IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Multiple Audio Sources / One Speaker?
RedSpider93
post Nov 28 2010, 05:29
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 28-November 10
Member No.: 86059



Hey Guys,

I'm a noob in pretty much every respect of Audio hardware, so I was hoping I could get some expert advice.

Basically, I want to rig up the audio in and out from a walkie talkie to a computer headset, but I want to also rig up the audio out from a sound amplifier. (Like one of those "As seen on TV" things where you can hear people really far away.) I don't need to rig the sound amplifier to the walkie talkie, but I'd like to be able to get sound from both sources at the same time into the headset. All I want to know is if it's possible to get both sources to play on the same headset simultaneously like that, or if it will damage the headset/not work properly.

Thanks in Advance,
-Red
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Hengest
post Nov 28 2010, 14:19
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 133
Joined: 27-April 06
From: Perth, WA
Member No.: 30103



Ok what you're probably after is a mixer of some sort to mix the signals together before they're sent to the headset.

The sort you get, though, will depend on your requirements: does it have to be portable? Are you using a computer with it, or should it be more of a stand-alone set up?


--------------------
"Lifting Shadows Off a Dream"
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SCOTU
post Nov 28 2010, 19:23
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 118
Joined: 9-July 10
Member No.: 82156



If you're using a PC with windows and you have enough audio inputs on your computer for the 2 sources, you can just plug them in find them under the recording devices (Vista/Win 7) from the right click menu on the sound icon in the system tray. Once they're plugged in, you can choose properties on those inputs and one of the pages in the properties should be an option about listening to that, which will just forward the input to your default output (which will probably be your headset if it's plugged in).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RedSpider93
post Nov 28 2010, 23:42
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 28-November 10
Member No.: 86059



Actually, though I really appreciate the advice, I've decided to go another route as this is going to be too complex for what I need. Thanks anyhow, guys.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st November 2014 - 03:45