IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Hydrogenaudio Forum Rules

- No Warez. This includes warez links, cracks and/or requests for help in getting illegal software or copyrighted music tracks!
- No Spamming or Trolling on the boards, this includes useless posts, trying to only increase post count or trying to deliberately create a flame war.
- No Hateful or Disrespectful posts. This includes: bashing, name-calling or insults directed at a board member.
- Click here for complete Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
I fried my PC [I think], Help needed
Funkstar De Luxe
post Nov 8 2003, 12:40
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 580
Joined: 4-January 03
From: Scotland
Member No.: 4415



Hey guys! Yup, I've managed to break my pc once again. This time what happened was: I ordered some new ram, placed it into the motherboard (I grounded my self and everything! smile.gif). I turned on my PC to hear an electrical click and an electrical burning smell. So now when I put my PC on all the fans spin but I get no picture on the monitor and the numlock light flashes a few times. Have I just, as I think, blown my motherboard? I have ordered another mb butI'm worried that everything connected to it is also gone (my new ram, processor etc.) Can anyone rest my fears?

Tony


--------------------
http://www.animarecordings.com/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sshd
post Nov 8 2003, 13:08
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 207
Joined: 16-June 03
Member No.: 7218



Use your nose to find the burned part. My guess is the power supply.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
CiTay
post Nov 8 2003, 14:37
Post #3


Administrator


Group: Admin
Posts: 2378
Joined: 22-September 01
Member No.: 3



Sounds like you either

- tried to insert the wrong RAM (SDRAM into DDR slots, maybe)
- didn't fully insert it until the bracket clips snapped in
- forcefully inserted it in the wrong direction
- installed DDR-RAM together with existing SDRAM (some mobos have slots for both, but only one type of RAM can be installed at a time)

Or something else went wrong. Anyway, at least one component is dead now, but i think both RAM and mobo might be gone for good...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
geckolizard
post Nov 8 2003, 14:44
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 5-June 02
Member No.: 2225



did you hear any beeps coming from your computer ? tried resetting the bios of your computer using the jumpers? tried removing the new ram you've bought ?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Destron
post Nov 8 2003, 18:20
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 14-April 03
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 5963



I had EXACTLY the same thing happen when I installed a new power supply. Returning to the new PS had the same results. My CPU, RAM, etc... were all okay.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Funkstar De Luxe
post Nov 8 2003, 22:34
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 580
Joined: 4-January 03
From: Scotland
Member No.: 4415



Ok, my computer doesn't bleep at all. My fans still spin si I doubt it's my power supply. The RAM I inserted was PC2100 so was compatible with my MB (unless there is different types of PC2100). Also, a few lights come on in my MB soI'm not too sure what that means. When my new MB get's delivered is there a chance that putting in this RTAM will frie it again? Everyone has been very helpful to me, thanks a lot guys smile.gif

Tony


--------------------
http://www.animarecordings.com/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
CiTay
post Nov 8 2003, 22:46
Post #7


Administrator


Group: Admin
Posts: 2378
Joined: 22-September 01
Member No.: 3



QUOTE (Funkstar De Luxe @ Nov 8 2003, 10:34 PM)
When my new MB get's delivered is there a chance that putting in this RTAM will frie it again?  Everyone has been very helpful to me, thanks a lot guys smile.gif

Well, you have to find the cause of it all. For instance, if you didn't insert the sticks all the way until the clips snapped in, and you do the same thing on your new mobo, chances are it will also fry. If the RAM is defective, your new mobo could fry, too. I wouldn't just put the new mobo in if i don't know what caused it. Take a good look at your mobo, the RAM sticks and the outside of the PSU, do you see any charred spots or anything melted?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Funkstar De Luxe
post Nov 8 2003, 23:11
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 580
Joined: 4-January 03
From: Scotland
Member No.: 4415



Yeah, that's good advice Citay. But I'm 99% sure I did insert them all the way. I did put the clips in. Does it matter what way I put them in? I mean waould they fit in the 'wrong way'?


--------------------
http://www.animarecordings.com/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
CiTay
post Nov 9 2003, 00:35
Post #9


Administrator


Group: Admin
Posts: 2378
Joined: 22-September 01
Member No.: 3



QUOTE (Funkstar De Luxe @ Nov 8 2003, 11:11 PM)
Does it matter what way I put them in?  I mean waould they fit in the 'wrong way'?

They might do, with enough force. They have a notch to prevent that, but i heard that people squashed it in anyway. Check if this could've been it.

Did you look for any signs of dead components? If it was your PSU, it should smell pretty ugly when you sniff on it's ventilation slits.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Funkstar De Luxe
post Nov 9 2003, 12:27
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 580
Joined: 4-January 03
From: Scotland
Member No.: 4415



Ok, I had a good smell around the PSU and it seems ok. THere is no wayon earth I could have put the RAM in the wrong way, no I'm looking at it... Can you tell me, if a motherboard is wired up ok but with no ram or CPU would it still display the bios screen? Also, when I turn the power on to it a few lights come on in the MB and all the fans spin. However, this only happens for about 6 seconds then it turns it's self off. If I then turn it on again everything stays on for as long as I want. Also, when I push the power button (the one on the case) I see a light coming on in the MB, but nothing happens - the PSU doesn't turn off. One last thing too, when the pc is switched on the HDD makes a funny sounds, a bit like it's searching quickly. It does this about 3 times then the PC turns off. I don't know much about MBs so I'm dreading fitting it.

I'm sorry about the poor grammer in my post, but I had to blurt everything out as soon as it came to me smile.gif

Thanks Citay

Tony

Ps, just checked on the MB - all RAM is DDR PC2100 so everything should be fine there.


--------------------
http://www.animarecordings.com/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
CiTay
post Nov 9 2003, 14:31
Post #11


Administrator


Group: Admin
Posts: 2378
Joined: 22-September 01
Member No.: 3



QUOTE (Funkstar De Luxe @ Nov 9 2003, 12:27 PM)
Can you tell me, if a motherboard is wired up ok but with no ram or CPU would it still display the bios screen?

No, CPU and RAM are required, i guess.

QUOTE
Also, when I turn the power on to it a few lights come on in the MB and all the fans spin.  However, this only happens for about 6 seconds then it turns it's self off.


And it doesn't beep? Hmm.. sounds more and more like the mobo was indeed damaged.

QUOTE
One last thing too, when the pc is switched on the HDD makes a funny sounds, a bit like it's searching quickly.  It does this about 3 times then the PC turns off.


Seems as if it doesn't get any initialization command from the mobo.

QUOTE
I don't know much about MBs so I'm dreading fitting it.


Do you mean, the new mobo?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Funkstar De Luxe
post Nov 9 2003, 14:53
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 580
Joined: 4-January 03
From: Scotland
Member No.: 4415



Yeah, I did mean the new MoBo. You've put my mind at easy now, I hope after I fit my new MoBo everything will work. I can't afford to replace anything else. Just my luck too, my 512k broadband access comes tomorrow and I need to use a 350mhz pos. Ah well, I can't complain, it's given me _much_ less hassle in 5 years than my new one gave me in 1 month. PCs...

Thank you very much Citay, you've helped me a great deal.


--------------------
http://www.animarecordings.com/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
CiTay
post Nov 9 2003, 15:12
Post #13


Administrator


Group: Admin
Posts: 2378
Joined: 22-September 01
Member No.: 3



Anytime. smile.gif

QUOTE
Yeah, I did mean the new MoBo.


Here's a guide: How To Install A Mainboard .

Parts 2.2 and 2.8 are not necessary though, i'm puzzled as to why they do this. I never did this and successfully built 20 to 30 PCs so far.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Funkstar De Luxe
post Nov 9 2003, 15:40
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 580
Joined: 4-January 03
From: Scotland
Member No.: 4415



Thank you Citay, that is a great help smile.gif I owe you, friend smile.gif


--------------------
http://www.animarecordings.com/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st August 2014 - 06:50