IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
How To Burn An Mp3 - Cd ?, short How To
user
post Oct 24 2002, 19:51
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 873
Joined: 12-October 01
From: the great wide open
Member No.: 277



How to burn an mp3 - CD ?


So, here#s the answer:


1. In generally:

Burn as data CD




2. example Nero:

CD-Rom (ISO)

no multisession (for safety, if you have a player, which is not able to read multisession, or the 2nd, 3rd session...)


Mode 1 - ISO Level 2 (should work, level 1 is even safer)
advantage of ISO level 2 is : longer file names

ISO 9660 - Joliet

Disc at once

That's it.

perhaps additionally:

click: verify burned data


--------------------
www.High-Quality.ch.vu -- High Quality Audio Archiving Tutorials
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SNYder
post Oct 24 2002, 20:51
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 317
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 118



What is the difference between disk at once, track at once, and disk at once/96?

And why is disk at once preferable for mp3 cd's? what about normal data cd's? what about audio cd's?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fewtch
post Oct 24 2002, 21:26
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1460
Joined: 5-February 02
From: Seattle WA. USA
Member No.: 1261



QUOTE (SNYder @ Oct 24 2002 - 12:51 PM)
What is the difference between disk at once, track at once, and disk at once/96?

And why is disk at once preferable for mp3 cd's? †what about normal data cd's? †what about audio cd's?

Disk at once leaves no gaps between audio tracks... track at once writes each track separately and there is a delay between tracks... probably better to use DAO for music CD's, unless you want to add tracks gradually.

If writing a data CD, the differences are less important (except DAO doesn't allow multiple sessions). If you write a single session (using TAO) and close the disc at the end, it's effectively the same as DAO, except the table of contents gets written at the end rather than the beginning of the burn.

Someone please correct any misinformation above, this is from memory and the RAM in my brain isn't really functioning up to speed today.. blink.gif


--------------------
Bring back dynamic range... www.loudnessrace.net
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
westgroveg
post Oct 25 2002, 06:47
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1236
Joined: 5-October 01
Member No.: 220



long file names (65+) you must use Romeo file system or the file names will be cut down . I found my hardware player works better with Romeo anyway so I always use it. This is how I arrange things, it seems the best way to me:

Each album: folder=Artist - Album

file names: Title only

m3u playlist

ID3v1 tags

jpeg front/back covers.

If you extract with, Track number - file name you can setup tag frontend with
%N - %T custom filenames scheme & you don't need to write out every title, track number itís done auto.

Use Princo CD-R's for highest compatibility (xbox, some standalones)

If you want longest life possible burns Kodak or check this site

From Nero:

QUOTE
Disc-at-Once
This is a write process which does not create links between the individual sessions. The recorder starts by writing the lead-in, which is followed by the data and the lead-out. This process is used primarily by manufacturers of audio CDs.

Disc-at-Once/96 is an extension of Disc-at-Once which gives the software better control of the burning process. This mode is preferable, if it is available.


QUOTE
Track-at-Once
This is a method of writing data which is used for multisession CDs. The CD-RW drive writes all the tracks one after another and does not end the session until this is finished.


Multisession [harder to read, lower compatibility] should be avoided although write strategy is not important as far as compatibility.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SNYder
post Oct 25 2002, 11:18
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 317
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 118



QUOTE (fewtch @ Oct 24 2002 - 03:26 PM)
Disk at once leaves no gaps between audio tracks... track at once writes each track separately and there is a delay between tracks... probably better to use DAO for music CD's, unless you want to add tracks gradually.

kick booty! i was wondering why all the audio cd's i made would come out with gaps between tracks EVEN if i chose to have 0 seconds between each track smile.gif

thanks a lot. smile.gif

[edit] ummm... what is disk at once/96?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fewtch
post Oct 25 2002, 11:38
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1460
Joined: 5-February 02
From: Seattle WA. USA
Member No.: 1261



QUOTE (SNYder @ Oct 25 2002 - 03:18 AM)
QUOTE (fewtch @ Oct 24 2002 - 03:26 PM)
Disk at once leaves no gaps between audio tracks... track at once writes each track separately and there is a delay between tracks... probably better to use DAO for music CD's, unless you want to add tracks gradually.

kick booty! i was wondering why all the audio cd's i made would come out with gaps between tracks EVEN if i chose to have 0 seconds between each track smile.gif

thanks a lot. smile.gif

Sure thing...

I think what happens with TAO is that the CD player has to seek to the next track (taking a second or two), since there are separate physical tracks for each song with some space in between (might even be visible with darker CD-R's under a bright light).

When you write the audio CD using DAO it doesn't, since there's only one physical track on the disc with no space between songs... the transition between 'tracks' would then be virtual and wouldn't take any time.

Again, someone plz correct me if I'm wrong... I'm way far from being an expert on this stuff, 99% of my CD-R's are data CD's.


--------------------
Bring back dynamic range... www.loudnessrace.net
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
CiTay
post Oct 25 2002, 14:36
Post #7


Administrator


Group: Admin
Posts: 2378
Joined: 22-September 01
Member No.: 3



QUOTE (SNYder @ Oct 25 2002 - 12:18 PM)
ummm... what is disk at once/96?

This includes burning all subchannels. Only necessary for copying some, ehum, "protected" CDs.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zin_Ramu
post Oct 25 2002, 21:32
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 19-August 02
Member No.: 3112



I'd like to add that before you decide what which program you use for burning MP3CDs the key is to decide what you are going to do with them.

If you are going to use them solely for back-up purposes I've had good success with Sony CD Extreme and the related updates to Prassi engine. This software allows you to use ISO Level 2 long, which allows 212 character length filenames so you donít have to adjust file names. Plus itís free to download.

If on the other hand you are using them for playback, the key is to determine which formats your player supports and determine the one which allows for longest filenames. For instance my playerís longest format is Joliet (Sony NS755V). However the Sony CD Extreme version of Joliet allows 106 in filename length, which my player did not accept. So I switched to Nero, which uses the standard Joliet at 64 characters, creating no problems with my player, but it means often filenames are adjusted. While this program is not free, you can demo it, to make sure it meets your needs first.

Zin
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Resetģ
post May 14 2003, 14:44
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 28-January 03
Member No.: 4758



And what do you thing about set of character ASCII ?

TnX. ph34r.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jojo
post May 14 2003, 15:46
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 1361
Joined: 25-November 02
Member No.: 3873



disk at once/96 also allows you (in case your burner supports it) to burn for instance a mixed-mode CD (data + music, but without showing the data track in your CD Player) AND also have Cd-Text on your CD. Usually both of that is not possible...


--------------------
--alt-presets are there for a reason! These other switches DO NOT work better than it, trust me on this.
LAME + Joint Stereo doesn't destroy 'Stereo'
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
andersonmilltexa...
post Jul 25 2004, 01:59
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 24-July 04
Member No.: 15743



QUOTE (Jojo @ May 14 2003, 09:46 AM)
disk at once/96 also allows you (in case your burner supports it) to burn for instance a mixed-mode CD (data + music, but without showing the data track in your CD Player) AND also have Cd-Text on your CD. Usually both of that is not possible...
*



I appreciate all the help.

However I am still confused.

Do I need to convert the mp3 to something else to rid the gap.
Remember I get a 3 minute gap on every trac.
I am using Nero 6.00.

Also how are you setting the gap on Nero.

I am already set at dao.

If it is burning it as a mp3 then my car audio seems to accept it minus the delay problem.

I sort of am assuming that nero converts the file to an audio format and something ios getting lost.

THX again
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
andersonmilltexa...
post Jul 25 2004, 03:15
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 24-July 04
Member No.: 15743



QUOTE (andersonmilltexas @ Jul 24 2004, 07:59 PM)
QUOTE (Jojo @ May 14 2003, 09:46 AM)
disk at once/96 also allows you (in case your burner supports it) to burn for instance a mixed-mode CD (data + music, but without showing the data track in your CD Player) AND also have Cd-Text on your CD. Usually both of that is not possible...
*



I appreciate all the help.

However I am still confused.

Do I need to convert the mp3 to something else to rid the gap.
Remember I get a 3 minute gap on every trac.
I am using Nero 6.00.

Also how are you setting the gap on Nero.

I am already set at dao.

If it is burning it as a mp3 then my car audio seems to accept it minus the delay problem.

I sort of am assuming that nero converts the file to an audio format and something ios getting lost.

THX again
*






NO GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Just tried all the advice and it did nothing.

What about compatability with a sc901 car sterio
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
andersonmilltexa...
post Jul 25 2004, 03:31
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 24-July 04
Member No.: 15743



QUOTE (user @ Oct 24 2002, 01:51 PM)
How to burn an mp3 - CD ?


So, here#s the answer:


1. In generally:

Burn as data CD




2. example Nero:

CD-Rom (ISO)

no multisession (for safety, if you have a player, which is not able to read multisession, or the 2nd, 3rd session...)


Mode 1  -  ISO Level 2 (should work, level 1 is even safer)
advantage of ISO level 2 is : longer file names

ISO 9660  - Joliet

Disc at once

That's it.

perhaps additionally:

click:  verify burned data
*




I tried burning it as a mp3 and nothing
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
andersonmilltexa...
post Jul 25 2004, 03:33
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 24-July 04
Member No.: 15743



QUOTE (andersonmilltexas @ Jul 24 2004, 09:31 PM)
QUOTE (user @ Oct 24 2002, 01:51 PM)
How to burn an mp3 - CD ?


So, here#s the answer:


1. In generally:

Burn as data CD




2. example Nero:

CD-Rom (ISO)

no multisession (for safety, if you have a player, which is not able to read multisession, or the 2nd, 3rd session...)





You suggest burning it as a data cd and not a audio  Why?
Mode 1† -† ISO Level 2 (should work, level 1 is even safer)
advantage of ISO level 2 is : longer file names

ISO 9660† -†  Joliet

Disc at once

That's it.

perhaps additionally:

click:† verify burned data
*




I tried burning it as a mp3 and nothing
*

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dreamliner77
post Jul 25 2004, 06:06
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 2150
Joined: 29-June 02
From: Boston
Member No.: 2427



Let me introduce you to the edit button for your posts....


second, try www.burnatonce.com or www.burrrn.net since it seems you are have problems with nero.


--------------------
"You can fight without ever winning, but never win without a fight." Neil Peart 'Resist'
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Slacker
post Mar 5 2005, 10:57
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 8-July 04
Member No.: 15145



Thank you, I was searching for a solution for my gapless problem all over the web and now I found it.

/e: Ok, a tiny little gap still exists, but it's ok. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Slacker: Mar 5 2005, 11:17
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
evereux
post Mar 5 2005, 12:45
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 907
Joined: 9-February 02
From: Cheshire, UK
Member No.: 1296



This guide may help eliminate your gap.

I'm not sure if Nero can minimise gaps as efficiently as Foobar2000's mp3 decoder.


--------------------
daefeatures.co.uk
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Slacker
post Mar 5 2005, 13:08
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 8-July 04
Member No.: 15145



QUOTE (evereux @ Mar 5 2005, 01:45 PM)
This guide may help eliminate your gap.

I'm not sure if Nero can minimise gaps as efficiently as Foobar2000's mp3 decoder.
*


Thanks, will try.

This post has been edited by Slacker: Mar 5 2005, 13:09
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st October 2014 - 11:21