IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Weird results using foo_flaccer
greeny
post Feb 5 2004, 19:34
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 13-July 03
Member No.: 7742



Hi,

foo_flaccer.dll seems to act very strange for me. Whenever I encode a file using foo_flaccer (I'm keeping full albums stored as single FLAC files) and want to play it back afterwards, seeking is terribly slow.
Also, some of the tracks (I'm using a seperate .CUE file) can't be played back at all.
The console just comes up and says something like this:
QUOTE
ERROR (CORE) : error opening file for playback :
INFO (CORE) : location: "file://F:\FLAC\Black HipHop, RnB\Obie Trice\(2003) Cheers\Obie Trice - (2003) Cheers.cue" (6)

It also seems that decoding is very slow.

The weird thing is, when I'm using the CLI encoder along with flac.exe (1.1.0) from the FLAC homepage, seeking is almost instantly and all the tracks can be played back. Decoding is quite fast too. The playback generally seems much smoother.

I don't know if that helps, but I'm using an AthlonXP2200+, fully patched WinXP SP1, an SBAudigy Player and foobar0.8b6. The problem exists in foobar 0.7.7b too as far as I saw.

Thanks in advance.

Edit: I just noticed this might fit better in the Support forum, but didn't find a move or delete function anywhere so... sorry wink.gif

This post has been edited by greeny: Feb 5 2004, 19:40
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
madah
post Feb 5 2004, 21:21
Post #2





Group: Developer
Posts: 202
Joined: 13-February 02
From: Sweden
Member No.: 1318



Just tested it and I can confirm it. (fb2k 0.8 beta 6 + foo_flaccer 0.4.0).

The output flac-file is missing the SEEKTABLE block, thus making seeking very slow for large files.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greeny
post Feb 5 2004, 21:42
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 13-July 03
Member No.: 7742



I just noticed that one of my CLI-encoded FLAC files has got the same problem with one track not being able to be played back... anyone know what's up with that?

I got suspicious because I added replaygain info to alle the tracks and one of them says +0.00dB. The file has obviously been skipped. If I try to play it back I get the error described above. All the other tracks from the album play fine. Kind of weird as it is the same file for all of them.

Edit: I uploaded an image for you to see.



This post has been edited by greeny: Feb 5 2004, 21:46
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Speek
post Feb 5 2004, 22:19
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 394
Joined: 31-October 01
Member No.: 386



Hi Greeny,

Sorry for going off topic, but are those percentages in your screenshot ("FLAC(62%)") the compression ratios? If so, how do you get them?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greeny
post Feb 5 2004, 22:24
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 13-July 03
Member No.: 7742



QUOTE (Speek @ Feb 5 2004, 01:19 PM)
Hi Greeny,

Sorry for going off topic, but are those percentages in your screenshot ("FLAC(62%)") the compression ratios? If so, how do you get them?

It's the FLAC files' sizes compared to the WAVs' sizes.
You can do it like that:
CODE
$muldiv(%__bitrate%,100,1411)


This post has been edited by greeny: Feb 5 2004, 22:25
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Speek
post Feb 5 2004, 22:33
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 394
Joined: 31-October 01
Member No.: 386



That's nice. Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Case
post Feb 6 2004, 18:18
Post #7





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2181
Joined: 19-October 01
From: Finland
Member No.: 322



I am tired of FLAC library and won't be working on foo_flaccer anymore. People who need FLAC support should stick to using flac.exe
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
goweropolis
post Feb 6 2004, 18:58
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 210
Joined: 17-April 02
From: Vancouver, Canada
Member No.: 1807



Too bad a good file format seems to have an developer-unfriendly library. I guess we can still use the CLI for FLAC.exe. Unless someone else picks up on Case's good work.


--------------------
http://goweropolis.no-ip.org:8080/blog/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greeny
post Feb 6 2004, 18:59
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 13-July 03
Member No.: 7742



Fair enough, thanks for the response Case.

But I still wonder why I can't seek up to certain tracks.
It works if I embed the cuesheet in the FLAC file, but can it be that the format NEEDS to have seekpoints where the tracks begin?

I rather think there's some bug in foo_flac, but tell me if I'm wrong wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Case
post Feb 6 2004, 19:06
Post #10





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2181
Joined: 19-October 01
From: Finland
Member No.: 322



QUOTE (greeny @ Feb 6 2004, 07:59 PM)
But I still wonder why I can't seek up to certain tracks.
It works if I embed the cuesheet in the FLAC file, but can it be that the format NEEDS to have seekpoints where the tracks begin?

I rather think there's some bug in foo_flac, but tell me if I'm wrong wink.gif

Bug in libflac. It has been reported to Coalson and as far as I know he has been sent links to samples where this occurs.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greeny
post Feb 6 2004, 20:51
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 13-July 03
Member No.: 7742



Ok, thanks for the information.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jcoalson
post Mar 23 2004, 05:49
Post #12


FLAC Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1526
Joined: 27-February 02
Member No.: 1408



OK, the problem that was causing playback to stop after some seeks has been fixed in libFLAC in CVS (see end of thread here).

as for the problem with slow seeking on large files with no seektable, I have a patch that speeds that up drastically; I haven't committed it yet until I do some more testing.

Josh
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th July 2014 - 09:02