IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Unable to hear audio, On just one of my DVDs...
Mac
post Dec 2 2003, 00:28
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 650
Joined: 28-July 02
From: B'ham UK
Member No.: 2828



I have a strange problem, in that I can't hear any audio from my latest DVD - the Brass Eye series & special episode.

I am using MPC 6.4.7.1 both to play the DVD directly, and the DVD Decrypter ISO which I made for backups. This is the only DVD I have come across with this problem and it's really baffling me.

The only difference I can tell between it and my other DVD's is that this one is 7.1gb in size, whereas all the others have been around the 4gb mark - so I think it has to be a different kind of disc.

MPC reports the audio as being AC3 48000hz 16bits 2 channels - so there should be no reason why the format is the problem, as this is just the same as other discs.

The other anomaly is I *can* hear the audio during the first Title chapter (VCI's logo) - but during the menu, episodes and extras I just get silence??


The only thing I could guess at is my DVD drive (LITE ON LTD163D) can't read 7gb discs properly and so borked on both my attempts to read the disc, and when I ripped the ISO. Although, the episodes play perfectly (I watched a bit with subtitles before giving up - and have flicked through to check they work) - so to be honest I am completely lost for ideas?


--------------------
< w o g o n e . c o m / l o l >
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DAvenger
post Dec 2 2003, 00:34
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 252
Joined: 15-May 03
From: Bratislava, SK
Member No.: 6640



You should try to play that DVD with WinDVD or PowerDVD just to make sure it's not a codec problem.


--------------------
Reklama na internete - http://www.consultone.sk
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tuning
post Dec 2 2003, 06:02
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 5-November 03
Member No.: 9664



I suspect the DVD contains only DTS audio. Please check . Other wise try re-installing ac3filter.


--------------------
THE LAST AAC ENTHUSIAST[2.0 & 5.1]
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sshd
post Dec 2 2003, 06:56
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 210
Joined: 16-June 03
Member No.: 7218



I have seen this twice before. Just open the .IFO file - not the .VOB files directly.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mac
post Dec 2 2003, 20:05
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 650
Joined: 28-July 02
From: B'ham UK
Member No.: 2828



Thanks for the answers - sshd fixed the problem smile.gif

I can already play DTS as I have a music DVD with it, and I really don't want to install crapware (any video player other than MPC!)


--------------------
< w o g o n e . c o m / l o l >
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th October 2014 - 07:24