IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
A problem with His Majesty EAC, ...and the ASPI interface
Wintershade
post Apr 25 2005, 14:10
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 138
Joined: 27-July 04
Member No.: 15817



Slowly getting desperate...
I recently installed new drivers for my nForce2 chipset. After that, EAC won't see my CD and DVD drives when I set it's interface to the "Installed external ASPI interface". When I set it to "Native Win32 interface for Win NT/2000/XP" and restart it, it sees the drives again.
I've had a similar problem some time ago, but I solved it by installing the ForceASPI interface... now even that doesn't work.

How do I make it see the drives while using the ASPI interface?
Any help or idea would be appreciated.

[edit: typos]

This post has been edited by Wintershade: Apr 25 2005, 14:11


--------------------
Only the best is good enough.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
evereux
post Apr 25 2005, 15:07
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 907
Joined: 9-February 02
From: Cheshire, UK
Member No.: 1296



Why not use Native Win32 interface for Win NT/2000/XP?


--------------------
daefeatures.co.uk
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JeanLuc
post Apr 25 2005, 15:07
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1311
Joined: 4-June 02
From: Cologne, Germany
Member No.: 2213



You shouldn't have installed the nVidia IDE drivers (these are known to cause troubles with missing recognition of CD/DVD drives). I had a very similar problem ... after installing IDE drivers from nVidia, Plextools didn't recognize the Plextor drives ...

My advice would be to exchange IDE drivers for standard Microsoft drivers ... using these, you'll get a stable and working system.

Oh, BTW ... there is no noticeable difference between SPTI (native interface) and ASPI within EAC.


--------------------
The name was Plex The Ripper, not Jack The Ripper
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wintershade
post Apr 25 2005, 15:13
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 138
Joined: 27-July 04
Member No.: 15817



QUOTE (JeanLuc @ Apr 25 2005, 04:07 PM)
My advice would be to exchange IDE drivers for standard Microsoft drivers ... using these, you'll get a stable and working system.
*


How do I do that? And why do the nVidia drivers cause issue?

I installed the nVidia drivers bcos M$ drivers caused an annoying issue - after some time, the secondary slave drive (my PleXWriter 16/10/40A) refused to communicate through DMA. The issue got solved this way (but it caused this one, it seems...)


--------------------
Only the best is good enough.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JeanLuc
post Apr 25 2005, 15:17
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1311
Joined: 4-June 02
From: Cologne, Germany
Member No.: 2213



In device manager under ATA/ATAPI controller, you can select 'driver update' for your controller (righ click - driver update) and select the 'M$ standard driver' after switching to 'user defined' and 'show all' ... then reboot and everything should be fine.

For your plextor problem ... did you try to switch the drive to dedicated 'master' (not cable select) ? Plextor drives don't like to be slaves from my experience ... smile.gif

This post has been edited by JeanLuc: Apr 25 2005, 15:19


--------------------
The name was Plex The Ripper, not Jack The Ripper
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wintershade
post Apr 25 2005, 15:22
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 138
Joined: 27-July 04
Member No.: 15817



QUOTE (JeanLuc @ Apr 25 2005, 04:17 PM)
For your plextor problem ... did you try to switch it to dedicated 'master' (not cable select) ?
*


Yes, I never leave the "Cable select" option... I've had this problem since I installed WinXP, despite I even changed 75% of my hardware from that time.
The communication mode just changes from DMA to PIO mode, and even though I set it to "DMA if available" and restart, the mode stays PIO. When I installed the nForce drivers, the DMA was on again (yay).

OK, I'll go try setting the M$ driver now.


--------------------
Only the best is good enough.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wintershade
post Apr 25 2005, 15:28
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 138
Joined: 27-July 04
Member No.: 15817



QUOTE (evereux @ Apr 25 2005, 04:07 PM)
Why not use Native Win32 interface for Win NT/2000/XP?
*



Hmm. Where can I see a comparation between the two interfaces? Isn't the ASPI interface better?


--------------------
Only the best is good enough.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JeanLuc
post Apr 25 2005, 15:38
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1311
Joined: 4-June 02
From: Cologne, Germany
Member No.: 2213



I have ripped some 1000+ CD's in native mode ... no problem at all

Does your Plextor have a DMA jumper on the backside ? Setting this active will put your drive in Multiword-DMA which should work without problems (you'll get a lower CPU usage during access but not the transfer rates that are possible with UDMA ... but a 16x10x40x drive runs fine with PIO4 transfer rates anyway).


--------------------
The name was Plex The Ripper, not Jack The Ripper
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Slacker
post Apr 25 2005, 16:30
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 8-July 04
Member No.: 15145



Have you ever tried putting the WNASPI32.dll into your EAC directory?

Works for me. (I use the one delivered with Nero - see your Nero folder)

This post has been edited by Slacker: Apr 25 2005, 17:54
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
evereux
post Apr 25 2005, 17:51
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 907
Joined: 9-February 02
From: Cheshire, UK
Member No.: 1296



QUOTE (Wintershade @ Apr 25 2005, 02:28 PM)
QUOTE (evereux @ Apr 25 2005, 04:07 PM)
Why not use Native Win32 interface for Win NT/2000/XP?
*



Hmm. Where can I see a comparation between the two interfaces? Isn't the ASPI interface better?
*


Not if it doesn't work and the Native Win32 Interface does. smile.gif

There seems to be a common misconception that people must install the (Adaptec/Nero) ASPI layers with EAC. This simply isn't the case. DO NOT install them (Nero is safe) if EAC works without them, you only risk breaking other things and gain little, if anything.


--------------------
daefeatures.co.uk
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TOMY
post Apr 25 2005, 20:06
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 2-January 05
Member No.: 18780



QUOTE (Wintershade @ Apr 25 2005, 04:13 PM)
I installed the nVidia drivers bcos M$ drivers caused an annoying issue - after some time, the secondary slave drive (my PleXWriter 16/10/40A) refused to communicate through DMA. The issue got solved this way (but it caused this one, it seems...)

If you had a scratched CD that refused to load properly in your drive, WinXP turns DMA to PIO mode for this drive.
There's a trick you can try to fix it, may it happen again.
Locate the following key in your registry:
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E96A-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}]
It should stand for your "Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller" (M$ driver).

You should then find these subkeys labelled '0000', '0001', etc
Locate the one matching your drive IDE channel: "Secondary IDE Channel" probably.
Add this DWORD: "ResetErrorCountersOnSuccess"=dword:00000001
(A subsequent inserted "good" CD will reset the internal counter)

You must delete both values/datas: "MasterIdDataCheckSum" and "SlaveIdDataCheckSum"
You can now reboot and DMA transfers should be available again. wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rutra80
post Apr 25 2005, 21:02
Post #12





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 810
Joined: 12-September 03
Member No.: 8821



First of all, drives falling back from UDMA to PIO modes is caused by damaged IDE ribbons - buy a new 80-conductor cable.
From my experience the newest nVidia IDE drivers are fine, there were problems with older versions so just make sure that you have the newest ones.
If EAC recognizes your drives with SPTI only then use SPTI, there's nothing wrong in it.

This post has been edited by rutra80: Apr 25 2005, 21:13
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wintershade
post Apr 25 2005, 21:51
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 138
Joined: 27-July 04
Member No.: 15817



QUOTE (Slacker @ Apr 25 2005, 05:30 PM)
Have you ever tried putting the WNASPI32.dll into your EAC directory?

Works for me. (I use the one delivered with Nero - see your Nero folder)
*



Tried. Doesn't work.


--------------------
Only the best is good enough.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dreamliner77
post Apr 26 2005, 00:16
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 2150
Joined: 29-June 02
From: Boston
Member No.: 2427



If you've replaced 75% of hardware on the same XP install, you have more than just ASPI issues. Time for a reinstall of windows.


--------------------
"You can fight without ever winning, but never win without a fight." Neil Peart 'Resist'
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wintershade
post Apr 26 2005, 20:46
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 138
Joined: 27-July 04
Member No.: 15817



QUOTE (dreamliner77 @ Apr 26 2005, 01:16 AM)
If you've replaced 75% of hardware on the same XP install, you have more than just ASPI issues.  Time for a reinstall of windows.
*


Don't worry, did that a lot of times in the meantime (I know that fact - learned the hard way biggrin.gif )


--------------------
Only the best is good enough.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th July 2014 - 12:44