IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Nero AAC Codec 1.3.3.0
frozenspeed
post Sep 24 2008, 21:39
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 207
Joined: 16-October 01
From: Seattle, WA
Member No.: 301



Thanks!!! This is awesome!!

Anyone notice the new codec is slower than the last release? I'm not complaining at all, I'll sacrifice some speed for some quality smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
IgorC
post Sep 25 2008, 00:40
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 1577
Joined: 3-January 05
From: ARG/RUS
Member No.: 18803



Great news.
I will try to do some blind tests around Nero vs Apple AAC encoders.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
macman4hire
post Sep 25 2008, 01:01
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 185
Joined: 5-June 08
From: USA
Member No.: 54037



IgorC what bitrates and methods of encoding do you plan to test? I would like to hear about your results!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
IgorC
post Sep 25 2008, 01:05
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 1577
Joined: 3-January 05
From: ARG/RUS
Member No.: 18803



ABC/HR at VBR approx. 96 kbit/s
I will post results. At the same time I'm more interesting in public test.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MetalMessiah78
post Sep 25 2008, 03:08
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 8-August 08
From: 88063
Member No.: 56835



Awesome. Thanks for the release, Nero. Anyone done any ABX tests of old Nero encoder against new Nero encoder and a lossless file?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smok3
post Sep 25 2008, 14:05
Post #31


A/V Moderator


Group: Moderator
Posts: 1734
Joined: 30-April 02
From: Slovenia
Member No.: 1922



thanks!
q: is there any speciall difference in command line? (do i need to rebuilt my scripts)


--------------------
PANIC: CPU 1: Cache Error (unrecoverable - dcache data) Eframe = 0x90000000208cf3b8
NOTICE - cpu 0 didn't dump TLB, may be hung
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
InspectorGadget
post Sep 25 2008, 14:14
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 25-March 07
Member No.: 41838



Thank you for this great encoder. I've been using it to encode for my iPod and using it in MeGUI to transcode DVD audio tracks and it has been great so far.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
menno
post Sep 25 2008, 15:29
Post #33


Nero MPEG4 developer


Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 1218
Joined: 11-October 01
From: LA
Member No.: 267



QUOTE (smok3 @ Sep 25 2008, 06:05) *
thanks!
q: is there any speciall difference in command line? (do i need to rebuilt my scripts)


Nothing changed there
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
audioadam
post Sep 25 2008, 23:54
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 1-November 07
Member No.: 48401



Thanks for the new release - Nero AAC has actually become my main lossy codec since March of 08!

I'll have to give the new version a whirl and see how it sounds.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
randal1013
post Sep 26 2008, 03:45
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 306
Joined: 1-March 06
Member No.: 28189



i'm confused about the command line options and bitrates. i just tried "-br 128" which resulted in 12kbps, i then tried "-br128" which resulted in ~190kbps. what's going on?


i'm using foobar 0.9.5.5, and the latest nero codec.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MuncherOfSpleens
post Sep 26 2008, 03:54
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 109
Joined: 25-October 05
From: Florida
Member No.: 25360



QUOTE (randal1013 @ Sep 25 2008, 22:45) *
i'm confused about the command line options and bitrates. i just tried "-br 128" which resulted in 12kbps, i then tried "-br128" which resulted in ~190kbps. what's going on?

The encoder is expecting bits per second, not kilobits per second.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
randal1013
post Sep 26 2008, 04:13
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 306
Joined: 1-March 06
Member No.: 28189



ok, i figured out what i need to enter, thanks.

This post has been edited by randal1013: Sep 26 2008, 04:19
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Enig123
post Sep 26 2008, 04:18
Post #38





Group: Members
Posts: 208
Joined: 11-April 02
Member No.: 1749



QUOTE (randal1013 @ Sep 26 2008, 11:13) *
so what am i supposed to put to get my target bitrate?


-br 128000 of course. wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MuncherOfSpleens
post Sep 26 2008, 04:18
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 109
Joined: 25-October 05
From: Florida
Member No.: 25360



“-br 128000” should work.

Edit: Enig123 beat me to it. smile.gif

This post has been edited by MuncherOfSpleens: Sep 26 2008, 04:19
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kornchild2002
post Sep 26 2008, 05:32
Post #40





Group: Members
Posts: 2080
Joined: 8-April 05
From: Cincinnati, OH
Member No.: 21277



Thanks for this release, I have been waiting for it ever since I found out that Creative Zen and Xbox 360 compatibility issues would be fixed. My only problem now is that I have a 2008 Honda Civic LX coupe whose built-in 6 disc CD deck supports standard audio CDs, user burned audio CDs (on either CD-R or CD-RW), WMA discs (on either CD-R or CD-RW), and mp3 discs (on either CD-R or CD-RW). My new car does not support AAC CDs/drives like my older car did.

So now I am sticking with Lame. I might have to purchase the iPod control unit from my dealership in order to use AAC though.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
muaddib
post Sep 26 2008, 08:57
Post #41





Group: Developer
Posts: 400
Joined: 14-October 01
Member No.: 289



QUOTE (kornchild2002 @ Sep 26 2008, 06:32) *
Thanks for this release, I have been waiting for it ever since I found out that Creative Zen and Xbox 360 compatibility issues would be fixed. My only problem now is that I have a 2008 Honda Civic LX coupe whose built-in 6 disc CD deck supports standard audio CDs, user burned audio CDs (on either CD-R or CD-RW), WMA discs (on either CD-R or CD-RW), and mp3 discs (on either CD-R or CD-RW). My new car does not support AAC CDs/drives like my older car did.
So now I am sticking with Lame. I might have to purchase the iPod control unit from my dealership in order to use AAC though.

We hope that you'll give new encoder a try even if you don't get iPod control unit wink.gif
Your findings were very helpful.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
weaker
post Sep 26 2008, 16:26
Post #42





Group: Members
Posts: 116
Joined: 28-September 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 17360



@frozenspeed:
I didn't measure it but to me the new version didn't feel slower. Even on the contrary I had the impression that it got even faster.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
frozenspeed
post Sep 26 2008, 17:18
Post #43





Group: Members
Posts: 207
Joined: 16-October 01
From: Seattle, WA
Member No.: 301



QUOTE (weaker @ Sep 26 2008, 10:26) *
@frozenspeed:
I didn't measure it but to me the new version didn't feel slower. Even on the contrary I had the impression that it got even faster.



Yea, it was me being an idiot actually- I'd post results bt there's really no point. I was distracted and overlooked that I was doing some intensive stuff in the background. When the codec gets all the resources it wants I can get 2 threads going around 41x smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
micmac
post Sep 26 2008, 18:09
Post #44





Group: Members
Posts: 86
Joined: 4-July 05
Member No.: 23121



For now I'll keep using the Windows binary with Wine instead of the native Linux binary smile.gif

CODE
sk@jigsaw:~$ time neroAacEnc -q 0.39 -lc -if 09.\ Suicide\ \&\ Redemption\ -\ Metallica.wav -of 09.\ Suicide\ \&\ Redemption\ -\ Metallica.m4a
*************************************************************
*                                                           *
*  Nero AAC Encoder                                         *
*  Copyright 2008 Nero AG                                   *
*  All Rights Reserved Worldwide                            *
*                                                           *
*  Package build date: Sep 17 2008                          *
*  Package version:    1.3.3.0                              *
*                                                           *
*  See -help for a complete list of available parameters.   *
*                                                           *
*************************************************************

Processed 597 seconds...

real    1m37.398s
user    1m20.873s
sys    0m0.708s
sk@jigsaw:~$ time wine neroAacEnc -q 0.39 -lc -if 09.\ Suicide\ \&\ Redemption\ -\ Metallica.wav -of 09.\ Suicide\ \&\ Redemption\ -\ Metallica.m4a
*************************************************************
*                                                           *
*  Nero AAC Encoder                                         *
*  Copyright 2008 Nero AG                                   *
*  All Rights Reserved Worldwide                            *
*                                                           *
*  Package build date: Sep 17 2008                          *
*  Package version:    1.3.3.0                              *
*                                                           *
*  See -help for a complete list of available parameters.   *
*                                                           *
*************************************************************

Processed 597 seconds...

real    1m1.443s
user    0m52.747s
sys    0m0.800s
sk@jigsaw:~$


This post has been edited by micmac: Sep 26 2008, 18:09
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
skamp
post Sep 26 2008, 19:42
Post #45





Group: Developer
Posts: 1450
Joined: 4-May 04
From: France
Member No.: 13875



Same observation on my Atom N270 running Arch Linux (the win32 binary with wine runs faster than the linux binary). Maybe you could try making static binaries with Intel's compiler?

Edit: same with my Phenom 9600.

This post has been edited by skamp: Sep 26 2008, 19:54


--------------------
See my profile for measurements, tools and recommendations.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sketchy_c
post Sep 29 2008, 09:53
Post #46





Group: Members
Posts: 105
Joined: 18-December 06
Member No.: 38800



Just a note that the download link in the initial post didn't work for me. I found the codec here: http://www.nero.com/eng/downloads-nerodigi...o-aac-codec.php

Thanks again for all the work you put into this. Definitely my AAC of choice.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
menno
post Sep 29 2008, 15:05
Post #47


Nero MPEG4 developer


Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 1218
Joined: 11-October 01
From: LA
Member No.: 267



Thanks for posting that link sketchy_c, I updated the first post.

This post has been edited by menno: Sep 29 2008, 15:08
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sylph
post Sep 29 2008, 18:38
Post #48





Group: Members
Posts: 259
Joined: 1-February 08
Member No.: 50965



How come that Nero 9 has less customizations for output formats for ripping CDs?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lifers5555
post Sep 30 2008, 08:01
Post #49





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 17-March 07
From: Sydney Australia
Member No.: 41553



Hmm, I'm experiencing a problem playing back 6 (5.1) channel sound with libfaad2 (in the latest ffdshow) and the built in AAC decoder in Media Player Classic encoded with the new 1.3.3.0 codec. Everything has an odd underwater echo.

The problem doesn't occur with the latest version of Winamp and in_mp4.dll

The problem doesn't occur with any of the above programs with 2 channel.

See http://pcdom.com.au/neroaac/ for examples.

Thanks,

Dom.


--------------------
PC Dom: Sydney On Site Computer Support
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hiten
post Sep 30 2008, 08:24
Post #50





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 25-March 07
Member No.: 41850



Thank you very much for this new version.

I'd like to inform you that the release notes page hasn't been updated
http://www.nero.com/eng/nda-release-notes.html
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2014 - 22:15