IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

5 Pages V  « < 3 4 5  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
foobar2000 for Mac OS X [moderation—404, outdated, etc.; see post 119], app bundle
dannymichel
post Mar 27 2011, 23:24
Post #101





Group: Members
Posts: 159
Joined: 19-January 08
Member No.: 50606



is there a newer version of this? or a new way to do it?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Mar 27 2011, 23:40
Post #102





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



You could use WineSkin, which recently received a much improved version 2. It should be fairly simple; just install that and then install foobar2000 into a Wrapper (quite easy to do).

This post has been edited by dv1989: Mar 27 2011, 23:40
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Moomba
post Mar 31 2011, 23:31
Post #103





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 31-March 11
Member No.: 89464



I can't find the components folder. As a matter of fact, there's no Wine-folder at all... Am I the only one this has happened to? I removed and reinstalled it once, but there's still no Wine-folder in Library\Application Support. Typing "Wine" into Spotlight gives me nothing.

I still have no music on the computer (got it yesterday) so I haven't been able to test anything really, but I thought tinkering around with extensions could be done anyhow...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
frogworth
post Apr 1 2011, 11:16
Post #104





Group: Members
Posts: 176
Joined: 30-December 09
Member No.: 76511



QUOTE (Moomba @ Apr 1 2011, 08:31) *
I can't find the components folder. As a matter of fact, there's no Wine-folder at all... Am I the only one this has happened to? I removed and reinstalled it once, but there's still no Wine-folder in Library\Application Support. Typing "Wine" into Spotlight gives me nothing.


It's not .wine in your home folder?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Moomba
post Apr 1 2011, 12:40
Post #105





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 31-March 11
Member No.: 89464



QUOTE (frogworth @ Apr 1 2011, 12:16) *
QUOTE (Moomba @ Apr 1 2011, 08:31) *
I can't find the components folder. As a matter of fact, there's no Wine-folder at all... Am I the only one this has happened to? I removed and reinstalled it once, but there's still no Wine-folder in Library\Application Support. Typing "Wine" into Spotlight gives me nothing.


It's not .wine in your home folder?

I tried restarting, but it didn't show up, so made a quick try with WineSkin (as dv1989 suggested), and then the folder was there (along with a Wineskin folder). Don't know why, but I guess the problem is solved...

This post has been edited by Moomba: Apr 1 2011, 12:41
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Apr 1 2011, 13:41
Post #106





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



I assume it was because of this:
QUOTE (Dibrom)
The download is ~60MB, mostly because it is bundled with Wine. If you already have Wine installed, this should still work perfectly – it should just use the local Wine configuration contained in the app bundle and ignore your previous installation. Nothing is installed to your system directories so your existing version of Wine won't be overwritten or anything like that.
In other words, the folder you were looking for was probably inside the application package; if so, it could be accessed by right-clicking on the app, selecting Show Package Contents, and checking the folders inside.

Edit: WineSkin similarly embeds Wine in user-created wrappers (apps), but according to your latest post it seems to also create a 'normal' installation.

This post has been edited by dv1989: Apr 1 2011, 14:30
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
toke
post Apr 8 2011, 00:34
Post #107





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 27-November 03
Member No.: 10061



QUOTE (Dibrom @ Dec 30 2009, 14:39) *
In the updated version I uploaded, I removed the Audio CD support component. I just didn't update the screenshots.

Does this mean that the previous version did have cd ripping?
If this is the case can you also offer the previous package?
Or better yet repackage the new one to include cs ripping.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
frogworth
post Apr 9 2011, 09:54
Post #108





Group: Members
Posts: 176
Joined: 30-December 09
Member No.: 76511



QUOTE (toke @ Apr 8 2011, 09:34) *
Does this mean that the previous version did have cd ripping?
If this is the case can you also offer the previous package?
Or better yet repackage the new one to include cs ripping.


The OP can clarify, but AFAIK, Wine still doesn't support access to either optical drives or USB ports, so you can't rip Audio CDs and you can't access iPods with foo_dop etc. Unfortunate - this is essentially why I run foobar in full Windows inside a VM instead of using Wine.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
4nt1
post May 2 2011, 06:59
Post #109





Group: Members
Posts: 494
Joined: 3-January 05
Member No.: 18811



any chance of an update??
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post May 2 2011, 09:58
Post #110





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Dibrom rarely logs in nowadays, so perhaps not. However, it shouldn’t be difficult to create an updated wrapper yourself; see my post #102 above.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bruder_s
post May 26 2011, 22:42
Post #111





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 26-May 11
Member No.: 91000



Hello,

I've created a little program that enables controlling Foobar2000 via hotkeys, uncreatively named FooHttpController:


Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Some info:

First of all, this is my first project for the Mac platform, so please don't expect too much.
Also, this is the first version which I think is 'releaseable'...

I'm using a version v.1.1.6 of Foobar2000 installed via Crossover (worked on first try).

In order to use the app, you need to have the foo_httpcontrol component installed (http://code.google.com/p/foo-httpcontrol/) with the default template.

The default hotkeys are OPTION+Y for play, OPTION+X for pause, OPTION+C for stop, OPTION+V for previous track and OPTION+B for next track.
I've got a german macbook, so maybe OPTION+Y is a bad choice - but you can redefine the hotkeys via a preferences window (COMMAND+,).
Unfortunately, I haven't found out if it it possible at all to use the media keys - that would be the ultimate goal (replacing iTunes behaviour).

Finally, here's the app: https://rapidshare.com/files/1934574921/Foo...troller.app.zip

Regards
bruder_s
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smok3
post May 27 2011, 12:31
Post #112


A/V Moderator


Group: Moderator
Posts: 1742
Joined: 30-April 02
From: Slovenia
Member No.: 1922



ill see what i can do, if:
- this re-wrapping is legal? from foobar's point of view?
- the file size wont go ballistic


--------------------
PANIC: CPU 1: Cache Error (unrecoverable - dcache data) Eframe = 0x90000000208cf3b8
NOTICE - cpu 0 didn't dump TLB, may be hung
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
diorgui
post May 30 2011, 10:10
Post #113





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 30-May 11
Member No.: 91092



Hey everyone! Just to say that the installer on the first page works great!!
I did read the full topic but didn't find if anyone could find a easier or a way that the app runs faster on a macbook, if yes please let me know!

I registered myself first to thanks the port, it's a great deal! I use foobar on my PC, but since I started to travel etc, and my travel notebook it's a mac, I needed to be a itunes user (actually Ecoute trial-user atm), but I really loved the way I could tag and organize my mp3 on foobar, couldn't find a match for it that works on mac, so I downloaded the port presented here and it worked! Masstagger works great!! BUT the rename operation in the foo_fileops.dll from the pack isn't working. Does anyone know what to do to make it work? Didn't find a way to download just the .dll to try update it.

thanks for reading! again, thank you for the port
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dimi_ghost
post Jun 3 2011, 12:16
Post #114





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 13-September 10
Member No.: 83813



hello,

do you have file drag'n'drop working?

i've tried the installer proposed in this topic but it reindexes all my library on each startup, which takes lots of time.
i also tried WineSkin, reindexing seems ok, but drag'n'drop did not work....
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
callisto
post Jun 3 2011, 13:19
Post #115





Group: Members
Posts: 362
Joined: 2-September 06
From: Berlin, Germany
Member No.: 34723



QUOTE (bruder_s @ May 26 2011, 23:42) *
Hello,

I've created a little program that enables controlling Foobar2000 via hotkeys, uncreatively named FooHttpController:

[...]

Finally, here's the app: https://rapidshare.com/files/1934574921/Foo...troller.app.zip

Regards
bruder_s


That's really really nice, thx! Would be awesome if you can get the multimedia keys working. I found out that Songbird did achieve it with a plug-in, maybe this could be helpful. MMFix "fixes" the issue that iTunes is launched by pressing the play button. smile.gif
Besides than that it would be awesome to have it only as an icon in the menubar. So it does not clutter the dock.

regards, callisto


--------------------
fb2k on OSX: flac q8 > rockboxed Sansa e280v1: Vorbis q5.0
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
toke
post May 18 2012, 21:00
Post #116





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 27-November 03
Member No.: 10061



I've used the original bundle and iTunes reports AAC encoded with Nero 1.5.3.
Is this right?
Nero's page does not even list this version?
Some ancient betas?
Is there anywhere complete version history of neroAAC / neroDigital?

This post has been edited by toke: May 18 2012, 21:01
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fluxcore
post Jun 28 2012, 05:15
Post #117





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 28-June 12
Member No.: 101050



QUOTE (callisto @ Jun 4 2011, 00:19) *
That's really really nice, thx! Would be awesome if you can get the multimedia keys working. I found out that Songbird did achieve it with a plug-in, maybe this could be helpful. MMFix "fixes" the issue that iTunes is launched by pressing the play button. smile.gif
Besides than that it would be awesome to have it only as an icon in the menubar. So it does not clutter the dock.

regards, callisto



Since bruder_s was so kind as to release his source on GitHub, I hacked extremely basic media key support onto this plugin (it now responds to the "play" button and sends a PlayOrPause action). I'm using a MS Natural ergo 4000 keyboard, so it's the only one I've got. I can probably hack in the other buttons if people want, but I can't test them easily.

The setup for all the rest of the plugin is the same, and additionally if you don't want iTunes firing up every time you press the PLAY button, install http://nomitsu.com/contents/MMFix.dmg to stop it (seems to work in lion 10.7.3).

Here's the app:
http://bayfiles.com/file/eQgR/zarFFA/FooHttpControllerM.zip

If bruder_s wants the code or for me to commit back to the repository, that's fine smile.gif

Cheers,
--flux

This post has been edited by fluxcore: Jun 28 2012, 05:48
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DutchDoctor
post Jul 21 2012, 10:43
Post #118





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 18-September 08
Member No.: 58398



Hi everyone. I have been a longtime Foobar lover and I have only recently purchased my first Mac (for audio production).
I am using Clementine at the moment and it has a lot of potential but it's very early stages yet. This bundle sounds great, but the link is long since expired...

Is anyone willing to post an updated download link for the bundle?
Thanks.

Dutchy.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jul 21 2012, 10:50
Post #119





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Just download Wineskin and bundle foobar2000 yourself. By which I mean the current version, not the immensely outdated one you would have gotten here. The process is trivial.

Nothing personal, but since you reminded me: I am tempted to lock this or at least amend the first post, for (1) as I said, the original bundle is ancient and now 404d, (2) Dibrom no longer visits the board, and (3) anyone distributing a new bundle would be violating the license by my understanding.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
djdzar
post Oct 12 2012, 04:08
Post #120





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 12-October 12
Member No.: 103797



QUOTE (Dibrom @ Dec 25 2009, 13:36) *
So I've finally found some passion for seriously listening to music again and iTunes just wasn't cutting it for me. Cog didn't quite have all the features I wanted, and I couldn't get Play to compile or run on Snow Leopard. That only left one option: foobar2000 under Wine.

People have been running foobar2000 under Wine for awhile, mostly successfully. However, it's kind of a hassle to have to download, read about, and configure Wine correctly when you just want to be listening to your music already. To alleviate some of the annoyance, I've created a little app bundle and installer for foobar2000 and Wine. What you get is a foobar2000.app that you can just double click on and it will load more or less like any other app. Of course, the controls look like Windows controls, but hey, we can't have everything, right?

I haven't had a chance to test this bundle extensively, so it would be useful if Mac OS X users could try it and give me some feedback. You can download it here.

Note 1: You will need X11 installed to run this. It may already be installed. If not, find it on the Mac OS X install disc.
Note 2: If you have previously one of the beta versions, I recommend deleting your old installation first. Make sure to back up any custom foobar2000 settings.

The download is ~60MB, mostly because it is bundled with Wine. If you already have Wine installed, this should still work perfectly – it should just use the local Wine configuration contained in the app bundle and ignore your previous installation. Nothing is installed to your system directories so your existing version of Wine won't be overwritten or anything like that.

And of course, here are some screenshots of it in action:






Disclaimer: This distribution is experimental and not officially supported. I did speak with Peter about it before I uploaded it and I believe he is having his testers take a look at it, but if you encounter problems, please notify me or post in this thread for the meantime.

Have fun and don't forget to leave feedback if you check it out.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Canar
post Oct 12 2012, 15:08
Post #121





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3372
Joined: 26-July 02
From: To:
Member No.: 2796



QUOTE (db1989 @ Jul 21 2012, 02:50) *
(2) Dibrom no longer visits the board
Not quite, but close enough.


--------------------
You cannot ABX the rustling of jimmies.
No mouse? No problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
leftyd
post Jan 6 2013, 17:51
Post #122





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 6-January 13
Member No.: 105642



is it possible to re up the foobar.app please? smile.gif or what do u suggest me doing under 10.8.1 to get foobar2000? thank u smile.gif

This post has been edited by leftyd: Jan 6 2013, 17:54
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

5 Pages V  « < 3 4 5
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2014 - 05:09