IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Foobar and flac
penvzila
post Mar 28 2003, 08:18
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 157
Joined: 16-August 02
From: 地獄
Member No.: 3077



Is there a way to make foobar display the bitrate of flac files, or is that just the way flac is? Winamp displays a bitrate for them, but is it correct?


--------------------
地獄
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Curi0us_George
post Mar 28 2003, 08:35
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 992
Joined: 17-March 03
Member No.: 5544



Is that information actually useful, since flac is lossless compression?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
URMEL
post Mar 28 2003, 15:20
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 67
Joined: 20-January 03
Member No.: 4657



I think it isn't displayed because FLAC is lossless as said by George. You could have bitrate by dividing filesize/seconds of playtime. BUt would this make sense? I dont think so.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Case
post Mar 28 2003, 15:22
Post #4





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2185
Joined: 19-October 01
From: Finland
Member No.: 322



QUOTE (penvzila @ Mar 28 2003 - 09:18 AM)
Is there a way to make foobar display the bitrate of flac files, or is that just the way flac is?  Winamp displays a bitrate for them, but is it correct?

Wait for 0.6 or use this foo_flac.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
penvzila
post Mar 29 2003, 08:57
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 157
Joined: 16-August 02
From: 地獄
Member No.: 3077



The only reason I asked was that winamp displays a bitrate for flac files, usually 700-800. I KNOW they're lossless, so I geuss it was a stupid question.


--------------------
地獄
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Garf
post Mar 29 2003, 10:12
Post #6


Server Admin


Group: Admin
Posts: 4883
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 13



The file being losslessy compressed has NOTHING WHATSOEVER to do with having a bitrate display, the original question was certainly relevant.

The input is a datastream at a certain amount of kbps which is variable and varies depending on the encoded data. No difference between lossy and lossless. The output is a fixed bitrate stream. Also no difference between losssy and lossless.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 2nd August 2014 - 06:14