IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Foobar shows iTunes files twice, Library management
jrc127
post Dec 27 2012, 05:10
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 27-December 12
Member No.: 105416



New to Foobar2k. I've been dissatisfied with iTunes as a player. So, loaded FB2K today and like the playback quality. Problem: I configured FB to point to my iTunes library on an external drive, but some files are listed twice. These duplicate files are in the same format and have the same path as far as I can tell. It doesn't duplicate one file type but duplicated files in AAC, MP3, PCM, etc. Searched this forum and others but haven't found a solution. Thanks.jrc127
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tpijag
post Dec 27 2012, 05:51
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2352
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 53637



Do those folders have .cue files?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jrc127
post Dec 27 2012, 16:05
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 27-December 12
Member No.: 105416



QUOTE (tpijag @ Dec 26 2012, 23:51) *
Do those folders have .cue files?


I don't know. When I open the library folder in Windows Explorer it opens iTunes, so I can't see what is in those folders.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jrc127
post Dec 27 2012, 16:31
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 27-December 12
Member No.: 105416



QUOTE (jrc127 @ Dec 27 2012, 10:05) *
QUOTE (tpijag @ Dec 26 2012, 23:51) *
Do those folders have .cue files?


I don't know. When I open the library folder in Windows Explorer it opens iTunes, so I can't see what is in those folders.


I was able to open the iTunes library in Explorer now, but even with showing hidden files I see no cue sheets in those folders. Am I missing something? Where should the cue sheet reside? When importing the iTunes library does FB2K create cue sheets or must I do that manually?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tpijag
post Dec 27 2012, 20:39
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 2352
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 53637



You do not need cue sheets. It is just one of the root causes of double files showing in foobar2000.

EDit you could also select one of the duplicated files, right click >open containing folder and then do the same for the second file. This will confirm whether they are pointing to the same file.

This post has been edited by tpijag: Dec 27 2012, 20:52
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jrc127
post Dec 27 2012, 23:14
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 27-December 12
Member No.: 105416



QUOTE (tpijag @ Dec 27 2012, 14:39) *
You do not need cue sheets. It is just one of the root causes of double files showing in foobar2000.

EDit you could also select one of the duplicated files, right click >open containing folder and then do the same for the second file. This will confirm whether they are pointing to the same file.

I Foobar I opened properties for the two duplicates and they do have different names:

C:\Program Files (x86)\iTunes\iTunes Music\Music\Bob Dylan\Together Through Life\01 Beyond Here Lies Nothin'.m4a, and;

C:\Program Files (x86)\iTunes\iTunes Music\Music\Bob Dylan\Together Through Life\01 Beyond Here Lies Nothin' 1.m4a

so somewhere the "1" was appended to the file name and they show up together in the foobar list. It seems now like many, many files are duplicted in FP2k but they don't show as duplicates in iTunes

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jrc127
post Dec 28 2012, 00:13
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 27-December 12
Member No.: 105416



[quote name='jrc127' date='Dec 27 2012, 17:14' post='818559']
[quote name='tpijag' post='818549' date='Dec 27 2012, 14:39']You do not need cue sheets. It is just one of the root causes of double files showing in foobar2000.

It now appears that the dup files are caused in iTunes when the external drive is disconnected between sessions. I think each time it reestablishes the library it copies files over again even though it's the same folder on the same drive. So my next move is use "Deduper" a script I found on another site. I hope that works - thanks for your help
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th September 2014 - 13:25