IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
How to install sox 14.4.1 in foobar 2000?
hatrack71
post Feb 27 2013, 16:27
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 27-February 13
Member No.: 106920



I have an older version of the sox resampler in my foobar. Not even sure which version. How do I install the newest one to work in foobar and play mostly flac files? Will 14.4.1 even work in foobar?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Apesbrain
post Feb 27 2013, 16:42
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 489
Joined: 3-January 04
Member No.: 10915



Read -> http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....st&p=823001
Current version is 0.8.3 -> http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....=67373&st=0
Existing discussion thread -> http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....showtopic=67376

You don't need Sox resampler to play FLAC files. Describe what you are trying to do and someone can hopefully help.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hatrack71
post Feb 27 2013, 16:52
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 27-February 13
Member No.: 106920



QUOTE (Apesbrain @ Feb 27 2013, 08:42) *
Read -> http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....st&p=823001
Current version is 0.8.3 -> http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....=67373&st=0
Existing discussion thread -> http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....showtopic=67376

You don't need Sox resampler to play FLAC files. Describe what you are trying to do and someone can hopefully help.



I'm only trying to upsample. I realize I don't need sox to play flac files. I was just wondering if there was any benefit to 14.4.1 for foobar over past releases. I have 0.8.3 already. When I ran 14.4.1, it installed two shortcuts on my desktop- sox.exe and wget.exe. I then went into program files to see what sox 14.4.1 had for components and found two. Do I just copy and paste them into foobar components or do I even need not worry about 14.4.1? Sorry if I sound like a newb, but I am.

This post has been edited by hatrack71: Feb 27 2013, 16:58
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Rollin
post Feb 27 2013, 17:25
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 192
Joined: 5-March 08
Member No.: 51815



You even don't need worry. "0.8.3" is number of foobar2000's plugin version and not SoX version.

This post has been edited by Rollin: Feb 27 2013, 17:28
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Apesbrain
post Feb 27 2013, 17:38
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 489
Joined: 3-January 04
Member No.: 10915



lvqcl's SoX Resampler uses its own DLL; those EXE files won't make a difference. You'll need to wait until/if he/someone else updates it. The first thread above suggests for now there is no functional reason to do so. You're good.

The next SoX release is planned to have a faster "rate" routine, so maybe that will be reason to update:
http://sox.git.sourceforge.net/git/gitweb....angeLog;hb=HEAD
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Feb 27 2013, 18:44
Post #6





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



QUOTE (hatrack71 @ Feb 27 2013, 15:52) *
I'm only trying to upsample.
Not because you mistakenly think it will improve quality, I hope.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bandpass
post Feb 27 2013, 20:42
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 326
Joined: 3-August 08
From: UK
Member No.: 56644



QUOTE (Apesbrain @ Feb 27 2013, 16:38) *
lvqcl's SoX Resampler uses its own DLL; those EXE files won't make a difference. You'll need to wait until/if he/someone else updates it. ...

The next SoX release is planned to have a faster "rate" routine, so maybe that will be reason to update

No need, lvqcl's SoX Resampler is already up to date with the latest SoX source (even though SoX itself hasn't released it yet).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hatrack71
post Feb 28 2013, 02:15
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 27-February 13
Member No.: 106920



So which is the best version? The sox resampler, sox resampler mod or sox resampler mod 2?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Rollin
post Feb 28 2013, 08:59
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 192
Joined: 5-March 08
Member No.: 51815



QUOTE (hatrack71 @ Feb 28 2013, 05:15) *
So which is the best version? The sox resampler, sox resampler mod or sox resampler mod 2?

QUOTE (lvqcl @ Mar 6 2009, 02:28) *
Modified version allows you to set a list of input frequencies that will pass through the plugin, unmodified. Or it can choose proper output frequency from the list.
*_mod: It doesn't resample the frequencies that you enter in the text field.
*_mod2: It resamples only the frequencies that you enter in the field.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th September 2014 - 17:30