.
Default install of Foobar will recognize art as you described.

terry


So I need to upgrade Foobar? I am also using the Columns UI....does that matter?

Sorry for all the Foobar questions...I am still pretty new at it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tpijag
post Nov 29 2009, 23:54
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 2354
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 53637



Yes it matters.

CUI has not yet been updated to use the new art viewer.

I believe there are alternatives available to you. Ask your question in the CUI thread.

terry

EDIT: I do not use CUI so information may not be correct. Nevertheless, you will get better answers if you ask Foobar specific questions within the Foobar forums.

This post has been edited by tpijag: Nov 29 2009, 23:57
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th December 2014 - 01:25